Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2017 NFL Draft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭tripperman

brinty wrote: »
    in all seriousness lads its lying week, believe it when you see it tonight..

Exactly never believe a word any of them says,
    I watched Tom Telesco draft press conference the other day, the first thing he said "was when your boss told you come here today to this press conference you rolled your eye's and said why, he doesn't tell us anything, your right we can't tell you anything I don't want to tell you anything important, so we will get threw this as quickly as we can"

All the reporter's are just covering there back in case someone does what the chargers did last year all the way up to the draft leaks about Ramsey and the presser about how much they liked him, then we took Bosa no one wants egg on there face two years in a row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Presume Sky are showing this tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭tripperman

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Presume Sky are showing this tonight?

Yeah on sky sports 2 for day one and two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

Knex. wrote: »

Don't see it. In case everybody's forgotten, back at the combine Hue Jackson said
    I think there are all kinds of ways to [build an offense]. You have to support [the quarterback] position the right way. It’s not just about putting a quarterback on the team and saying, ‘Here we go.’ You have to make sure he has enough weapons. You have to make sure you’re able to protect him, and you put him in the right spot so he can have success.

I wouldn't be surprised to see them trade down out of 12 (as Knex says if they can get a partner) or not pick a QB in the first round or two. I think their long term plan is probably to add cheap contributory pieces through the draft this year and next year while trying to get Garroppolo or McCarron in FA. Given their approach towards looking for value, I can't see them reaching for players when there are holes all over the roster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Walterfootball have listed the rumours they are hearing.

- The Packers want Mixon, could take him in the 1st or trade up in the 2nd for him.

- Titans to take Mike Williams at 5 overall, if they stay there.

- Texans to trade up to get Mahomes II or Watson.

- Chargers would take Jonathan Allen at 7 if he fell to them

- Ryan Ramzyck likely to slip into the 2nd round due to medical issues

- Question marks over Gareth Bolles mental make up for the game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭Stars and Stripes

2017's Draft might offer more chances for moving than we've seen in quite some time because of the strange make up of draft boards. But it's fun and interesting to watch. Particularly the pool of potential for numbers 15 to 45 is a large group.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Walterfootball have listed the rumours they are hearing.

- The Packers want Mixon, could take him in the 1st or trade up in the 2nd for him.

- Titans to take Mike Williams at 5 overall, if they stay there.

- Texans to trade up to get Mahomes II or Watson.

- Chargers would take Jonathan Allen at 7 if he fell to them

- Ryan Ramzyck likely to slip into the 2nd round due to medical issues

- Question marks over Gareth Bolles mental make up for the game.

If the Titans dont trade out i see Williams as the pick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Loved this post over on reddit - Edge Rusher Analytics

Great breakdown of the consistent traits for a top DE or OLB, and who has ticked those boxes both coming into this draft, and previous ones.

A serious write up from the poster in question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Won't stay up for it but might get up early to watch a delayed live re-run without looking at internet... I don't have Sky (to record it) so any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭TOss Sweep

This years QB class is not the greatest and any team pulling the trigger early on is doing it only out of hype and fear someone else will grab them.

I have to say though Davis Webb is one who will either go late in the 1st or early in the 2nd and I do think personally he is the best QB in the draft. That is saying a lot but after watching his videos and interviews and articles his work ethic and understanding of the game will get him far. I think if he gets the right team that he can learn from he will go far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

TOss Sweep wrote: »
    This years QB class is not the greatest and any team pulling the trigger early on is doing it only out of hype and fear someone else will grab them.

I have to say though Davis Webb is one who will either go late in the 1st or early in the 2nd and I do think personally he is the best QB in the draft. That is saying a lot but after watching his videos and interviews and articles his work ethic and understanding of the game will get him far. I think if he gets the right team that he can learn from he will go far.

Don't see the hype personally.. as i've said all week its smoke and mirrors week and everyone is covering themselves.

