Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭valoren

That Center Parcs ad.

"Brillianter"

Fcuk off.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,497 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

For anyone who really likes to revel in these horrors, I reckon this clip has given me more laughs per second than anything else in my life

• Registered Users Posts: 5,110 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

For anyone who really likes to revel in these horrors, I reckon this clip has given me more laughs per second than anything else in my life

Lol, I nearly pissed myself laughing at that!

Well I suppose the 'Just a snog' bit gives the ad a saucy vibe so if you're not listening too closely you might assume...

I have never assumed someone would have their Granny's knickers! Not even her current knickers, ones that USED to be hers!

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭Apt8

That ad where the house gets burgled and it turns out the daughter was wearing his Dad's old watch the whole time. In real life he'd be raging that she took it out in the first place, more likely she would lose it while out on the sesh than for it to be stolen.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,075 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Apt8 wrote: »
    That ad where the house gets burgled and it turns out the daughter was wearing his Dad's old watch the whole time. In real life he'd be raging that she took it out in the first place, more likely she would lose it while out on the sesh than for it to be stolen.

Hate that fcukin ad, your ones monotone does my head in!!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

CoBo55 wrote: »
    Hate that fcukin ad, your ones monotone does my head in!!

Because it looks Best
    We choose Test

And location
    Sounds nothing like patience

Bereft
    Theft
    Secure
    Couture

Poetry always rhymes!!!!
    Even when you have too many words in the one line!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,497 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I have never assumed someone would have their Granny's knickers! Not even her current knickers, ones that USED to be hers!

No but if you were only half-listening and heard "You knows that 'knickers' you left at my place" at the start and the "Just a snog" bit at the end it'd kind of fit together...

• Registered Users Posts: 7 cabtaker

The three network " unlimited " advert is difficult to avoid .
    I feel it's as close to hypnosis as isegslly possible.
    The unpleasant voice over is disgusting .
    Get it off

• Registered Users Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Tim76

Trivago ads in general that woman is a smug fcuk

*hot as fcuk

• Registered Users Posts: 12,387 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Tim76 wrote: »
    *hot as fcuk

Even with the Dave Hill fringe? I thought they'd been declared illegal with the advent of punk. If your gonna have horrible hair it should at least be a deliberate, subversive act anf not the result of following some dubious fashion trend.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Even with the Dave Hill fringe? I thought they'd been declared illegal with the advent of punk. If your gonna have horrible hair it should at least be a deliberate, subversive act anf not the result of following some dubious fashion trend.

I stand by my statement.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

"listen man..would you mind putting on your seat belt"...........😠😠😠😠😠

...now let's run through a meadow holding hands......:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭Apt8

What really gets me about that ad is that the guy in the back is clearly over 17, it's his own responsibility to have the belt on, not the driver.

Such a stupid waste of money running an ad to get drivers to do something they are not legally responsible for.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,127 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Maybe not legally, but an unrestrained passenger still has the capacity to kill the driver and other passengers in a collision.
    I would personally have scripted it so that the driver asks everyone if they're belt up and the others turn on the one who isn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,075 ✭✭✭CoBo55

flazio wrote: »
    Maybe not legally, but an unrestrained passenger still has the capacity to kill the driver and other passengers in a collision.
    I would personally have scripted it so that the driver asks everyone if they're belt up and the others turn on the one who isn't.

The old ad with everything flying around in the car was much better.

'The guy without the seat belt did the damage'

It sure was much more effective. I still remember that phrase.

The ad is actually grand, but your man's face when he asks the question, just want to punch it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Who talks like that...???....."Anto..put yer fcuking belt on ye knob....."

• Registered Users Posts: 8,327 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

That ad always made me laugh. Friends of mine used to make jokes about it, or how you could make it into a parody so easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Trivago ads in general that woman is a smug fcuk

Ah here, leave Trivago girl alone, she`s a babe

Drifter50 wrote: »
    Ah here, leave Trivago girl alone, she`s a babe

She looks like Dave Hill circa 1974. The fringe has gotta grow or go. It's a crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,110 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

'The guy without the seat belt did the damage'

It sure was much more effective. I still remember that phrase.

Those kind of safety ads have been toned down considerably in recent years. You no longer see pifs with people flying through windscreens in slow motion.

