Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Council housing

Options
  • 28-09-2016 8:43am
    Registered Users Posts: 23

Hi, following a marriage break up, I need to find somewhere long term to live. I've been staying with a friend for the past 10 months since it happened, but circumstances mean that I have to move. I have somewhere sorted for now, but it's far from ideal (no heating, can't brink kids there). After I have maintenance and mortgage etc paid for, I am left with €190 a week. Does anyone know would I be eligible for a council house? I see the kids 5/7 days but I need somewhere to bring them, as more often than not I'm driving around trying to keep them occupied. Any houses to rent are way out of my budget, so what options are open to me? Any more info that needs to be provided, just let me know. Any help appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭K_P

Your eligibility will be based on two main things - your net income and whether or not you own property.

The maximum income thresholds vary depending on where you live from €35k per annum in Cork City, Dublin City and its commuter counties to €25k in more rural counties. It takes into account your total income, not disposable income or not what money is available to you for your housing.

You mentioned mortgage in your post. I'm assuming you're still paying a proportion of the mortgage on the family home. If you still legally own half this house then that's very likely to prevent you from going on a local authority housing list.