Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playstation Plus discussion thread - Part deux

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

That's great news. I owned PES already. Looking forward to Detroit now.

Anyone upset about losing PES just download the PES Lite game. It's free and it'll do the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

That's great news. I owned PES already. Looking forward to Detroit now.

Anyone upset about losing PES just download the PES Lite game. It's free and it'll do the job.

It's the worst part of Pro Evo though in MyClub. If you want to convince anyone to make the jump from Fifa to Pro Evo for 2020 showing them MyClub is a bad idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

It's the worst part of Pro Evo though in MyClub. If you want to convince anyone to make the jump from Fifa to Pro Evo for 2020 showing them MyClub is a bad idea.

Every other part of PES is sub par to FIFA apart from gameplay. Nothing about the PES UI is making anyone jump anywhere.

Detroit is pretty great so far from what I've played. It's really something.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I'm not a big fan of Detroit type games. I can only play them so long until I just want to shoot something (in game obviously)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,296 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I have PES but was hoping I'd have some easy online wins with all the noobs joining.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,819 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I really don't think it was due to fan backlash that they replaced PES with Detroit, otherwise they would have just added Detroit as an extra game rather than remove PES altogether. I'd say it was almost had to be something to do with the agreement between Sony and Konami.

Every other part of PES is sub par to FIFA apart from gameplay. Nothing about the PES UI is making anyone jump anywhere.

Detroit is pretty great so far from what I've played. It's really something.

I download Pes lite as I had been playing FIFA for most of the year and the first impression you create of Pro Evo by giving them a bunch of white ball and silver ball players as their introduction to gameplay with MyClub is not good. It plays like crap as the players are crap.

This year there are so so many of the FIFA fan base pissed off with how gameplay ended up. There is a chance that Konami could have got a few to consider the move at least if they got their hands on some of the actual fun game modes in Pro.

Although I don't think you'll ever see a significant shift of players from FIFA it could have been enough to give Pro a nice little boost in sales this year, help build a bigger community for the game in the long run.

MyClub needs a complete overhaul either way. They completely missed the point with that game mode. It's not fun instead it's a total grind.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Niska

(Tongue firmly in cheek) It was all Liverpool's fault!

Possibly...? No official announcement, but the PES contract for Liverpool ended on Sunday (June 30th), so timing fits. (But probably coincidence)

https://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2019-07-03-as-konami-signs-man-utd-for-pes-2020-its-contract-with-liverpool-is-terminated

• Registered Users Posts: 6,468 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Seriously, that's the best they could come up with?
    These contract change every 2-3 years anyway and would always have been due to end on 30th June.
    Their argument is dumb on the face of it!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,851 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I saw pes announced a new partnership with man United today if that means anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

Horizon Chase Turbo was going to be a purchase for me on the Switch, until I saw it announced for Plus. Can safely say it's a fairly good game with plenty of meat to it. Great in short bursts, though - I couldn't see myself grinding my day away with it - hence why I was going to buy it on Switch.
    Zero-Cool wrote: »
    I saw pes announced a new partnership with man United today if that means anything.

Better detail on the stadium (tunnel, etc.), near-perfect scans of almost all players, unique commentary just for the team - the usual shtick. Also likely to be featured on the front cover in the form of a limited edition boxart (Celtic and Rangers got this treatment, as well) I'm sure there's more to it, but that's all I can think of off the top of my head

• Registered Users Posts: 12,041 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Better detail on the stadium (tunnel, etc.), near-perfect scans of almost all players, unique commentary just for the team - the usual shtick. Also likely to be featured on the front cover in the form of a limited edition boxart (Celtic and Rangers got this treatment, as well) I'm sure there's more to it, but that's all I can think of off the top of my head

They'll also have United legends through the season as well which will be lovely.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

They'll also have United legends through the season as well which will be lovely.

Is that for the online card game mode? I sound like an old fart saying that :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,093 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Jaysus Horizon Chase Turbo is great craic altogether! Something addicting about it. Simple but hard. Some levels (especially the night ones so far) can be seizure inducing, but all in all my eyes adjusted quite quickly. It's retro looking, but smooth at the same time. Cars do handle differently, and there appears to be a crap tonne of them to unlock!

