Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

storker wrote: »
    The one that makes my teeth itch at the moment is for car insurance, Allianz or Axa I think. It actually says "...every day <Insurance Co> helps Irish families to live their lives to the full..."

In fact it's something along the lines of "Irish families who dare to live their lives to the full"... more condescending pap about how great we are doing life stuff despite having to pay for insurance and bailing out the banks "brave gets up for work before the milkman", etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭deisemum

Does nobody shop in Lidl on their own anymore

The Lidl adverts are portraying the males as controlling twats as if the females cannot be trusted to shop on their own or they'd waste money. The little runt from Cork that's controlling his sister is more irritating than a bad dose of thrush.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

The ad for Kellogg's corn flakes, everyone saying how they like theirs. Bish bash bosh! Corn flakes are rank and so is the ad :D

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭RicketyCricket

That new ad for Spar with Robbie Keanes missus in it. Feeds her family with one measly salad box it seems.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,151 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Those insurance ads with James Cordon. Nobody calls you the parking master mate, nor will we call you Mr Green light.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Does nobody shop in Lidl on their own anymore
    You couldn't be letting us wimmin go out alone, spending money!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,568 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I came on to give out about those Lidl ads but I see I'm not alone in despising them!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,568 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Another one is the 3 advert with the skinny little fella gasping for air or something like that.

I gasp for air dealing with 3 as well but that's from poor customer service!

• Registered Users Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

I came on to give out about those Lidl ads but I see I'm not alone in despising them!

The way yer man says "maaaash"....ugh boils my blood! And he says it a few times!!! Why?!? Is it supposed to be funny?!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

flazio wrote:
    Those insurance ads with James Cordon. Nobody calls you the parking master mate, nor will we call you Mr Green light.

That bark of his that he does particularly grates me.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,943 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Another one is the 3 advert with the skinny little fella gasping for air or something like that.

I gasp for air dealing with 3 as well but that's from poor customer service!

It'd make more sense if O2 were still around. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,958 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

It'd make more sense if O2 were still around. :pac:

I took that as a dig at Eir (and Meteor) and their limited data plans, compared to 3's which is unlimited (it's not really).

• Registered Users Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Dad I want to make a space ship out of the fairy bottle but it's taking ages. I know where I'd put that bottle :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

The ad with the rapping baby. Not sure what it's advertising but it's just dreadful.

Also the Lidl ad with the hipster vegan family. Give me strength.

At least they've switched from their other ad... about a year or two a go they had this ad where they (as usual) made a male spouse out to be pretty thick, with him taking about 24 hours to comprehend how cheaper is better.

If you're talking about the cat and the budgie one, I think it took him 24 hours to figure out why the animals were stalking him - not that cheaper is better.

That ad was problematic since I still had some budgies at the time and they assumed there was another budgie inside the TV and they had to shout to get it out of there.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

That thing before the RTE weather forecast with those d!ckheads on holiday celebrating the fact that it's raining back home. Whole thing makes no sense.

Ad for some chocolate bar with the Asian bride gloating and driving off from her wedding. Another example of the "kick men in the nuts" school of advertising.

• Registered Users Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

Ad for some chocolate bar with the Asian bride gloating and driving off from her wedding. Another example of the "kick men in the nuts" school of advertising.

Yes!!!! That is unreal....something along the lines of "he might have a big house and a fancy car but that doesn't mean he gets you...."

Eh grand like but maybe think about that before the actual wedding day??! And what it has to do with eating chocolate I'll never know....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Bizarre ad. I presume they're aiming for some kind of female empowerment angle but it would take a very special kind of idiot who was so unsure about marrying someone it would take literally making it to the altar till the penny drops. Does that even happen in real life? It's kind of a tired movie/tv cliche at this stage. Plus the guests would be fecking delighted to find that the money they'd spent on presents, outfits, accommodation etc were all for nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

I took to seeing how many consecutive ad's which had some sort of random "women are deadly" angle there about a week ago. It went to 5....a one time only experiment.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Isn't that an ad for chewing gum?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

You're right.

My mistake, I barely noticed what it was actually advertising which is often the case with a lot of the adverts discussed. I find the worst the advert the less likely I'll remember what it was for.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

What the actual f?ck is this?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,378 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

All Im getting is died from a coronary...erm where are those weights :pac:

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

darkdubh wrote: »
    Bizarre ad. I presume they're aiming for some kind of female empowerment angle but it would take a very special kind of idiot who was so unsure about marrying someone it would take literally making it to the altar till the penny drops. Does that even happen in real life? It's kind of a tired movie/tv cliche at this stage. Plus the guests would be fecking delighted to find that the money they'd spent on presents, outfits, accommodation etc were all for nothing.

She's a newly independent and empowered female with a packet of chewing gum and no friends. Her fiances female relatives will probably look to give her a minty fresh hiding too :D

His Dad had red hair and big feet.

Ronald-McDonald_320.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,943 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Possibly the most up-its-own-arse "news" site I've ever seen. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

The new HSBC ad with the father getting up early to drive his daughter to a swimming pool so she can train.They then find a new house and snap it up very quickly (thanks to HSBC) and lo and behold the house has a swimming pool meaning the father and daughters days of having to get up early for a long drive to the swimming pool are over.

Only problem with is the swimming pool in the new house is about 10 feet long and seeing as this girl looks to be taking swimming very seriously (as her and the father are traveling early in the morning to a swimming pool to train) the ad makes zero sense as they'll still have to drive to this swimming pool as she couldn't possible become any sort of decent swimmer practicing in a pool that is 10 feet long and will allow about 2 strokes before she hits the end of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

So I notice they edited the ad "Shout for your county, even if it's Mayo"
    Now they have "shout for your county until your voice is gone."
    Bell ends must have got complaints.