He was replace by Mahomes (then a true freshman) at Tech when he got injured in 2014. Didn't start in 2015 and transferred to Cal for 2016. Yea he'd 4k+ yards and 37 TD's in 16 but 12 picks too and overall 83 TD's to 34 picks is way too high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Don't see the hype personally.. as i've said all week its smoke and mirrors week and everyone is covering themselves.

He was replace by Mahomes (then a true freshman) at Tech when he got injured in 2014. Didn't start in 2015 and transferred to Cal for 2016. Yea he'd 4k+ yards and 37 TD's in 16 but 12 picks too and overall 83 TD's to 34 picks is way too high.

Yea Jared Goff put up far better stats in the same system the season before................ & that looks like it is working out well. Davis Webb is a complete no for me, I'm all for the Giants taking a QB this year in the early rounds but god not Webb.

So do the Browns go "on the clock" at 1am or is there a big build up before Roger gets the show going?

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Yea Jared Goff put up far better stats in the same system the season before................ & that looks like it is working out well. Davis Webb is a complete no for me, I'm all for the Giants taking a QB this year in the early rounds but god not Webb.

As a cowboys fan I hope ye take him an Eli goes down week 1, but he doesn't have a Dak like impact!!!!
    So do the Browns go "on the clock" at 1am or is there a big build up before Roger gets the show going?

Is it not a 12am kick off... or does it really matter??? I'm sitting through to pick 28, if the fupping Cowboys trade down into round two I will go nuts!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Roger comes out and puts them 'on the clock' at 8 Eastern (1AM for us). Unless they are trading out they should make their selection real quick... but often they use the full 10/15 (which is it?) mins to act the bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭phatkev

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Roger comes out and puts them 'on the clock' at 8 Eastern (1AM for us). Unless they are trading out they should make their selection real quick... but often they use the full 10/15 (which is it?) mins to act the bollix.

The Rams done it last year with the Goff Pick, really annoying considering everyone and their dog knew who they were picking! It's 10 mins

Nice one I thought it was 15 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

D9Male wrote: »

McCaffrey and Harris going to two teams...
    Click bait..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭BrentMused

Statistically, Bob McGinn of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel consistently ranks near the top each year in terms of mock draft accuracy. Here's his 2017 mock:

http://www.jsonline.com/story/sports/nfl/packers/mcginn/2017/04/26/mock-draft-bob-mcginns-projections/100929770/
    1. CLEVELAND BROWNS: Mitchell Trubisky, QB, North Carolina

Owner Jimmy Haslam intercedes at the 11th hour, deciding that a future with Cody Kessler and Brock Osweiler is like none at all. He made a comparable move with Johnny Manziel (No. 22) in 2014.

2. SAN FRANCISCO 49ERS: Myles Garrett, DE,Texas A&M

Neophyte GMs aren’t supposed to have it this easy. Having the scouts’ consensus choice as the best player in the draft fall into your lap isn’t a bad way to start for John Lynch.

3. CHICAGO BEARS: Solomon Thomas, DE, Stanford

Joins DE Akiem Hicks and NT Eddie Goldman to give the Bears a defensive line rivaling the Vikings’ in the NFC North.

4. JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS: Jonathan Allen, DT, Alabama

New personnel czar Tom Coughlin feasted on first-round D-linemen in New York. His developing O-line isn’t capable of fronting an offense built around Leonard Fournette.

5. TENNESSEE TITANS-a: O.J. Howard, TE, Alabama

Looking to trade down for additional picks. In conjunction with Delanie Walker, QB Marcus Mariota would have two major weapons at tight end.

6. NEW YORK JETS: Jamal Adams, S, Louisiana State

Former GM John Idzik didn’t get it right in 2014 by taking SS Calvin Pryor at No. 18, two slots ahead of Ha Ha Clinton-Dix. Mike Maccagnan, his successor, tries strong safety again with Adams.

