Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playstation Plus discussion thread - Part deux

• Registered Users Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

marcbrophy wrote:
    It's not good enough :mad:

So don't pay it

• Registered Users Posts: 11,970 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Frustrating that it's an extra tenner but you'd swear Sony were charging for using the x button on the controller the outrage that's going on.

They're a private company who don't really owe us anything. The price hike was telegraphed for a long time when the US prices increased and at the end of the day you're not forced to pay it. Everything goes up in price eventually whether it's houses, alcohol, utilities, food or stamps. And it's still on par with Xbox Live price if I'm not mistaken.

And it'll still be cheaper if you use sites like Press Start etc to buy credit or subs.

It won't bother me more than it usually does when it's due but I'll pay it. If you don't want to, then don't. Nobody's forcing anyone to keep it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

You know what I like? the fact they gave us a months notice
    I am able to click on the store and buy it at the old rates right now if I like :)

I guess being outraged over price increases that won't actually affect people until well into the future is more fashionable.
    There's also the totally reasonable option to never pay Sony any money ever.

The way people here go on you'd swear someone had a gun to their head
    Private Companies can charge whatever the hell they want for whatever they sell, no-one is making you buy their product.
    I don't see why 2 price increases over 7 years is surprising. That's how inflation works
    Ever single service I pay/have paid for in the last decade has increased in price. (Sky TV, X-Box Live, Netflix, Vodafone, Soundcloud, iTunes Match etc)
    My life would be pretty sweet if what I had to complain about was something effecting by a tenner my in Winter 2018

Don't like the new price? -> Buy now at the old price?
    Don't want to subscribe anymore out of "principle"? -> Don't subscribe
    All two pages of entitled moaning I'm delighted to see this post pop up. The voice of reason and common sense.

I'm perfectly happy to pay the extra tenner if needs be - whenever that time comes - but I'm just going to stack on another year before that's even necessary. I won't have to pay the new price it until May 2019, at least we were given the courtesy of being able to do that without smacking us with an immediate bump.

You'd swear some of the outrage merchants on here had to pay the price regardless, like its some form of tax implemented by a totalitarian government. If you don't think the service is worth the extra €10 a year, then either don't subscribe or stack up your subscription in advance of the price's implementation; but if you do buy it at that price don't act outraged and entitled about the extra you had to pay, because nobody's forcing you to get it, it's your own decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,574 ✭✭✭EoinHef

Outrage? Gis a break

People are annoyed a service increased by 20% without any justification,that doesnt mean there outraged.

Sony could put it up by whatever they like and some people would still defend them,blind brand loyalty id call that

• Registered Users Posts: 11,970 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

EoinHef wrote: »
    Outrage? Gis a break

People are annoyed a service increased by 20% without any justification,that doesnt mean there outraged.

Sony could put it up by whatever they like and some people would still defend them,blind brand loyalty id call that

Sonys profits dropped $70bn dollars (50% decrease of profit) this year compared to last and they're probably looking to stem the bleeding. They're also a listed company who need to keep shareholders happy and have rarely raised the price of PSN and maybe the cost of infrastructure has increased. Pretty good justification to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

This is why competition is so important.

PlayStation don't need to compete anymore so they can stick it to their user base unfortunately.

A 20% increase is very greedy indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Save your money until there is a deal.

There was a deal very recently where it was either a %off or extra months free.

Membership stacks aswell.

Ill see this increase in 2019 and by then it will probably be gone up abit more but thats life.

Bottles of Coke were 1.20 when i was a kid, now they are 1.60 in the same shop.

Thats Life, no point getting angry over feck all.

As someone playing games on multiple systems from multiple corporate companies I don't know what you're driving at.
    Just seems like you want to dress peoples responses up to suit your rhetoric "Not fussed about €1 a month? Must be brand loyalty to an evil corporation".

As stated my own post, I'm paying more money to a lot of companies over the last 4 and 8 years. As long as the service meets my requirements and expectations I'm satisfied to pay what I think is a reasonable amount for it. €5 a month presents good value for money to me (I buy 12 months at a time). Of course thats not for everyone, and thats ok too.

In my place at them moment I have:
    SNES, N64, Gamecube, PS3, Wii, X-Box 360, WiiU, PS4, Nintendo Switch, 2 gaming PCs, PS Vita, Gameboy SP, Gameboy 3DS & 3DSXL.

And between the 2 main TVs right now we have the SNES, X-Box 360, PS4 and Switch all hooked up at the moment. It's not brand loyalty for me (as well as the 2 Gaming PCs upstairs) .
    For me, it's being 31 years old and being quiet accepting of the requirement to pay the prices set by a company for their product and service.

Gonna top up my account now with another year at the old rate, essentially saving myself a tenner.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

marcbrophy wrote:
    Jesus H Fcuking Christ, that's some specialist logic there pal

How about you drop the condensention there, also I'm not your pal buddy.

Look no matter what way you cut this up a one euro increase is nothing.

