Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

4K and HDR compatible TV thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

amadablam wrote: »
    Not sure what model you are referring to having that level of lag but a question for your to check before accepting that 40 sec (Im sure its m/s though) lag is to whether that measurement was taken from a 1080p signal being upscaled to 4k or whether its a 4k native signal to a 4k TV?

( If you are looking at the sony XF, the lag is documented at 40 m/s for 1080p but between 23-23 m/s for 4K )

I do know from my own research and personal experiences that much of the higher levels of lag on some of the new high end TV's isnt reflective of the of a 4k console sending a native 4k signal to a 4 k TV and instead is 1080 or lower, being upscaled. The native signal is going to be much lower in most cases.

For your budget you can go OLED on an LG but I had a similar budget and went with an XF 9005 (Best in class reviews on many sites) and couldnt be happier. I have a ONE X, a PS PRO, A Nintendo Switch and an NVIDIA Shield on mine (obviously the Pro and XBOX ONE X are utilising the HDMI ports with HDR capability)

Another thing I have noticed is people complaining that they cant see the difference on their One X or PS pro in 4K and that they have a 4K TV........................Not all 4K TV's are equal as we all well know and I dont understand how someone thinks that a sub 500 euro TV without half of the processing power and a sub 8 bit panel, etc. is expected to give the same image quality as a TV with significantly higher specs, panels, etc.

I think people need to also match expectations to their budgets as well and try and get the best outcome for that

Thanks a million for your reply. Yeah it was m/s input lag I meant. It was just some review on YouTube. Yeah it was that Sony I was looking at. I’m going into curry now for a look at a few of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,535 ✭✭✭✭Varik

The 1080 input lag for the XF8 is better than the older XE8, high 20s vs low 30s.

The XF9 is in the 40s for 1080@60 but if using a PS4 pro or Xbox One X then that signal is 4k even if the game isn't so you're looking at low 20s.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Lord Spence

Lads just wondering if anyone has any idea with this philips is good to go with a one x https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0794Z7R3Q/?coliid=I2JWNB8N5NWSWV&colid=3IK3CHAWPN05E&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

If not any good 43" Tv's for 4k HDR with low input lag? 43" is the biggest I can go as its for my gaming area in the sitting room so the main TV is taking up the main space.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,798 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Microsoft Brings Dolby Vision to Xbox: Dolby Vision on the Xbox, Explained
    Read more at https://news.xbox.com/en-us/2018/10/03/microsoft-brings-dolby-vision-to-xbox-dolby-vision-on-the-xbox-explained/#88hGB1FRkEA2JvrX.99

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭WarpAsylum

• Registered Users Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

• Registered Users Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

WarpAsylum wrote: »

Samsung and Panasonic won't cough up the cash to Dolby, they're pushing the open source HDR10+ instead - well, they're supposed to be pushing it, I've yet to see any content and it was announced a year ago

Do ye know will this Dolby vision can be used?

Is there an update for the tv/Xbox? I have one of the TVs on the list but when I go to enable it on the Xbox, Dolby vision isn’t there.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Tilikum17 wrote: »

Is there an update for the tv/Xbox? I have one of the TVs on the list but when I go to enable it on the Xbox, Dolby vision isn’t there.

Check to see if there's a firmware update for your tv, and if there isn't then it's possible that DV is only supported on one HDMI port.

CatInABox wrote: »
    Check to see if there's a firmware update for your tv, and if there isn't then it's possible that DV is only supported on one HDMI port.

Yeah, there’s no update. I might try another port.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Yeah, there’s no update. I might try another port.

What TV is it?

Sony KD900F

Err..... Sorry Tilikum, I should have checked this earlier, were you on the XBox preview program? If no, then the Dolby Vision update wasn't out yet, sorry!

However, it is now:

https://twitter.com/Xbox/status/1050465552089542656

DV support for streaming? I thought this was for games. Does that mean that the HDR bug is fixed i.e. when Netflix starts, HDR kicks in full throttle regardless if the chosen video is HDR or not?

theteal wrote: »
    DV support for streaming? I thought this was for games. Does that mean that the HDR bug is fixed i.e. when Netflix starts, HDR kicks in full throttle regardless if the chosen video is HDR or not?

I'm not sure that DV actually has much relevance for games, to be honest. DV and HDR10+ is all about being dynamic, so that they can master the HDR up and down depending upon the scene in the movie. With games though, that's not a major problem as the game is in control of the HDR anyway, so it's not as important.

Of course, I'm not a visual specialist or anything, so I could be completely wrong.

I'm not sure that DV actually has much relevance for games, to be honest. DV and HDR10+ is all about being dynamic, so that they can master the HDR up and down depending upon the scene in the movie. With games though, that's not a major problem as the game is in control of the HDR anyway, so it's not as important.