PACKERS PICK: McGinn: King could meet Packers' biggest need

MCGINN'S DRAFT SERIES: Position-by-position analysis, rankings

7. LOS ANGELES CHARGERS: Malik Hooker, S, Ohio State

SS Jahleel Addae is the Chargers’ only legitimate safety. Hooker, a free safety, should be an excellent match.

8. CAROLINA PANTHERS: Leonard Fournette, RB, Louisiana State

The Panthers got a lot of mileage from Jonathan Stewart (13th pick, 2008) but he’s 30, entering his 10th year and nearing the end. Fournette gives GM Dave Gettleman all the speed he has been seeking.

9. CINCINNATI BENGALS: Reuben Foster, ILB, Alabama

Foster brings risk (medical, character), but the Bengals never have been been bashful in that department. A defense that was 31st overall and against the run just gained an identity.

10. BUFFALO BILLS: Marshon Lattimore, CB, Ohio State

The Bills lost No. 1 CB Stephon Gilmore to New England in free agency, starter Ronald Darby wasn’t as effective in 2016 as he was in ’15 and Kevon Seymour is untested.

11. NEW ORLEANS SAINTS: Marlon Humphrey, CB, Alabama

Here’s another team desperate for help in the back end. The nominal starters at corner are Delvin Breaux and P.J. Williams.

12. CLEVELAND BROWNS-b: Christian McCaffrey, RB-WR, Stanford

Obviously, the Browns need it all. Their 30th-ranked offense just got better.

13. ARIZONA CARDINALS: Haason Reddick, ILB, Temple

QB Patrick Mahomes was a possibility but in the end GM Steve Keim opts for an ILB. He can apprentice under Karlos Dansby for a year before taking over the defense.

14. PHILADELPHIA EAGLES-c: Gareon Conley, CB, Ohio State

Accused of sexual assault at mid-week, Conley made a strong denial Wednesday. In a Journal Sentinel poll of four teams that investigated the incident, two said Conley still would be taken in the first round, one said second round and one indicated he’d fall outside the top 100.

15. INDIANAPOLIS COLTS: Jarrad Davis, ILB, Florida

RB Dalvin Cook would fit, too. Davis instantly becomes the heart and soul of what was a 30th-ranked defense.

16. BALTIMORE RAVENS: Cam Robinson, T, Alabama

The Ravens took a big hit in March when former Badger RT Ricky Wagner departed for Detroit. Robinson is the Ravens’ No. 1-ranked O-lineman and GM Ozzie Newsome is an old Alabamaguy.

17. WASHINGTON REDSKINS: Takk McKinley, OLB, UCLA

The Redskins ranked 32rd in third-down defense and were an average rush team. They’ll have to wait until August or September for McKinley, who underwent shoulder surgery after the combine.

18. TENNESSEE TITANS: John Ross, WR, Washington

Speed outside is a major issue in Nashville. WRs Rishard Matthews and Tajae Sharpe aren’t burners and there is no capable third on the roster.

19. TAMPA BAY BUCCANEERS: Dalvin Cook, RB, Florida State

RB Doug Martin is in substance-abuse rehabilitation and might be finished. The backups lack appeal, and the Glazer family isn’t the least bit averse to rolling the dice on character.

20. DENVER BRONCOS: Ryan Ramczyk, T, Wisconsin

GM John Elway has a big problem that won’t go away without immediate action. Both Menelik Watson and Donald Stephenson are considered more RTs, leaving a void at LT.

21. DETROIT LIONS: Jabrill Peppers, S-RB, Michigan

SS Tavon Wilson is ordinary, which Peppers isn’t. He’ll bring pizzazz on defense, offense and special teams.

22. MIAMI DOLPHINS: Adoree Jackson, CB, Southern California

The Dolphins would prefer an inside linebacker or defensive end but select Jackson, the best defensive player left on the board.