Spent the hour or so playing it getting the Super Trophies for the first 2 areas, and have the first 3 upgrades unlocked. Mad to get back into it again tonight, but I've a loan of a 3D Blu Ray of Days of Future Past, I've heard it's pretty cool in PSVR!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,041 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Konami have come out and said that the PES switch was Sony's decision not theirs and they seem a bit miffed by the change, only finding out on release day themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

After playing a few hours of Detroit I can safely say imo it was a good choice, the story is brilliant and it had me playing until 3 this morning - I can’t remember the last PS plus game I downloaded that did that (maybe Deus ex). PES is just PES at the end of the day, at least this is substantial entertainment.

For you maybe, but there is a lot of people who were looking forward to giving Pro Evo a go. Just look back at this thread.

People who owned the game physically sold off their copies because they were getting it on plus. Sony screwed them over.

Now it looks like they didn't even let the publishers know they were changing.

They should have either offered Detroit as a third game or made no changes once announced.

The only way to make good on this is to add Pro back into the games line up as soon as they can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

For you maybe, but there is a lot of people who were looking forward to giving Pro Evo a go. Just look back at this thread.

People who owned the game physically sold off their copies because they were getting it on plus. Sony screwed them over.

Now it looks like they didn't even let the publishers know they were changing.

They should have either offered Detroit as a third game or made no changes once announced.

The only way to make good on this is to add Pro back into the games line up as soon as they can.

Yeah but as I said that’s only my opinion, I fully understand how pissed off people would be who were hoping for PES but my point is they swapped it for an equal if not better game. Whatever happened that they had to pull it like that means there couldn’t have been 3 games, but it’s all theory until someone releases a statement to say why exactly it happened which doesn’t look likely.

yup me2, don't like these kind of games but this one is working on me

Yeah but as I said that’s only my opinion, I fully understand how pissed off people would be who were hoping for PES but my point is they swapped it for an equal if not better game. Whatever happened that they had to pull it like that means there couldn’t have been 3 games, but it’s all theory until someone releases a statement to say why exactly it happened which doesn’t look likely.

We'll see what their reason was but it needs to be a good one. They've handled this terribly so far.

The fact that Konami didn't even know until the day says something seriously went wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,093 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Possibly due to a marketing deal between Sony and Fifa. According to EuroGamer anyway: https://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2019-07-05-konami-dont-blame-us-for-pulling-pes-2019-from-ps-plus-it-was-sonys-call

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭skerry

gimli2112 wrote: »
    yup me2, don't like these kind of games but this one is working on me

Finished it a while back and found it very good. Played a bit of Heavy Rain last night and they've definitely made a lot of progress in DBH since then.

Had to vigorously shake the joypad up and down to make yer man brush his teeth. Had the curtains open and was afraid of my life the neighbours would walk past and think I was sitting there flaking the tuppence off myself.

Not sure why they felt the need to have the player interact with the teeth brushing, as far as I remember, for the most part, the interactions in DBH served some sort of purpose and didn't seem as pointless.

the irony of Detroit Become Human is I'm sitting in a grubby room cleaning some dirtbag's house in game
    I didn't get into Hard Rain tried it but gre bored quickly not with this,so far

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭skerry

gimli2112 wrote: »
    the irony of Detroit Become Human is I'm sitting in a grubby room cleaning some dirtbag's house in game
    I didn't get into Hard Rain tried it but gre bored quickly not with this,so far

But at least that scene in DBH served to give background to the characters involved. In Heavy Rain I was just brushing some dudes teeth which I presume has no relevance to the plot whatsoever. I find brushing my own teeth boring, let alone some poorly animated computer game character. From my limited exposure to Heavy Rain DBH is light years ahead of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

In Becoming Human and The Battle For Detroit chapter where Connor is in the CyberLife building and has to convert Androids I'm pretty much stuck. I'm pressing and holding L1, then L2 and then tapping Square but no matter how fast I tap nothing happens? Anyone have this problem? How hard do you have to mash the button?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,741 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Brian017 wrote: »
    In Becoming Human and The Battle For Detroit chapter where Connor is in the CyberLife building and has to convert Androids I'm pretty much stuck. I'm pressing and holding L1, then L2 and then tapping Square but no matter how fast I tap nothing happens? Anyone have this problem? How hard do you have to mash the button?

I can't help you myself now, all I can say is try youtube and you should see exactly what to do

the bit
    where you control Kara running from and Conor chasing her is very clever. was very conflicted wanting her to escape battling my need to win

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭van_beano

Gonna ask Santa for a Chloe Android for Christmas :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 29,138 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Any chance of not posting unmarked Detroit spoilers for those not playing right away?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

PS+ discussion only.
    Use game threads to discuss games.