Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭crooked cockney villain

There's a shorter, edited version of this ad for Zalondo currently on.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tklMEpmR1G4

I haven't the faintest idea WTF any of this hodge podge of random fat yokes is meant to be about.

Zalondo amazes me, its stuff is staggeringly more expensive than the high street (like all online retailers, really)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,136 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Thats a bit harsh, he is hardly in the African version of Billy Barry

I might have believed it if I believed the "honest" folks running our charities....

• Registered Users Posts: 17,057 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

The Fairy ads with that talentless reality model. I don't care about you, your talentless reality husband or your kid. Mission unaccomplished. I won't be buying any of your products Fairy.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,994 ✭✭✭CoBo55

sligeach wrote: »
    The Fairy ads with that talentless reality model. I don't care about you, your talentless reality husband or your kid. Mission unaccomplished. I won't be buying any of your products Fairy.

The new babby doesn't even have a name in this Ad, Theodore got mentioned in the last one.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭HBC08

There's a shorter, edited version of this ad for Zalondo currently on.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tklMEpmR1G4

I haven't the faintest idea WTF any of this hodge podge of random fat yokes is meant to be about.

Zalondo amazes me, its stuff is staggeringly more expensive than the high street (like all online retailers, really)

Haha! I spotted Mel B from Boselecta in there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Can anyone explain what is going on in the Heinekan ad? Why does the woman slam the door and have the taxi drive off on her boyfriend? And the 2 lads on the couch?

It's implied that they're gay at the start of the ad as one has his arms on the back of the couch behind the red haired lad, but they don't go any further than just mates watching a tense match to avoid being too gay so as to avoid offending anyone watching.

The woman and her English boyfriend are also very annoying. Who would drive off in a taxi and leave her other half behind?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

pauliebdub wrote: »
    It's implied that they're gay at the start of the ad as one has his arms on the back of the couch behind the red haired lad, but they don't go any further than just mates watching a tense match to avoid being too gay so as to avoid offending anyone watching.

The woman and her English boyfriend are also very annoying. Who would drive off in a taxi and leave her other half behind?

The ad also ends with "they're the perfect match...until the match"

So wtf were they watching in the pub???

There's a number of ads on that drive me to mute when any ads come on.

Eirgrid, butchering of Message in a Bottle by The Police.
    "Ma, can I have this?". It seems to be on every ad break. The last time it came on my dad said "Just let the wee hoor starve".
    The TK Maxx add with the auld wan and her Pinapple Sunset nail polish.

The " hugely talented" Lucy Kennedy is pushing her " fantastic" new show......' I got a puppy'...... looks really bad.....all these animal shows have been done to death

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭crooked cockney villain

There's a number of ads on that drive me to mute when any ads come on.

Eirgrid, butchering of Message in a Bottle by The Police.

There seems to be a trend for awful, acapella/ minimalist piano covers by a female vocalist lately.

500 Miles by the Proclaimers, on the Barrys Tea ad being one.

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭jpm4

There seems to be a trend for awful, acapella/ minimalist piano covers by a female vocalist lately.

500 Miles by the Proclaimers, on the Barrys Tea ad being one.

Yep and there was a similar version of 500 miles used in a Viagra ad recently too.

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭jpm4

That ****ing virgin broadband ad, it's as if they deliberately made everything about it annoying as possible:

The mopey, depressing look on the woman's face.
    The awkward jigging along to the Dephece Mode song
    Irritating future scenarios
    It never seems to end
    Constantly asking "what about the future?" Nobody wants to think about the ****ing future for Christ's sake! The future means more bills followed by death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭NoLuckLarry

jpm4 wrote: »
    Yep and there was a similar version of 500 miles used in a Viagra ad recently too.

How you gonna walk 500 miles after popping Viagra? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭lapua20grain

Like a tripod

• Registered Users Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭cms88

The ones about cutting snacks. If there ever was an ad for not having kids that's it!

War of the worlds...

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭Apt8

That Diet Coke ad sounds like a parody, the fact that one person wrote the song, and another person approved it for the ad is astounding.

Apt8 wrote: »
    That Diet Coke ad sounds like a parody, the fact that one person wrote the song, and another person approved it for the ad is astounding.

It's retro I assume. That jingle was used to advertise Diet Coke ads in the 80s and 90s.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

It's retro I assume. That jingle was used to advertise Diet Coke ads in the 80s and 90s.
    It’s retro?

It’s crap...

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

ckeego wrote: »
    It’s retro?

It’s crap...

which diet coke ad?

Drink what your mama gave you?

Where a twenty year old grew up in the 1980s and 1990s :D

This is an diet coke ad from the late 80s early 1990s

• Registered Users Posts: 19,647 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

jpm4 wrote: »
    That ****ing virgin broadband ad, it's as if they deliberately made everything about it annoying as possible:

The mopey, depressing look on the woman's face.
    The awkward jigging along to the Dephece Mode song
    Irritating future scenarios
    It never seems to end
    Constantly asking "what about the future?" Nobody wants to think about the ****ing future for Christ's sake! The future means more bills followed by death.

Its awful crap and easily the ad I most despise at the moment. And as you say it seems to go on for ages while we get three different scenarios with BROADBAND OPTIMISED. Its cheap, tacky and a right pain in the hoop.

The " hugely talented" Lucy Kennedy is pushing her " fantastic" new show......' I got a puppy'...... looks really bad.....all these animal shows have been done to death

Theres a bit in the ad, which yes is on every 5 feckin minutes, where a dog barks, which sets my dog off barking every feckin time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

If any words in an ad would turn me off watching a tv show those words are Lucy Kennedy.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,925 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

If any words in an ad would turn me off watching a tv show those words are Lucy Kennedy.

Amen to that.

Elmo wrote: »
    which diet coke ad?

Drink what your mama gave you?

Where a twenty year old grew up in the 1980s and 1990s :D

This is an diet coke ad from the late 80s early 1990s

It’s neither of those ones!!

This crud here... https://youtu.be/ReQTn8pMwko

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Whestsidestory

I know it's a radio ad but wtf is the story with the guys accent for the Hyundai tousan ad

I've never seen that one before, guess what? I don't want to see it again.

CoBo55 wrote: »
    I've never seen that one before, guess what? I don't want to see it again.
    It’s bad, isn’t it?! To imagine what the marketing budget for Coca Cola is and they come up with that...

Yep from 1984....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KafNjMGFZM

..... Just when certain stars are now in prison .... Diet Not So Woke

(Ah that joke is not working but you get what I am saying).

Elmo wrote: »
    Yep from 1984....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KafNjMGFZM

..... Just when certain stars are now in prison .... Diet Not So Woke

(Ah that joke is not working but you get what I am saying).

no you have me in a loop here Elton with is version

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PP30ph6jcHE

Paula Abdul

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B9_Yjt9XYxo

Those are expensive looking ads.