23. NEW YORK GIANTS: Garett Bolles, T, Utah

Coach Ben McAdoo has keen interest in Mahomes. Still, the Giants have belief in Bolles, a one-year wonder with the best feet in the draft. He’ll man the left side so Ereck Flowers can move to a more suitable berth at RT.

24. OAKLAND RAIDERS: Zach Cunningham, ILB, Vanderbilt

Cunningham isn’t your typical rock ‘em, sock ‘em, Raiders’ type of middle backer. He’s a sleek coverage-type LB more in keeping with the modern game, which GM Reggie McKenzie notes.

25. HOUSTON TEXANS: Patrick Mahomes, QB, Texas Tech

If Mahomes lasts this long coach Bill O’Brien might do a jig. They’d be staring at 0-16 if Tom Savage were to be the starter.

26. SEATTLE SEAHAWKS: Forrest Lamp, G, Western Kentucky

The plan probably is to take Lamp, install him immediately at RG and move second-year RG Germain Ifedi to RT. Few of the many O-line moves made by coach Pete Carroll and GM John Schneider worked. Maybe this will.

27. KANSAS CITY CHIEFS: Corey Davis, WR, Western Michigan

The Chiefs need a RB and a QB but elect not to do it here. Instead, they get a power player to team with Jeremy Maclin.

28. DALLAS COWBOYS: Charles Harris, DE, Missouri

Pass-rushing DEs Greg Hardy, DeMarcus Lawrence and Randy Gregory all came up short. Benson Mayowa, their leading sacker, led the team with six.

29. GREEN BAY PACKERS: Kevin King, CB, Washington

If the draft breaks like this, Ted Thompson will have to choose between King, Tre’Davious White and OLB T.J. Watt. The Packers love King, and cornerback trumps all their other needs.

30. PITTSBURGH STEELERS: Mike Williams, WR, Clemson

Martavis Bryant is back on a conditional return from suspension but GM Kevin Colbert can’t count on him.

31. ATLANTA FALCONS: Tre’Davious White, CB, Louisiana State

Like Green Bay, the Falcons have a void at RG. Temple’s Dion Dawkins could factor here. So, too, might DL Malik McDowell, the consummate boom-or-bust prospect.

32. NEW ORLEANS SAINTS-d: Deshaun Watson, QB, Clemson

Drew Brees, 38, enters his 17th season. If the Saints don’t draft Watson, it’s possible another team will move up and do it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,191 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I like that mock!

John lynch , new 49ers gm, posted a message on Twitter and this was the first response.

https://mobile.twitter.com/pistons15/status/857598071131078656

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,002 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

adrian522 wrote: »
    I like that mock!

John lynch , new 49ers gm, posted a message on Twitter and this was the first response.

https://mobile.twitter.com/pistons15/status/857598071131078656

Smith wasn't a bad pick all the same, he's had a long and relatively respectable career. There are worse screw ups in the 49ers recent drafting history!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Smith also had something like 5 different OCs in 5 years, a bunch of head coaching changes, numerous different systems, often had a lack of talent around him (apart from Gore of course), none of which can be understated in terms of how that messes with a QBs development. Rodgers while on a whole other level, had a great setup with coaching consistency (aside from his rookie year he has only played under on HC whose scheme has been consistent and was similar to his predecessors), serious competence in McCarthy (a QB specialist) and while he and Favre did not get along and Favre did nothing intentional to help, just shadowing a QB of that stature for so long has to have big benefits.

I'm a pretty big Rodgers fanboy I'll admit, but he's also a perfect example of how important they setup around a young QB is to their development - can only wonder how Smith would have turned out with similar, because he is still a very good QB despite all of the above.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,191 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I agree with both of you but Smith is a bit of a captain checkdown. First option is a check down to the running back. 2nd option is a short pass to the te. 3rd option is take off with it and take the sack.

He throws very few picks but doesn't take any chances. Kind of am anti Cutler. He won't lose you many games but he won't win too many either. But been in the league 12 years now, still a starting qb and only the 1 significant injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭letowski

For fun, who will be this years TJ Clemmings/Andrew Billings, ie a player unaminously predicted to go in the 1st/2nd round, goes late 4th/5th/6th?

