Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2017 **Discussion Only // No Ticket Sales**

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

when is this announcement supposed to be again? 13th?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

when is this announcement supposed to be again? 13th?

They said the week of the 20th.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Week starting the 20th is what they said, so it'll most likely be Wednesday 22nd or Friday 24th March

• Registered Users Posts: 5,991 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Yeah Jenny Greene's show on 2 FM tends to be full of that trancey sh1t really I much prefer Kelly-Anne Byrne, a DJ that really is hard working and really should deserve more credit than Greene.
    I enjoyed it, and if it or something similar was on this year I'd go again.
    It does look like she's been milking it though.
    I'm sure she does more than press play but I can't see what it is.
    There's probably a fair amount of prep work involved in track selection to balance what the singers can do live vs the orchestra and then arrangements and acoustic setup. Unfortunately for ms green it does make it look like she just rocks up and presses play. I couldn't hear the strings at all from where I was.

That said, de kiddies loved it and loads enjoyed it so what could go to something new will likely be a repeat (esp. if they want to keep RTÉ onboard and happy)

I was at the gig last year, 'twas grand, had it's moments but I buggered off after half an hour.

Just on Ms Greene - she's well able to mix - have been to some of her regular gigs she does around the country and her mixing/blending is superb. Not into the tunes to be honest but she's not some dolly bird that just rocks up and hits play. She was using CDJs but couldn't see what type so no idea if it's 'sync'-friendly or not

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Week starting the 20th is what they said, so it'll most likely be Wednesday 22nd or Friday 24th March

tis usually a wednesday I think, i'd be expecting the 22, usually round lunch time when this place goes batsh1t insane.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Siobhan8888

Anyone think Gorillaz could be a possibility? They just announced their own festival in England in June or July..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

tis usually a wednesday I think, i'd be expecting the 22, usually round lunch time when this place goes batsh1t insane.
    I'd imagine the press will be sent the launch details this week or early next week, so we should know by the end of next week.
    there's usually a few on here who are attending. Mr.S usually goes I think?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭davywalsh7

Gorillaz just announced their own festival in the U.K. For June. Wonder could they still b around in September ?

http://www.nme.com/news/music/gorillaz-announce-huge-uk-comeback-show-dreamland-margate-2003709?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social

• Registered Users Posts: 45 LimboSlice

Gorillaz would be a great addition. Would fit very well.
    Few facebook pages calling for Ed Sheeran as he's set to play Glastonbury. Praying to every god it isn't so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

Don't remember any sneering. It's kinda reverse snobbery to assume people didn't like it just because it was popular, no? And at the time it was treated like some seismic music event, by Greene herself and gushing media. I remember seeing it dubbed as "the gig of the weekend"

I think this is what annoyed people. RTE saying that one of their DJs and concert orchestra performed the set of the weekend and all that sh1te. Typical of RTE overstating their own (lack of) excellence.

To be fair, it was grand. It was a bit of craic and better than I expected (music snob obvs). I left after a bit and went over to Todd Terje, which was way better IMHO.

I was at dinner a couple of months after and someone at my table said something about it "apparently it was amazing" .. "er, were you there?" .. "No, but I heard someone say so on the radio.."

• Registered Users Posts: 45 whitneytfc

LimboSlice wrote: »
    Gorillaz would be a great addition. Would fit very well.
    Few facebook pages calling for Ed Sheeran as he's set to play Glastonbury. Praying to every god it isn't so.

I have a feeling Gorillaz might do longitude. They would suit picnic better but EP always seem to choose a carefully curated line up as opposed to massive headliners so MCD may snag them for Longitude. The day ticket system longitude have suit the marquee acts

• Registered Users Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭showpony1

was she not clashing with someone like the 1975 who would have had the same target crowd? i was definately at something else i wanted to see as would have gone otherwise as i'm not a music snob.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Yeah it was on the same time as the 1975 and Todd Terje.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Yeah it was on the same time as the 1975 and Todd Terje.

He was good fun, not normally a massive fan of DJ type stuff, but enjoyed that after I got bored with not being able to hear d'other thing properly and wandered over to the EA tent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

He was good fun, not normally a massive fan of DJ type stuff, but enjoyed that after I got bored with not being able to hear d'other thing properly and wandered over to the EA tent.

