Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Configuring Internal DHCP on Windows Server and staying on the Internet

Options
  • 05-10-2016 9:26pm
    Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭

Long winded explanation followed by long winded question alert.

Hi,
    I'm looking after the network in a primary school, I'm a teacher with a little networking knowledge and I'm in the process of getting someone to take over looking after our network but haven't got anyone yet. In the meantime I'm running out of IP addresses and regularly have to bump phones off the network in order to get teacher's laptops back on (I plan to set reservations for teacher laptops so that this won't continue but I'm still short of addresses).
    I have two choices, one is to get the "school broadband" people to increase the number of ip addresses available to the school (all public IPs), the other choice is to configure DHCP on a private ip range on Windows server and then connect (bridge?) to the public address on the "school broadband" Cisco router to get internet access.
    I think the second solution is better as it gives us more control over the network because, for example, I won't come up against this problem again if we get more devices in the school by having, for example, a BYOD day.
    I can set up DHCP on the server (I have an internal scope set up but deactivated for the time being) but the trouble is I'm not sure of the best way to ensure internet access.
    I have Win server 2012 OS on a PC with one NIC, the aforementioned Cisco box is on the same subnet and acts as our gateway. Now for the long winded question(s):