All this faux outrage from a few of you is the joke.

They have announced it a month in advance, you can still buy at old price, you can even stock up if you want.

If not don't buy it, it's a subscription to a digital games platform it's not like your being taxed for air here.

And insulting me doesn't help your argument.

I don't think anyone is "defending" them, but some seem to be taking a bump in the price of a service - that they've no obligation to purchase, provided by a private company whose purpose is to turn a profit - very much to heart.

People are seeing it for what it is and are being reasonable about it, nothing to do with brand loyalty. If the price increase ends up being Sony's downfall then grand, that's their own problem; that's fair and the consumers would've voted with their wallets. All this 'blind brand loyalty' stuff is nonsense, they're not a sports team.

The thing that's being pointed out is that all this moaning reeks of entitlement. So people liked the service, now it costs a tenner more than it did before, now reassess that decision - nobodies forcing them to buy it, and they even have the option to buy as many instances of the subscription as they like at the current price.
    There's some private companies who wouldn't be so courteous as to give you a warning, if that was the case here, then I'd understand the annoyance/outrage. But as it stands, it's just a bit silly.

EoinHef wrote:

They could but instead they put it up by

1 euro.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Inflation lads. The price of everything goes up.

Sonys profits dropped $70bn dollars (50% decrease of profit) this year compared to last and they're probably looking to stem the bleeding. They're also a listed company who need to keep shareholders happy and have rarely raised the price of PSN and maybe the cost of infrastructure has increased. Pretty good justification to me.

They did,because the movie division lost the plot and a lot of money. Gaming is sony's one really profitable area. So id imagine the logic is squeeze the people who are still willing to give sony money. Yes this is business and they can do what they like with there service but if they put PS+ up because there movie division is doing **** then surely PS players have a right to question that.

You'd swear the way some are posting we should just shut up,never question sony and just suck it up,thats anti consumer. I like to think from a consumer point of view rather than blinkered loyalty to a brand. And if nobody questions these thing everyone could be paying double next year.

EoinHef wrote:
    You'd swear the way some are posting we should just shut up,never question sony and just suck it up,thats anti consumer. I like to think from a consumer point of view rather than blinkered loyalty to a brand. And if nobody questions these thing everyone could be paying double next year.

The hero we need not the one we deserve

As someone playing games on multiple systems from multiple corporate companies I don't know what you're driving at.
    Just seems like you want to dress peoples responses up to suit your rhetoric "Not fussed about €1 a month? Must be brand loyalty to an evil corporation".

As stated my own post, I'm paying more money to a lot of companies over the last 4 and 8 years. As long as the service meets my requirements and expectations I'm satisfied to pay what I think is a reasonable amount for it. €5 a month presents good value for money to me (I buy 12 months at a time). Of course thats not for everyone, and thats ok too.

In my place at them moment I have:
    SNES, N64, Gamecube, PS3, Wii, X-Box 360, WiiU, PS4, Nintendo Switch, 2 gaming PCs, PS Vita, Gameboy SP, Gameboy 3DS & 3DSXL.

And between the 2 main TVs right now we have the SNES, X-Box 360, PS4 and Switch all hooked up at the moment. It's not brand loyalty for me (as well as the 2 Gaming PCs upstairs) .
    For me, it's being 31 years old and being quiet accepting of the requirement to pay the prices set by a company for their product and service.

Gonna top up my account now with another year at the old rate, essentially saving myself a tenner.

Your taking my posts out of context. That €1 post was about at what point does it become too much?

Like ye €1 a month is fine for some. But what about an extra €2,maybe €3 or €10 extra a month,is it still fine?

So i havent dressed anything up really.

Thats great,if you feel like PS+ is great value at an increased price thats cool. But im not allowed to have a different opinion without being labelled entitled or outraged? Bacuse an opinion is your own makes it no more valid unless its factual.

PlayStation don't need to compete anymore so they can stick it to their user base unfortunately.

PlayStation are still competing, take a look at the Games with Gold versus PS+ and you can see that Sony are spending there. Sony also delivered years of free online while MS insisted that you need Gold even if you just wanted to watch Netflix. A 10 euro increase is a decent amount but if it's too much then simply don't subscribe. No one is forcing anyone to and when you consider the PS+ discount on games, I'd imagine that most people have saved way more than 10 euro when buying games this year. I know that my PS+ discount on games is well into the hundreds. It's still incredible value for money and anyone arguing that this is Sony sticking it to their user base is just looking for a reason to be offended. Bet that if MS raised the price of Gold we'd have people in here defending what a great move it was and how MS were going to improve the infrastructure.

jcd5971 wrote: »
    The hero we need not the one we deserve

Good job,cant hold an arguement so resort to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭dudeeile

Yes, yes, yes and here we have the voice of objective reasoning!

There is competition, play on another console, play on pc or just don't buy the online sub. Got any more helpful insights?

I was paying practically this 14 years ago for Xbox Live.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Side point but does anyone else find it weird that 40-50 quid seems to be this sweet spot that gamers will accept being charged but not anything above that?