Yeah we did the same, rocked up for the start of Jenny Greene but the orchestra was inaudible from where we were so after 10mins of 'Oooooah Ooooah!" from the crowd we headed over to Terje.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Siobhan8888

whitneytfc wrote: »
    I have a feeling Gorillaz might do longitude. They would suit picnic better but EP always seem to choose a carefully curated line up as opposed to massive headliners so MCD may snag them for Longitude. The day ticket system longitude have suit the marquee acts

I think longitudes target audience has changed and its gone very young! I thought last year was full of 16 - 18 year olds,cant imagine they'd care much for gorillaz, calvin harris is the main preciction to fill the last spot, happy days for me ive gotten my hopes up for gorillaz at picnic B)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,546 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Gorillaz would be amazing. Would gladly take them at EP or at Longitude but won't get my hopes up for either.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Rfrip

Yeah we did the same, rocked up for the start of Jenny Greene but the orchestra was inaudible from where we were so after 10mins of 'Oooooah Ooooah!" from the crowd we headed over to Terje.

Loved Todd terje! Bodhrandude has a you tube clip up here of inspector Norse.. so so good! Crowd were lovin him

• Registered Users Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Gorrilaz would be met with a massive "who?" from 90% of the Longitude crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭lc180

Rock En Seine first announcement is out. It's the weekend before EP.

The XX, PJ Harvey, Flume, Franz Ferdinand, Cypress Hill, At The Drive In, The Kills, Fakear, MØ, JAIN, Rone, Mac DeMarco, Ty Segall, The Pretty Reckless et PETER PETER.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,598 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Would take Justice and Death Grips from the Le Cabaret Vert festival and the XX, PJ Harvey, Franz Ferdinand and Cypress Hill from Rock en Seine for EP anyways.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,661 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

So, not much to do to while our time away for the next two weeks until the announcement. What about people's suggestions for the greatest ever Picnic performances or personal favourites?

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭breakfasttime

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    What about people's suggestions for the greatest ever Picnic performances or personal favourites?

David Byrne and St Vincent, Beck, tune yards(body and souls stage)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

David Byrne and St Vincent, Beck, tune yards(body and souls stage)

That was absolutely superb.

Honourable mention to Young Fathers for their performance on the Body & Soul stage just before Tune-Yards. So good.

The National's headline slot in 2011 (I think) is a personal favourite. Also loved Girl Band on the Salty Dog in 2015.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,661 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

The Cure, David Byrne & St. Vincent, Arcade Fire (2005 set), John Grant, Mercury Rev, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, My Bloody Valentine (2008), LCD Soundsystem (2016), Beck, Pet Shop Boys (2006), Sparks, Human League, The Stooges, That Petrol Emotion, Tindersticks (2008), Public Enemy, The National (2010), The New Pornographers (2010), OMD, Grandaddy, PIL, Matthew E White, Portishead & many many many more I've forgotten.

An awful lot of great history there.

• Registered Users Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Evil Sausage

Beastie Boys, Bjork & LCD Soundsystem in 2007 were tremendous, but the Sunday "secret" Beasties show was pretty special.

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭SoundOfSilence

Beastie Boys, Bjork & LCD Soundsystem in 2007 were tremendous, but the Sunday "secret" Beasties show was pretty special.

Some year for gigs in this country. Oxegen had Muse, Arcade fire and Daft Punk amongst others in 2007. We were spoilt for choice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

Not to derail the highlights talk but does anyone have any really quirky Picnic memories?

One that always springs to mind for me was a blind drunk Stephen Malkmus dedicating a song to "the Hull City Tigers" before following it with "They're from England - your enemy!" and cackling away to himself before continuing to play.

His band looked as bemused as everyone in the audience.

Also bumping into (literally!) Phil Jupitus as he ran to the comedy stage having missed his cue to start. Apologised as he ran off, leaving my on my arse in a field.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,598 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Kraftwerk, Royksopp, LCD Soundsytem, Toots & the Maytals (2005). Bjork, Hot Chip, Iggy Pop & the Stooges (2007). Pfunk, My Bloody Valentine, Underworld (2008). 2ManyDJs Loads of my mates came down from Galway so can't really remember who I saw that year(2009). Fever Ray (tripped out tae fcuk), PIL, Crystal Castles and Bloody Beetroots (2010). Jimmy Cliff, Boys Noize, Pulp (2011). Richie Hawtin, Squarepusher, Orbital, Bat for Lashes, Lee Scratch Perry (for all Lee Perry's yarbling he had a beautiful tight band and did some classics like Roast Fish and Cornbread)(2012). Bjork, The Knife, David Byrne and St Vincent, Robert Plant (mind blowing)(2013). Portishead, Beck, Chic and FKA Twigs (2014). Jon Hopkins, Blur, Underworld, Tame Impala among others (2015). New Order, Daniel Avery, LCD Soundsystem, King Kong Company (2016). Whew! that took a while to get through.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)