Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dancing With the Stars - Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Arcadian Dublin

Des C will be dancing with Ryan next week!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Alpha_zero wrote: »
    who is that?

Ah here, have you been paying any attention at all???

(to either the show, or the tabloids :D)

• Registered Users Posts: 30,595 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Alpha_zero wrote: »
    who is that?

Thalia Heffernan, she was a celebrity who got voted off a few weeks ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

I think Katherine or Teresa might go tonight... don't think Des C is going anywhere yet

• Registered Users Posts: 3,719 ✭✭✭jluv

I know Des C can't dance. I know,I know...
    But I'd prefer to see him there than Teresa..
    He's just loveable:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 30,595 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

anna080 wrote: »
    What was said about instagram?

I think Ryan had some post about going out with Thalia Heffernan!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

The swaparoo next week could be fun.

I can see why they are doing it though. One reason I think is most probably so that partners of early exits can get another bit of time in the spotlight.

So I'd expect Hughie's partner Emily for example will be partnered with one of the others for next week. I was actually very sorry to see her out in the first week, as I thought she had a really nice persona that showed in her dance routines with Hughie.

Aoibhinn stole my line!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,121 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I thought Thalia was dating the guy she was dancing with

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Alpha_zero

Thalia Heffernan, she was a celebrity who got voted off a few weeks ago!

A celebrity come on now

God, they picked the absolutely worst bit of Katherine's dance to show in the replay.

pc7 wrote: »
    I thought Thalia was dating the guy she was dancing with

I think that was a mix up from a misinterpretation of something posted on here a few weeks ago. Apparently it was Denise's partner she was seen out with.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭chakademus

Is anyone else getting Glenroe levels of misery from watching this programme?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭CFlat

Dancing with the Bars.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

The professionals are some dancers.

Forget the celebs. Just do a plain old dance program every week

I'm not sure dark studio with bright backlighting and dancers in dark costumes is a great idea.

Or maybe I need to go to specsavers :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Oh amanda. Painful script. Painful acting. Painful.

amdublin wrote: »
    Oh amanda. Painful script. Painful acting. Painful.
    Not as painful as this ad :mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

very good point there. I imagine she is a very popular figure in the Irish dancing (as opposed to Irish dancing, in the Michael Flatley sense!) circuit. She probably has legions of support from that industry whereas the other European dancers wouldn't attract such votes.

I'd love to do a study into the demographics of Irish "talent" show voters. Obviously family/friends are a huge part.

Theresa would be attracting a lot of support from cancer survivor groups I would imagine

The boyband guy would have obvious fans

Tommy Dillon's daughter probably has a large social network of friends and is probably using this to give her career another boost

Des Bishop is Des Bishop, smarmy but well known

Katherine Lynch has a fan following, is very likeable and probably has a great social network also. She is also entertaining and giving a good account of herself as a dancer.

Kerry people stick together so O Mahony will attract enough votes to keep him in until mid point (cough cough Healy Raes)

Again, Denise McCormack will rely heavily on friends initially but now she will also attract voters based on her merits as a dancer.

I can't quiet figure out Eva's fan base. I know she is well known by viewers but would they pick up the phone to vote for her? I reckon she will go within next 2 rounds, bar a conspiracy.

I was shocked with Hughie's exit and it smells extremely fishy. There does seem to be a nasty vibe against him though on social media, a lot of it through association with his fella. I still was shocked he didn't get votes considering his notierity at the minute and the fact that he was garnering a lot of publicity.

Exits, I predict: (based on my scientific analysis of the voting system!)
    3. Eva/Des Bishop
    4. Eva/Des Bishop
    5. Aidan O Mahoney
    6. Teresa Mannion
    7. Aoibheann/Des Cahill
    8. "/"
    9. Katherine Lynch/Denise
    Final: Denise or Katherine and Boyband Guy

Des Bishop this week as per my NostrDancemus scientific prediction a few weeks back :D

• Registered Users Posts: 56,178 ✭✭✭✭walshb

How d fook does this show get 2 hrs allotted to it? It's dreadful.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,719 ✭✭✭jluv

I think the mix up is a good idea,moreso as I think some of the professional dancers are challenging their partners more than others. Will be interesting to see how the celebs react with different partners..

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Not as painful as this ad :mad::mad:

I just knew we could make it work?

Are ye not backing brave?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Would they ever cut the ads out. Although I do use them as toilet breaks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

walshb wrote: »
    How d fook does this show get 2 hrs allotted to it? It's dreadful.

If Fair City can get 2 hours per week, anything is possible!

DWTS also gets a rake of tv and radio slots during the week also. RTE are really milking it

Are the judges backhandedly digging at Karen, going on and on about the lack of content in Des C's dance?

How on earth is he going to cope with a new partner??? And her with him???

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

I want Des C to go

• Registered Users Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Who actually votes on these shows

Yes. Today with Maura and Daithi for example have a slot dedicated to it every week for example. It's repeated Thursday evening on 2, and on 1 Saturday afternoon, plots the site with Blathnaid Friday night is also repeated Saturday.

I want Des C to go
    I think we all do!

(Wel, except most of the country, apparently.....)