Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Foster's ad with the twat as the lifeguard telling someone he held his breath for nine minutes even more annoying than the one where he's dressed as a judge saying random passers by are "guilty". Makes me glad I don't drink the putrid stuff

"That's me, I'm the sausage" :pac:

Would turn me off watching comedy on Channel4.

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭Auld Jim Halpin

Arrrgggghhhh! Another pointless product that they try to convince us we need. Personally I find clothes that lack any smell to be clean as opposed to clothes that are imbued with sweet smelling chemicals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Arrrgggghhhh! Another pointless product that they try to convince us we need. Personally I find clothes that lack any smell to be clean as opposed to clothes that are imbued with sweet smelling chemicals.

That woman in the ad confuses me, mainly because I can't gauge how old she is. Can't tell whether she's 38 or 78, sometimes she looks older and sometimes she looks younger. She's probably in her 50s but still...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭caviardreams

"Each of them. God love them. Each of them needed braces"

That AIB ad :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭fondue

That drives me crazy too!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭fondue

Don't know if it's been mentioned already but the ad for some sort of low calorie biscuit with a cover of total eclipse of the heart as the song. Drives me crazy.

https://youtu.be/RTHtAtxaLJA

• Registered Users Posts: 24,395 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

ziggy wrote: »
    You know you've made it when the Gards are naming animals after you :pac::D[/quote]

Guards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

And it's said in a tone suitable for saying 'each of them needed life saving surgery'... Stupid, stupid ad.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,942 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

The bus shelter and other print media ads make them look worn out and broken by their AIB mortgage, it would put you off getting one, the husband in particular looks like he has the 100 yard stare after 35 years dealing AIB.

Those 3 kids must be mortified seeing bits of home movies and references to them needing braces at every single ad break.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

duridian wrote: »
    That woman in the ad confuses me, mainly because I can't gauge how old she is. Can't tell whether she's 38 or 78, sometimes she looks older and sometimes she looks younger. She's probably in her 50s but still...

She's 55

I can't stand the Vodafone "Team of Us" ones with the Irish rugby team. That music would work well for an ad with the West Indies cricket team but with our lot it's just bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Yes Sir, I Can Boogie - Cadbury

Please stop this.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭donegal_man

M&M's ad featuring the Red M&M singing "I Would Do Anything For Love" while being eaten alive by three women. Revolting on so many levels

• Registered Users Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

The new advert for Woodies is a sad indictment of home buyer's mentality during the boom, a guy painting a garden shed whilst the voiceover announces without a hint of embarrassment that they spend 3 quarters of their salary on their mortgage... 3 quarters??? Absolute insanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

The new advert for Woodies is a sad indictment of home buyer's mentality during the boom, a guy painting a garden shed whilst the voiceover announces without a hint of embarrassment that they spend 3 quarters of their salary on their mortgage... 3 quarters??? Absolute insanity.

The only reason i would use woodies is to buy a spade and plant it in that fellas head

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Prinks

Who uses the phone or tablet in the bath or near anything wet, I don't trust it even if they're "waterproof". I'm talking about the vodafone ad of course, why does he lock the bathroom has she not seen his mickey yet or what.

Wouldn't you think he was watching a porno - especially with all the bubbles. The whole ad series is creepy AF, and whatever point there was with the pig is long gone. Are we meant to think he prefers the pig to the girl who's way too young for him? :rolleyes:

That ad that looks like a family looking into a toilet bowl, but it turns out to be an ad for (I think) KFC. Ad agency should be sacked, cos you automatically think 'a bucket of ****e'.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Those Heineken adds about yer man not being Antonio Banderas, really really annoy me for some reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

That ad for the AIB club championships.
    Now I do like Gaelic games,but that feckin fella bellowing in the dressing room ".... I WANT TO GO TO CROKE PARK...." etc.etc......makes me wanna punch him.It is annoying in so many ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

That ad for the AIB club championships.
    Now I do like Gaelic games,but that feckin fella bellowing in the dressing room ".... I WANT TO GO TO CROKE PARK...." etc.etc......makes me wanna punch him.It is annoying in so many ways.

To make you feel better that guy is James Hickey from Mount Leinster Rangers, and he got a serious knee injury in a challenge game before that final & he didn't get to play in the final.
    That was back in 2013 too, mad & kinda stupid that they are still using that same add 4 years on.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i don't know i find them amusing

it portrays a young chancer trying to BS his way through life...esp the one where's he's at his girlfriends house at the dinner table and the girlfriend's father says "i'm glad my daughter has found someone dependable"..and the young chancer gives a big nervous gulp as he drinks :D

Stevecw wrote: »
    To make you feel better that guy is James Hickey from Mount Leinster Rangers, and he got a serious knee injury in a challenge game before that final & he didn't get to play in the final.
    That was back in 2013 too, mad & kinda stupid that they are still using that same add 4 years on.

that wouldn't make me feel better... that's awful

• Registered Users Posts: 10,694 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Those Heineken adds about yer man not being Antonio Banderas, really really annoy me for some reason.
    I don't mind that ad, actually. The resigned look your man (Benicio Del Toro, isn't it?) gives the camera when he's mistaken for Antonio Banderas is brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

It's antonio banderas from the muuuuuvies.

One of the few ads I find funny

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,564 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

The Paddy Power one with some gimp wrecking 'Walking on Sunshine' fills me with murderous rage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

I know the latest Vodafone pig advert has been mentioned a lot already, but just wanna say that I find it very funny the really deadpan read-out way she says "Are you alright you've been in there ages"

Oral B, every time. These women sound practically mentally retarded. "I didn't even know they made a toothpaste!"

At least they have stopped saying "My teeth feel stronger an healthier!" - I imagine because of complaints like my own... this isn't how teeth work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

I know the latest Vodafone pig advert has been mentioned a lot already, but just wanna say that I find it very funny the really deadpan read-out way she says "Are you alright you've been in there ages"

I saw it as Corkonian passive aggression.