Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help! Teaching. I hate my job

Options
  • 21-09-2016 9:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 25

Hi,
    I am a post-primary teacher. I am teaching 5 years and I hate it. I get decent work from students and I achieve good grades but I find it draining. I get nervous before class and my stomach is constantly in knots. I feel oddly bullied in schools. I've yet to get a permanent job so i spend every Summer looking for work. I meet new staff and students every year. I'm fed up of doing the newbie donkey work in each school. I want to change professions so badly but I don't know what I could do. I teach art (and any other subject that I'm thrown) so I feel very pigeonholed. I would love a 9 to 5 job. I would love anything that will allow me to clock off. I've yet to feel that I have achieved in my career. Any good class can be crushed by the smallest of incidents. Can anyone suggest what profession I could look into? My personal life is suffering and I'll be very honest I think I am a bit depressed. I dream of being seriously ill so in don't have to face work. I normally thrive on being busy but sitting at my computer til 12 most nights is tough when you don't enjoy the work. I welcome suggestions.

Comments

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭audi12

Tincan123 wrote: »
    Hi,