Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What annoys you about other runners and running in general?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Murph_D wrote: »
    Jaysus, did that come in a goody bag? :pac:

Present from my son!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

aquinn wrote: »
    What really annoys me is the tools blocking the path, stuck in their phone and not watching where they are going until you are in front of them arms wide so they finally notice you and they look shocked.

Always happens around Eastpoint. They get off a bus or something and are so stuck in their phones they don't watch where they are going and you then have to avoid them yet there is no room on the footpath.

Also people crossing the Eastlink. It is frightening crossing it on a windy day and people jumping on and off the path with very busy traffic and again people not looking where they are going.

All my troubles seem East based.

I'm sure I am not the first to rant about this but the head stuck in the phone while walking somewhere or they are chatting with it in front of them is a real issue for me of late.

Eastlink is a disaster, but runners cause most of the problems on it. Often running one way and i meet two coming the other direction and they refuse to give me room on the path. So ignorant.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Eastlink is a disaster, but runners cause most of the problems on it. Often running one way and i meet two coming the other direction and they refuse to give me room on the path. So ignorant.

That is so dangerous as it is frightening anyway. If running with someone I will go solo across the bridge as would be afraid of ending up under a truck. I've seen people jump off the path and not even check traffic.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,454 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

OOnegative wrote: »
    Present from my son!

Ah, now I feel bad! If you're a kid, of course, it's totally grand!

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭duvetdayss

Took part in a small running event in town recently. Couldn't believe how many runners ran into traffic, breaking the lights, giving lots of drivers a fright and risking accidents. It wasn't a race and was right in the centre of town, pretty inconsiderate and ignorant.

Took part in a group run in town recently. Couldn't believe how many runners ran into traffic, breaking the lights, giving lots of drivers a fright and risking accidents. It wasn't a race and was right in the centre of town, pretty inconsiderate and ignorant.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

To be honest I'm guilty of that myself

Don't get me wrong, I often break the lights on a run to avoid dropping my HR. But not when cars are right there with right of way, showing no signs of slowing down

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭thehairygrape

One thing that really annoys me is when I’m in a race and all these people finish ahead of me. Hate them. All the runners behind me are the grandest people you’d ever meet! Odd that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

duvetdayss wrote: »
    Don't get me wrong, I often break the lights on a run to avoid dropping my HR. But not when cars are right there with right of way, showing no signs of slowing down

It's a call. When there's a group of runners, there is definitely a bullish, 'herd' mentality (he can't knock 6 of us down). What we do is make a judgement. coming through a junction, if drivers see us and seem inclined to let us through, we get through and out of the way as quickly as possible, and ALWAYS make with the waving, and acknowledging the gesture. If you're in a car, and you cede your right of way to a bunch of runners, who then ignore the gesture, well then next time you mightn't be so bloody generous. Every time a car gives way, we/I wave in gratitude. It's paying it forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Runners who take to social media to let everybody know they have entered the ballot for a marathon that is very tough to get into............do they not realise that for every person they remind to do likewise their own odds lengthen.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

sideswipe wrote: »
    Runners who take to social media to let everybody know they have entered the ballot for a marathon that is very tough to get into............do they not realise that for every person they remind to do likewise their own odds lengthen.

THANKS FOR THE REMINDER!!!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Guilty - but it was somebody else’s post reminded me :D

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

hahaha same as OP. Listening to people hacking, choking and heaving next to me is very off putting.

I get very frustrated at people who push up near the front of a start line and then proceed to walk or slog along the course making an unwanted obstacle course for other runners :pac: Very selfish thing to do.

The OTT updates on social media (but I hate social media in general so :p ) especially from people who barely train but show up to do a few races and show off their medals.

I hate when you're on mile 23 of the marathon and without even looking, a runner in the middle of the road throws his unwanted leftover bottle out to the side and hits me in the chest, winding me :) Please move to the side or at the very least LOOK before you throw away your bottles people!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

We are just sharing our rejection pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

Low iron levels

This annoyance isn't about running or runner but rather strava. Don't get me wrong I use it and love it but find sometimes I'm developing a habit of altering my runs i.e. too fast on recovery days because others will see it.......

Also getting a lot of spam followers lately, anybody else having that problem?

One interesting 'person of interest' I did come across was the infamous Running Master aka Stazza!

sideswipe wrote:

Definitely have noticed this. A lot porn star-style spam accounts. Surely Strava isn't their most successful platform...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Change your settings so you have to approve requests to follow, that way you can decline the spam. Doesn't stop the requests but at least you won't have strangers seeing your run habits. I'd be wary of strangers seeing mine as it can give them information about my routine (times and routes) and possibly even working out where I live and work, though I do have the circumference setting on, it would still give them the general area.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

This annoyance isn't about running or runner but rather strava. Don't get me wrong I use it and love it but find sometimes I'm developing a habit of altering my runs i.e. too fast on recovery days because others will see it.......

One interesting 'person of interest' I did come across was the infamous Running Master aka Stazza!

You can make individual activities hidden from view so nobody will see it then but you. Or else just don't care what others think or see.

Hurrache wrote: »
    You can make individual activities hidden from view so nobody will see it then but you. Or else just don't care what others think or see.

This of course. I'm 44, I really shouldn't give a flying f*&k. Makes me glad there was no social media in 'my day'. Must put so much extra pressure on kids in everyday life.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,309 ✭✭✭cullenswood

Hurrache wrote: »
    Or else just don't care what others think or see.

This, who cares if someone sees how fast or slow I have run on a particular day. The speed of a run of a particular workout can vary on lots of things. If you are running everything fast you are doing it wrong, and that in itself shouldn't be impressing anyone.
    Run for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,225 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Makes me glad there was no social media in 'my day'. Must put so much extra pressure on kids in everyday life.

Absolutely, I'd hate to be growing up and having to deal with that ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭FinnC

Ran into a brier that was sticking out into the road today, came around the corner and didn’t see it. My eye is weeping now and I’ve a big scratch on my forehead.

That annoyed me from my run today!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

As a motorist, since Covid & social distancing I'm very aware of runners & will keep an eye out for them stepping out on the road to avoid walkers, families with buggies, dogs on leads etc... I'm totally ok with runners running on roads and will hang back, give them space and basically treat them like cyclists. Wait, indicate, give them a wide birth and carry on. Monkey see, monkey do and when I do it I find other motorists behind me do it too.

Hopefully this will be the norm in time.

Driving across the Thomas Clarke Bridge (East Link) the path is ridiculously small. Any motorist with a bit of cop should expect overflow on to the road & drive accordingly. It's easy to predict someone having to step out on to the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,494 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

At larger events, people going into start corrals well above their ability so they can start with their friends. Have seen it cause several nasty falls including a friend who ended up in hospital in 2018 needing a dozen or so stitches

• Registered Users Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭mattser

Dogs and their stupid owners

• Registered Users Posts: 6,197 ✭✭✭crisco10

Dog sh1t. In a suburban environment, there is no excuse for dog sh1t on a footpath.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bluesquare

Labelling stuff easy on Strava when it’s clearly not

Refusing to change running habits/training for a better outcome and suffering the same fate time after time .

Runners that jog on the spot while waiting at the traffic lights.