Of course, I'm not a visual specialist or anything, so I could be completely wrong.

That makes sense. My main query though is whether the Xbox still buggered for HDR in Netflix? I’d assume that’s fixed first before any DV advancements

That's deeply frustrating. Netflix won't even fix it, as they say it's "working as intended". Mental.

Anyway, it's not fixed yet, and probably won't be due to Netflix thinking that this is the way it's meant to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,791 ✭✭✭sweetie

Need a decent 49/50" asap, my 43" is fecked, any good deals about?

sweetie wrote: »
    Need a decent 49/50" asap, my 43" is fecked, any good deals about?

if you can hold on for about a month you'll get a deal, I can't say I'm aware of anything at present

• Registered Users Posts: 9,791 ✭✭✭sweetie

if you can hold on for about a month you'll get a deal, I can't say I'm aware of anything at present

yeah, I got a cheap bedroom backup to keep me going, hopefully black friday doesn't disappoint!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

Well I have pulled the trigger on this 75 inch monster....the Samsung NU8000

https://www.samsung.com/us/televisions-home-theater/tvs/premium-uhd-tvs/75--class-nu8000-smart-4k-uhd-tv-un75nu8000fxza/

Didn't go with OLED of QLED even though the picture quality is better the price was too much especially for the size I was looking for.

The Samsung anyway seems great for gaming and has dedicated gaming mode, low input latency,120 hz and supports variable refresh rate also. I think it will be a great partner for my One X.

Taking delivery tomorrow and I'm a bit embarrassed :o by the size and what the neighbors are going to saying walking past the house, as I dont have a massive front room so it going to be the "feature" piece of the room. One issue though I also now need to change my surround amp and its doesn't support pass though 4K...and I haven't told the missus about this yet that I will have to get a new one. Also have to rearrange my surround speakers and chase out a wall to hide cables.. . problems, problems..

I blaming here anyway she told me to get the 75'.

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Well done. Always nice to see people go balls out!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭amadablam

ECO_Mental wrote: »

https://www.samsung.com/us/televisions-home-theater/tvs/premium-uhd-tvs/75--class-nu8000-smart-4k-uhd-tv-un75nu8000fxza/

Didn't go with OLED of QLED even though the picture quality is better the price was too much especially for the size I was looking for.

The Samsung anyway seems great for gaming and has dedicated gaming mode, low input latency,120 hz and supports variable refresh rate also. I think it will be a great partner for my One X.

Taking delivery tomorrow and I'm a bit embarrassed :o by the size and what the neighbors are going to saying walking past the house, as I dont have a massive front room so it going to be the "feature" piece of the room. One issue though I also now need to change my surround amp and its doesn't support pass though 4K...and I haven't told the missus about this yet that I will have to get a new one. Also have to rearrange my surround speakers and chase out a wall to hide cables.. . problems, problems..

Well ware! Fine TV and if it's too big for the room, you can always join the neighbors in the garden and watch it together :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

amadablam wrote: »
    Well ware! Fine TV and if it's too big for the room, you can always join the neighbors in the garden and watch it together :D:D

When it comes to big TVs I always remember Tommy Tiernans joke about particular minorities: " They get biggest TV and then build a caravan around it. " :D

Well ware on tv front too. 4k tvs is the first time I felt real difference and improvement in gaming and picture quality since going to HD ready/ full hd from older back lit TVs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

ECO_Mental wrote: »

It's f**king massive..... :):)

The guys even delivering it were laughing at me :(

Watching the Hobbit battle of the 5 armies now and it's awesome. Its like I'm at the cinema. Surround sound not working yet but the tv speakers are respectable.

Took a while to get my OneX to recognise I was connected to a 4k tv. Had to restart a few times but I'm there now. Just had 5 mins on FH4 and it was incredible. I'll post a pic of my setup over the weekend.

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Registered Users Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭shuffles03

€1000 to spend on a 4K TV to go with a One X. What would you recommend? There’s a lot of natural light in the room. Cheers in advance!

Going the opposite end of the scale in terms of size and use I pulled the trigger on a LG 27UK650-W monitor earlier. I'll report back with impressions when I've had a chance to play with it on the one X. Paid 399eu for it which seemed very reasonable given the spec.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Stupify

Going the opposite end of the scale in terms of size and use I pulled the trigger on a LG 27UK650-W monitor earlier. I'll report back with impressions when I've had a chance to play with it on the one X. Paid 399eu for it which seemed very reasonable given the spec.

That seems a great price for that monitor, where'd you purchase it might I ask?

Stupify wrote: »
    That seems a great price for that monitor, where'd you purchase it might I ask?

Komplett