Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Sam Hain wrote: »
    Cute!!!!!! With the curly freckled famine era head on her.

She comes across as a dumb ass.

Can't remember what she was thinking during her run...something about eating too much and then "I hope I've saved enough". Maybe if you researched the market you'd know you big thick.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,647 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

BROADBAND OPTIMISED

just fcuk off

• Registered Users Posts: 2,976 ✭✭✭optogirl

Pussyhands wrote: »
    She comes across as a dumb ass.

Can't remember what she was thinking during her run...something about eating too much and then "I hope I've saved enough". Maybe if you researched the market you'd know you big thick.

As someone trying to buy a house at the moment my telly is in severe danger every time this ad comes on.

What's the general consensus about the littlewoods camogie ads????? I'm still undecided...... part of me says " ah yeah, fair enough"...... part of me says " ah jayjus is this a rip off of the stupid patronising aldi camogie ad"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,994 ✭✭✭CoBo55

What's the general consensus about the littlewoods camogie ads????? I'm still undecided...... part of me says " ah yeah, fair enough"...... part of me says " ah jayjus is this a rip off of the stupid patronising aldi camogie ad"

I thought it was Lidl...

CoBo55 wrote: »
    I thought it was Lidl...

Caught me out 1st time I saw it.........its NOT as condescending as the ALDI ads

• Registered Users Posts: 6,252 ✭✭✭Archeron

The new kfc ad is horrible for a whole bushel of reasons. Starting off with two blokes licking their fingers, gross, moving onto a woman face down in pain followed by the tattooed inside of someones lip.
    That had to been commissioned by burger king.

Kfc, come for the gallons of spit and stay for the corporate tattoo you will almost certainly regret.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Littlewoods
    Lidl
    Allianz

GAA ads are all the same add, the Allianz ad being by far the worst of the 3.

Allianz says "Fear V Courage and it starts as a level playing field "
    Lidl says "We played anyway... Until we level the playing field"
    Littlewoods "Style meets Substance ... more than sacrifice ... it substance here to stay"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,139 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

That fcúking Ariel pods ad. That one makes me angry!

Especially the muppet with the long black hair:mad::mad:

That ad for Eirgrid... Message in a bawwdull... Why the fcuk are they advertising anyway?? It's not like there's any other power cable stringers in the market, terrible terrible ad.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,136 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The Sightsavers advert, the child is being abused by being openly exposed to flies by the person holding him without making any attempt to protect him. They should be locked up and have the child seized from them, it's televised torture.

Pretty sure he's ok, probably all staged for the camera.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Pretty sure he's ok, probably all staged for the camera.

Thats a bit harsh, he is hardly in the African version of Billy Barry

• Registered Users Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

That “Just Because” Diet Coke ad is absolutely scrapings of the barrel.. AWFUL

• Registered Users Posts: 6,139 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

That ad for Eirgrid... Message in a bawwdull... Why the fcuk are they advertising anyway?? It's not like there's any other power cable stringers in the market, terrible terrible ad.

That one annoys the bóll0cks out of me too. That young one fúckin butchering Message in a Bottle. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

As if it’s not bad enough when she sings, the tone-dead yokes on the beach repeating “message is a bawwdul” after her is painful

That littlewoods ladies camogie ad is cringe alright...

"we forge out own path"

Yeah sure ye do, can't stop whinging about not getting things the men get

"we follow in the footpath of trailblazers and legends" and then they show an old woman. Guaranteed no one has a clue who she is.

"we turn our style into an artform" as she plays a backwards hand pass in training as if it's some genius skill we've just seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭HBC08

Especially the muppet with the long black hair:mad::mad:

The guy with the beard is dead in real life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Purple is a Fruit

As if it’s not bad enough when she sings, the tone-dead yokes on the beach repeating “message is a bawwdul” after her is painful
    That trend now of great songs being destroyed by that style of breathy, slowed down, "deep and meaningful" with that awful accent... an abomination.

NufcNavan wrote: »
    3 Ad with the farmer and his son: I hate these recent spate of ads during covid trying to make you have "the feels". What we get is a hammed up and over-acted ad. Vodafone as well are awful for these.
    Terrible ad! Absolutely - over acting.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

I’d say the Magnum people were raging when Heineken piped them to the post with their ad with Tainted Love. What are the odds of two ads both using the same song from nearly 40 years ago. It’s a bit overkill. Great tune though.

