Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Should I switch insurers after an accident?

• 05-09-2016 10:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9

Hi. So I am new to this car insurance stuff. I got my first insurance in June and had a minor accident yesterday where I was at fault. Guy jammed on his breaks and I clipped the back of his car. Anyway, he claimed off my insurance. My insurance is €2400 with AXA at present. 24, full licence 0 ncb. While I am not driving my car at the moment I was thinking to cancel the policy altogether and look for a new insurer when the car is back on the road. I was thinking boxymo as they are the cheapest and I don't have much to lose even though they seem very unreliable, I'm scared of my renewal policy with axa if I stay with them. Can anyone advise what I should do? Will I even get insured after just being in an accident?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

No. Cancelling will do no good. You are obliged to inform any insurance company about previous claims . Your next policy will be huge by there's no way around this .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Sono