Ill go with Teez Tabor, after the 40 he ran.

That's true, but it's also possibly to do with the mental toll of being on a bad team for so long earlier in his career and not having a chance to get used to a system well enough for any of it to feel 'automatic' or the confidence that comes from it. Different circumstances, but David Carr for example looked like a guy with PTSD under center after his first few years in Houston.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Broncos have spoken to the Titans on #5 pick

It's certainly in the Titans interest to let that info into the public domain whether its true or not.

Believe nothing until you hear Mayock "predict" the pick just before its announced.

What feed are sky using by the way?

adrian522 wrote: »
    It's certainly in the Titans interest to let that info into the public domain whether its true or not.

Believe nothing until you hear Mayock "predict" the pick just before its announced.

What feed are sky using by the way?

Not a clue, but would imagine the NFL.com feed

That would appear to be that...

http://www.cleveland.com/browns/index.ssf/2017/04/myles_garrett_will_be_the_brow.html

Solid reporter who is usually pretty clued in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Everybody reporting its's Garrett now.

Stuck a sizeable lump on him at 1/4 on Ladbrokes just now. Free money.

Edit: Put more on BetVictor at 1/3.

Broncos have spoken to the Titans on #5 pick

Who are they eyeing up to move up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭BrentMused

Mickey measuring time between the usual suspects on social media has begun, as it does every single draft.

I'd advise anyone who doesn't want things spoiled to start avoiding Twitter etc now.

For example, Todd McShay has just updated his mock draft again based on "latest intel" FFS.

• BrentMused wrote: »
    Mickey measuring time between the usual suspects on social media has begun, as it does every single draft.

I'd advise anyone who doesn't want things spoiled to start avoiding Twitter etc now.

For example, Todd McShay has just updated his mock draft again based on "latest intel" FFS.

**** them there late mocks go to shot when Blake bortkes gets take in 3rd anyway and then they have to get there Mike mayock on like dickheads

Mayock now mocking Alvin kamara are 29

The funk

The funk

Don't know much about him, but GB got Jahri Evans yesterday and Thompson typically does better drafting mid/late round OL men and letting them develop for a year or two... so really can go for a BPA approach (I would rather a pass rusher if possible though), and the Mixon rumours did surprise me a little since GB usually avoid character concern players.

Still, people like Mayock deserve to be taken out of the loop altogether. Can't see how they do anything but hurt ratings in the scheme of things either. It's like watching a kid cheat on Madden by playing on 'rookie' difficulty and winning every game 100-0 - it's boring, predictable and sucks all the fun right out of it.

• brinty wrote: »

The funk

He's been 4th best ever for a while now in fairness and mixon has his issues is 3 rbs that crazy

I'm just surprised he'd go at 29 more than anything

He's a solid two for me,but 29 seems rich

Mayock also has hooker at 19,so as I said all week smoke and mirrors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Goodell to get booed more or less tonight than the Super Bowl?

This is the last draft held in Philly, the NHL Draft:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Guffy

Hazys wrote: »
    Goodell to get booed more or less tonight than the Super Bowl?

This is the last draft held in Philly, the NHL Draft:

Damn, who did he suspend?

I presume no spoiling picks here?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

That was a horrible rendition :mad:

@PFTCommenter

32 brand new NFL jobs under Mr. Trump about to be given out 2night but lamestream media is cricket's

No mentioning of picks in this thread until they have been announced by the commissioner. If there is an appetite a free all spoliers thread can be started!

What channel are people watching it on? ESPN or NFL Network? I'm going to flick between

I'd watch ESPN if I'd a choice but sky have NFL Netowrk feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Here we bloody go

Serious crowd in Philly for this...the Goodell booing should be epic...

network for me, I'll have to mute it whenever they cut to Mayock

HAHAHAHAHA