Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Grand Prix 2016

• 02-10-2016 3:21pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭

So the Grand Prix starts tonight in Citywest. Here's the lineup for the first nights action:

Sunday October 2 (7pm)
    First Round x8
    Kyle Anderson v Cristo Reyes
    Ian White v Kim Huybrechts
    James Wade (6) v Terry Jenkins
    Gerwyn Price v Benito van de Pas
    Adrian Lewis (3) v Jelle Klaasen
    Robert Thornton (7) v Stephen Bunting
    Gary Anderson (2) v Jamie Caven
    Mervyn King v Raymond van Barneveld

• Registered Users Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

victory for anderson in opener

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Jazus, Wade only got himself to blame, desperate on the double 20 to get going and was on the back foot for most of the last few legs

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 38,455 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

going by last night/last year crowds are starting to decline for this but cant see us losing the tournament anytime soon as it makes too much $$$$ for the Citywest and the PDC

TBH its hard to watch it at home as its the first time in 3 years im not going :(:(

• Registered Users Posts: 9,507 ✭✭✭irishgeo

It's a shocking atmosphere.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

irishgeo wrote: »
    It's a shocking atmosphere.

Darts equally shocking!!

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 13,454 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

4 more matches tonight :eek: Plausible this goes on until 1am.

• Registered Users Posts: 42,092 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

Power outage. :)

Good 'ol Reggie Kray.

2nd year running Taylor and Wade have went out in round 1

• Registered Users Posts: 11,277 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

PTH2009 wrote: »
    going by last night/last year crowds are starting to decline for this but cant see us losing the tournament anytime soon as it makes too much $$$$ for the Citywest and the PDC

TBH its hard to watch it at home as its the first time in 3 years im not going :(:(

Was always like that the opening nights I think. Sunday finish was much better though, changing the quarters night from Friday to Thursday was a rubbish idea.

I'd been 4 of the last 5 years. Raging I'm not going now as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

ye the 1/4s the friday night was always a great night

badly set up event now with 1am finish on monday night

Really opened up for MVG in the top half, the only seed left.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭ooter

Is it true the dart board was stolen during the power cut or is it just a rumour?

ha ha really?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Not a great looking attendance there tonight.

2morrows line up looks a bit dreadful and the attendence wont be a big one id say

Daryl Gurney vs Steve West
    Brenden Dolan vs Dave Chisnall
    Alan Norris vs Simon Whitlock
    MVG vs James Wilson

why the premier league does well here and in belfast is that you are guarnateed to see the top stars (its different for 2017 for us as we are hosting Night 10 in Dublin and Night 12 in Belfast, there will be only 8 players in it with 2 players prev relagated). With the Grand prix (if youre not going to the 2 first round nights) youre taking a gamble as your fav player may be knocked out

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

will be up there Saturday night for the final. whats getting taxis after like?, do folk know from previous years?

with the soccer being on 2morrow i wonder will this effect the attendence but i imagine 2morrow night is when the crowds start to arrive

expecting it to be an all dutch final with RVB vs MVG

• Registered Users Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

Sky need to come with a new feature that mutes crowd chanting but keeps the commentary. I am about at my limit of Ole Ole, Kolo/Yaya Toure and Hey Baby! It's almost rendering the whole thing unwatchable.

All quarter finals go to the fav so semi final lineup of
    MVG v Chisnall.
    RVB v Gary Anderson.

worst major i can remember

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

It's been poor stuff so far alright.

All quarter finals go to the fav so semi final lineup of
    MVG v Chisnall.
    RVB v Gary Anderson.

MVG vs RVB final I think

Why is RVB so loved in Ireland ???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭Sami23

mdwexford wrote: »
    Sunday finish was much better though, changing the quarters night from Friday to Thursday was a rubbish idea.

Absolutely correct, they should never have changed the quarters from Friday night.
    The reason they did it was to try and get a big crowd at the final on Saturday night cause not many used to go the final on the Sunday night. But it didn't work as a big crowd stil didn't show up for the final last year as there's only 1 game and it's over so fast.

The simple solution is to bring the quarters back to Friday and play semi final AND final on Saturday night guaranteeing a full house both nights.

was at the final last year... was a big crowd

• Registered Users Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭Sami23

was at the final last year... was a big crowd

At best it was an ok crowd but nothing compared to what they'd get fir doing both semi and final on Saturday night.
    For last year's final all the tables weren't even full never mind the balcony

• Registered Users Posts: 18,010 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

MVG v Ando final

come on gary! hate mvg
    shrek

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 150 ✭✭Head Wreck

When does the grandslam of darts start?