Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 8,327 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I get more of a 'how do you do, fellow kids' vibe off the ould fella in that Eir ad.

Well, their hardly teens-the mam and dad would be there 'frowning' if they were there.
    Seems more like young adults.

I don't get the Saville about him-he just likes music. Unfortunately, it's Eir-and they're abominable, so I couldn't imagine anyone getting any wi-fi on their network.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭Dickie10

does anyone else find the childrens accents in the new specsavers xmas ad about seeing santa a bit strange? some sound kind of swedish? yiu know that sven goran erriksson swedish english acccent? are they swede kids? some defo look scandinavian

• Registered Users Posts: 29,018 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Thargor wrote: »
    Nescafe are doing some weird crap with Natalie Dormer and George Clooney at the minute aswell but it doesnt make me genuinely angry like the VF ad.
    George don't do Nescafé.

The Vodafone ad, the Lucozade advert, and the Dunnes one with the 'kids'. All terrible. The dunnes advert suffers trying to be Saccharine and sweet, but botches it with some bad acting. (Most of the kids are good tho) and the music being way too over the top..

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭Johnny D. Mudd

Yeah, so if someone can send all those ridiculous perfume ads to the rotten, putrid and festering bowels of hell for all eternity, I would be forever grateful. I'm afraid I've already had quite my fill of obnoxiously smarmy idiots parading around in open shirts with blank simpleton expressions on their faces and smooching the lips of each other while I swallow the urge to smash several objects through the television. Honest to God, despise is not a strong enough word to describe how I feel about them.

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

Your wish will soon come true, after Christmas they soon stop only to be replaced with holiday travel adds :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 29,018 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

George don't do Nescafé.

At least some good comes from the coffee ads

https://www.buzz.ie/celebs/george-clooney-spends-most-of-his-nespresso-money-spying-on-a-dictator-72182

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Rapeseed oil is the tool of the devil. I've seen some places starting to cook with it instead of vegetable oil-and it has a nasty, distinct taste off of it.
    I don't care if it's supposedly healthier, it tastes like crap.

Like if someone offered to cook you a fry-up, then took out the bottle of 1 percent 'I don't know what that emulsiony stuff is' and started cooking.
    It's a crime.

Rapeseed oil is perfectly fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Under His Eye

One word Dreams. That god awful song!

Patww79 wrote: »
    Rapeseed oil is perfectly fine.

I think it's a crime against good food.

You are not getting mixed up with palm oil are you?

my3cents wrote: »
    You are not getting mixed up with palm oil are you?

No, I mean rapeseed oil. There's a few takeaways I know that have started using it, for everything (french fries, chicken, onion rings etc) and it tastes horrible.
    It's like the oil soaks into those things. Horrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭trashcan

I bet you find Scooby Doo creepy.

It wouldn't be if it wasn't for those pesky kids !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

There an ad for olive oil on at moment can't remember the brand but it has a caption that says 1867 then shows a bunch of extras dressed in 1930s type clothes like something from peaky blinders.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

The Lucozade ad with David and Goliath. I just don't it. The hair moving when he takes a drink, the Asian fella. Can anyone explain it?

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    The Lucozade ad with David and Goliath. I just don't it. The hair moving when he takes a drink, the Asian fella. Can anyone explain it?

I still want to know how many sad bastards complained about the mocking part that they had to change it when it first came out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I still want to know how many sad bastards complained about the mocking part that they had to change it when it first came out.

What did they change in the ad?

BTW. Lucozade is horrible, can feel your teeth melting when drinking it.

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    What did they change in the ad?

BTW. Lucozade is horrible, can feel your teeth melting when drinking it.

The bit where the Asian lad says 'what about a sling?' and there's a really overacted 'a sling?' bit. That used to be him saying 'what about a sling?' back to the Asian lad in a mocking voice.

_

• Registered Users Posts: 24,387 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Two ads really pissing me off right now - probably both already mentioned

Samsung - Always on my mind

Jesus these companies need to just f**k off with this mawkish overreach into family life

The TUI mother and daughter one - gah

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

lawred2 wrote: »
    Two ads really pissing me off right now - probably both already mentioned

Samsung - Always on my mind

Jesus these companies to just f**k off with this mawkish overreach into family life

The TUI mother and daughter one - gah

I don’t get that Samsung one. More than half of the ad is all about daughter or whatever getting the phone and using it in Asia or wherever she is, grand and all but then it changes to random man in the Antarctic somewhere. No connection at all between them. Unless there’s a longer version about. It’s badly edited or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,132 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Doesn't the small print say you need a WiFi or data signal? Where the blank is that father getting a data signal at the blooming South Pole???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

The bit where the Asian lad says 'what about a sling?' and there's a really overacted 'a sling?' bit. That used to be him saying 'what about a sling?' back to the Asian lad in a mocking voice.

Why was it changed? Were there complaints about it being racist re the Asian guy?

There wasn't any racism in it. Only thing I can think of is the mocking tone (normal mimicking rather than anything Asian) set off a few complaints.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,784 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Audi ad with someone doing a truly horrible version of Fleetwood Mac's "Don't Stop".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Pa8301

The Simon ad. Saw it on rte. All of a sudden yer man just starts laughing maniacally for what appears to be no reason. Wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Pa8301 wrote: »
    The Simon ad. Saw it on rte. All of a sudden yer man just starts laughing maniacally for what appears to be no reason. Wtf?

Roof over me head? homeless me ****ing bollix lolroflcopter yis gullible *****

• Registered Users Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

elvis83 wrote: »
    Just seen this again. Isn't the old chap landing to the teenagers party a little....creepy? It's not even a public disco but a private party.

Out ya get saville...

I fcuking fcuking fcuking hate that add. The music makes me want to hit things! :p
    Obviously aimed at youth who don't remember how they rode the sh out of us before broadband came along. Even without the history I wouldn't touch them because of their ads.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Demonique

At least the Bothar ad with the goat going 'are we there yet, are we there yet?' hasnt seemed to have been on this year, feck that poxy goat I hope he gets eaten when he arrives at his new home

The use of the word "Bingo" as a verb

Its a f**kibg noun you thick ****!