Like new games were that price 20 years ago. But go up to 60 in 2017 and it's gouging and Corporate greed.

EoinHef wrote:
    Good job,cant hold an arguement so resort to that.

I think I laid out my point pretty clearly to be honest, I'm not interested in an argument I gave an opinion, if you want to argue 1 euro a month extra is crazy expensive be my guest.

It was you who started calling anyone in disagreement with you a fanboy.

Also you saying something is right and anyone disagreeing is either lazy, anti consumer, fanboy, or stupid is hardly conductive to a good back and forth debate, it's just being a bit of a dick, which in turn leads to posts like mine.

But im not allowed to have a different opinion without being labelled entitled or outraged?

Tbh, if we're debating the sematintics of my use of the word "outraged" I was more directing that at poster using this face -> :mad:
    I'm not your pal buddy.

I'm not your buddy, guy

• Registered Users Posts: 28,048 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Bet that if MS raised the price of Gold we'd have people in here defending what a great move it was and how MS were going to improve the infrastructure.

Microsoft online service is much stronger than Sony's already, less hacks, less accounts been stolen, less service outages (in fairness both are fairly low now a days), and download times seem quicker on Live.

You can also get Live for as low as €35 because the subs are not region locked.

I'm not your buddy, guy

But im not allowed to have a different opinion without being labelled entitled or outraged?
    So we're not allowed to voice our opinion that this opinion is entitled and outraged?
    Damn.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

dudeeile wrote: »
    Yes, yes, yes and here we have the voice of objective reasoning!

There is competition, play on another console, play on pc or just don't buy the online sub. Got any more helpful insights?

I was paying practically this 14 years ago for Xbox Live.

So in other words the price of Xbox Live has remained the same for 14 years even though the service and its offering has vastly improved in that time frame.

Thanks for making that point for me :)

So, why is PlayStation Plus which is only about 6-7 years old is getting price increases? the answer is "because they can"

Things like this will never change as long as the PlayStation user base keep defending such actions.

So in other words the price of Xbox Live has remained the same for 14 years even though the service and its offering has vastly improved in that time frame.

Thanks for making that point for me

So, why is that PlayStation Plus which is only about 6-7 years old is getting price increases? the answer is "because they can"

Things like this will never change as long as the PlayStation user base keep defending such actions.

Where you not banned for good from here.... Welcome back anyway.

Well you could argue his point was that considering it's the same for the last 14 years, that they have been ripping people off for years... Or you could take your point of view and use this as a way to try to stir up trouble again... Really missed you failsafe great to see you back.

I think I laid out my point pretty clearly to be honest, I'm not interested in an argument I gave an opinion, if you want to argue 1 euro a month extra is crazy expensive be my guest.

It was you who started calling anyone in disagreement with you a fanboy.

Also you saying something is right and anyone disagreeing is either lazy, anti consumer, fanboy, or stupid is hardly conductive to a good back and forth debate, it's just being a bit of a dick, which in turn leads to posts like mine.

I counter pointed your opinion with my own asking a question,if you can show me where i called you,or anyone for that matter,a fanboy id like to see it.

Your the only one resorting childish posting,good man.

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Microsoft online service is much stronger than Sony's already, less hacks, less accounts been stolen, less service outages (in fairness both are fairly low now a days), and download times seem quicker on Live.

You can also get Live for as low as €35 because the subs are not region locked.

I have never had an issue with the PSN. Download speeds are good and I can't remember the last time there was a service outage. I installed BF1 on both PS4 and Xone at different times and it installed on the PS4 far quicker.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,774 ✭✭✭cadete

Thats exactly the point, silence is acceptance. although 1 euro a month is very little sometimes its the principle, as a consumer we all have the right to decide if a service is worth it or not, for me it stopped being worth it when ps4 launched or shortly there after. I had 2 accounts(one account was very early adoption of plus) and both had stacked subs and both have now expired, will I renew them? no not anytime soon. Why? because Im not getting value for money. I honestly hope people who are pissed will vote with their feet.

There's nothing quiet as refreshing as when we get a Failsafe post regarding the private corporation Sony Computer Entertainment Inc.

Always gives me a good break from a thread for a few days, as any sort of healthy debate becomes a $hit slinging match and an exercise in "how far can a troll troll, before being infracted for trolling"

Sure the WhatsApp group will be fairly lit up later when the boyos get home ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭sniper_samurai

I have never had an issue with the PSN. Download speeds are good and I can't remember the last time there was a service outage. I installed BF1 on both PS4 and Xone at different times and it installed on the PS4 far quicker.

To each their own, but that is not my experience. I find I get higher download speeds on wifi with my Xbox One than on a wired connection with my PS4. Anyone remember how slow Arkham Knight was to download at launch? Those sort of slowdowns caused by too many people downloading a file simultaneously don't occur as badly on Xbox either.

Still think that ps+ is worth the €60, especially if they can keep up the run of good monthly games.