In a similar vein, did anyone notice the current National Lottery ad when it first came out it had the song Make Someone Happy, which is Boots’ Christmas ad song, and it felt kinda wrong. The same ad now has Pocketful of Rainbows. I wonder did someone have a word?

HBC08 wrote: »
    The guy with the beard is dead in real life.

Jesz, just looked that up.......Mike ' beard guy' Taylor died of natural causes at end of 2018

Hate all these woke companies.

Colgate ad is one of them. "when I say you can't be a chef with down syndrome....I smile"
    Ah, while I can't stand a lot of "woke" stuff, their heart seems to be in the right place with that ad. It's addressing a worthy cause - recognising that folk with special needs deserve recognition for what they can do rather than can't. It's not some hollow virtue signalling endeavour - it's got substance to it. There's a large group of people who are under estimated and I find it refreshing that their abilities are recognised. That's a genuinely progressive stance. Yeah I know it's marketing and PR but large companies have a corporate social responsibilities budget and this one is well invested.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,647 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Elmo wrote: »
    Littlewoods
    Lidl
    Allianz

GAA ads are all the same add, the Allianz ad being by far the worst of the 3.

Allianz says "Fear V Courage and it starts as a level playing field "
    Lidl says "We played anyway... Until we level the playing field"
    Littlewoods "Style meets Substance ... more than sacrifice ... it substance here to stay"

A very good summation of current GAA ads.

I think they are only playing the national League at the moment so when the All Ireland comes around it will get heavier with much more talk of dedication', 'devotion;, etc. It would be much better if they just paid the players rather than having to watch these crap ads every summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,253 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

That littlewoods ladies camogie ad is cringe alright...

"we forge out own path"

Yeah sure ye do, can't stop whinging about not getting things the men get

"we follow in the footpath of trailblazers and legends" and then they show an old woman. Guaranteed no one has a clue who she is.

"we turn our style into an artform" as she plays a backwards hand pass in training as if it's some genius skill we've just seen.

I wondering if 'forging our own path' includes fecking over a few clubs, who thought they had an All Ireland club championship to look forward to, only for the camogie association to not go ahead with them at the last minute.

They couldn't organise a piss-up in a brewery.

Ah, while I can't stand a lot of "woke" stuff, their heart seems to be in the right place with that ad. It's addressing a worthy cause - recognising that folk with special needs deserve recognition for what they can do rather than can't. It's not some hollow virtue signalling endeavour - it's got substance to it. There's a large group of people who are under estimated and I find it refreshing that their abilities are recognised. That's a genuinely progressive stance. Yeah I know it's marketing and PR but large companies have a corporate social responsibilities budget and this one is well invested.

AHH will ya stop it's pr bull****, corporate social responsibilities budget my arse. I wonder how many Downs syndrome people are working in any of their factories anywhere? Bugger all I'd imagine.

They do indeed have a corporate social responsibility budget though.

Whether there are folk with DS working in their factories, I don't know.

It's a lot less hollow than some endeavours, like putting a rainbow or a black circle on stuff they're selling.

That prettylittlething advert looks like it's aimed at onlyfans sex workers...

I'd hate if I had a daughter who bought one of those outfits...looks like they're ready to walk the streets. The girls have no chest either and show the nips.

Women on about respect etc yet you have young lads growing up seeing ads like this with women looking like an Amsterdam shop window.

That prettylittlething advert looks like it's aimed at onlyfans sex workers...

I'd hate if I had a daughter who bought one of those outfits...looks like they're ready to walk the streets. The girls have no chest either and show the nips.

Women on about respect etc yet you have young lads growing up seeing ads like this with women looking like an Amsterdam shop window.
    More conservative feminists like me are uniting in a backlash against that shoite. It's not "empowering". Liberal feminism is utter tripe. They are literally endorsing objectification of themselves.

(Cue liberal feminist and white knight brocialist meltdowns :D).

They do indeed have a corporate social responsibility budget though.

Whether there are folk with DS working in their factories, I don't know.

It's a lot less hollow than some endeavours, like putting a rainbow or a black circle on stuff they're selling.

Must be tax deductible.. of course it's hollow it's an ad end of story.