Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to POLITELY DECLINE applicants with INSUFFICIENT PREREQUISITES

Options
  • 27-09-2016 1:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭

I may offer a Digital Skills type course in the near future, but it is not suitable for complete beginners / novices to the area in question. How would I decline their application if I met in person or on paper without offending them?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭endagibson

Can you document the requirements somewhere in the offering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

endagibson wrote: »
    Can you document the requirements somewhere in the offering?
    I will. But how to stop applicants who think they are entitled to get help in the form of "spoonfeeding" or being "taken by the hand" - an Irish phenomena - the rest of the class might call them out on it but they get a narky and defiant look too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭endagibson

5rtytry56 wrote: »
    I will. But how to stop applicants who think they are entitled to get help in the form of "spoonfeeding" or being "taken by the hand" - an Irish phenomena - the rest of the class might call them out on it but they get a narky and defiant look too.
    You mean they lie when applying? I assume this class has a set duration and curriculum. Just stick to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

All you can do is specify the requirements and ask for evidence/certification. You can't predict exactly what their needs or behaviour will be.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell