Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No work experience getting job

Options
  • 23-09-2016 1:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 23

Hi

Any advice would be grateful please..

I have no work experience & i would like to look for bar/shop/waitress jobs.

I do voluntry work in a hospice shop once a week so that's my only experience.

I did ask in my local Social welfare office if i can apply for an internship but there's nothing around town.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

Go to your employer of choice- a local bar maybe. Explain that you have little experience but are interested in working for them. Offer to do a few shifts for free. If you work hard and are enthusiastic you might be lucky and get offered paid work. If not, you will have gained some experience and contacts and be in a much better position to apply elsewhere. Also, talk to all your friends who may be able to put in a good word for you with their employer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭wandererz

What the previous poster has said.

In addition, do emphasize that you already have customer service experience due to your voluntary work.

Offer to perhaps even do one or two weeks or 5 or 10 days(a couple of hours per day) in order to get the hang of things and to prove that you can do the job.
    They can then decide what they want to do: either pay you for that time, not pay you.
    But perhaps you get to keep the tips.

Either way, you get the experience and know what to do next.

Additionally, get a few comments from people you work with and/or custmers and include them on your CV.