Why is that, do you know.?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,327 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Why is that, do you know.?

There was some discussion about this, in recent times.

https://patch.com/new-jersey/hoboken/are-violent-road-safety-ads-more-effective-or-less-effective_44fd924a

Some folks were arguing that the violent adverts were more 'torture porn' and weren't focusing as much on the impact (pun unintended) and the after effects of an accident. More recently there's been a greater push to show the emotional affect or repercussions of such an accident.

I dunno if I agree with that, or not. I know some of the Irish ones were kind of daft, or hilarious at times. And there is the added 'desensitization' that can come with seeing the same violent advert, over and over again.

That said-the 'ask them to put a seatbelt on' advert by RSA is bloody awful. It focuses on the whole 'embarassment' of having to ask someone to put on their seatbelt. It doesn't focus on the repurcussions of not wearing a seatbelt.
    The main one being the annoying 'seat belt alarm' going off constantly if you don't put it on. (Joking, obviously).

In all honesty though, what's the point of having these ads if you've got seat belt alarms? The numbers of cars without them must be pretty low on the roads these days.

There's not a bellend in the world that won't put on his seat belt with one of those alarms annoying everybody else in the car.

Tim76 wrote: »
    In all honesty though, what's the point of having these ads if you've got seat belt alarms? The numbers of cars without them must be pretty low on the roads these days.

There's not a bellend in the world that won't put on his seat belt with one of those alarms annoying everybody else in the car.

Clearly the ad has cast such bellends!

I kind of like the ad, there is an amount of effort put into the idea and production. The sitcom setting to the judges.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭stabeek

Electric Ireland's latest.

Mainly because of the undoubted huge cost. Surely it's one of the most expensive ads ever produced. Chris Hadfield? Christ how much was he to engage? Only Tom Hanks would have cost more.

Secondly the "argument": our tiny island Ireland having so much energy, i.e we "punch above our weight" and these one-off anecdotal shots of these honest industrious people going about their daily routines. All that make us special? From the space station he can see Birmingham as well, Liverpool, a ton of other places where I'd venture the daily routine is just as "energetic".

But also, there's some idea that we're also energy efficient in someway. There's a fudged up sentiment in this ad ... Chris views us from his space station as if we're some kind of special wonder, but surely we're as guilty as every other western country in emtting greenhouse gases?

The advert is just dripping in feelgood factor borne of which credit? Are we frigging Sweden or Finland with some really great initiatives in place to use energy more efficiently? Not that I can think of.

All in all, I think there's been a mistake. Chris Hadfield got cajoled (though, let's face it, the money helped) that it was Iceland he would be reviewing from on high. When he saw the result, it was too late, he had spent all his fees on a a deluxe David Bowie complete works box set.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

stabeek wrote: »
    Electric Ireland's latest.

Mainly because of the undoubted huge cost. Surely it's one of the most expensive ads ever produced. Chris Hadfield? Christ how much was he to engage? Only Tom Hanks would have cost more.

Secondly the "argument": our tiny island Ireland having so much energy, i.e we "punch above our weight" and these one-off anecdotal shots of these honest industrious people going about their daily routines. All that make us special? From the space station he can see Birmingham as well, Liverpool, a ton of other places where I'd venture the daily routine is just as "energetic".

But also, there's some idea that we're also energy efficient in someway. There's a fudged up sentiment in this ad ... Chris views us from his space station as if we're some kind of special wonder, but surely we're as guilty as every other western country in emtting greenhouse gases?

The advert is just dripping in feelgood factor borne of which credit? Are we frigging Sweden or Finland with some really great initiatives in place to use energy more efficiently? Not that I can think of.

All in all, I think there's been a mistake. Chris Hadfield got cajoled (though, let's face it, the money helped) that it was Iceland he would be reviewing from on high. When he saw the result, it was too late, he had spent all his fees on a a deluxe David Bowie complete works box set.

First thing I thought of was the cost, and I work in Marketing. The ad was made by Rothco who I can tell you are by far and away the most expensive Ad Agency in Ireland (whatever about being the best; which they're not shy about proclaiming). I shudder to think of the cost of this campaign before they even spend a cent on buying media.

It sits uncomfortably with me as a consumer that a utility company would spend so much money on an ad campaign when that money could arguably be better used to reduce prices to the end consumer.