Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

That new Vodaphone ad with this family all laughing and making crazy faces in slow motion. Creepy and weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭optogirl

Ad for coffee where she invites her friends round to see her husband bring her flowers because her kid drew a picture of her muscly tennis coach. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

darkdubh wrote: »
    You're right.

~250 thumbs down vs ~50 up on youtube for that. Some moaning about feminists in the comments. I thought feminists would be against the ad as its inferring she is either a gold digger or strongly dependent on a man, with all this "he has the cash, the car, the condo, the career" -i.e. if the roles were reversed it would sound really odd.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

What the actual f?ck is this?

Saw this on Friday night whilst watching with my fiancée whose mother is dying. Our jaws were on the floor when we saw what it was for. Shamefully exploitative.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,375 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

optogirl wrote: »
    Ad for coffee where she invites her friends round to see her husband bring her flowers because her kid drew a picture of her muscly tennis coach. :rolleyes:

that advert must only be on RTE, Ive only caught the end of it twice, and was thinking wtf are they trying to sell, reverse the genders on that one with all the lads laughing as insecure mother tries to impress her husband, as pictures of hot gym coach plaster the fridge :D

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

rubadub wrote: »
    ~250 thumbs down vs ~50 up on youtube for that. Some moaning about feminists in the comments. I thought feminists would be against the ad as its inferring she is either a gold digger or strongly dependent on a man, with all this "he has the cash, the car, the condo, the career" -i.e. if the roles were reversed it would sound really odd.

Much like the Pepsi ad, it is possible to offend those you are trying to "big up" as well as those who dislike what they're trying to say.

It rarely ends well.

I guarantee these types of ad's will end up costing these companies customers out of spite.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,629 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Isn't that an ad for chewing gum?

There are couple in that series of ads.

The one with the girl about to take a peno. The keeper's studied all your moves, but she's the one who's legs are trembling.

Why? Because you have fresh breath in the extremely short term?

And while I'm at it, should you really be encouraging kids to chew gum while playing an actual football match? Is that wise?

Ugh. So, so bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,123 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Saw this on Friday night whilst watching with my fiancée whose mother is dying. Our jaws were on the floor when we saw what it was for. Shamefully exploitative.

Top story on BBC news right now. My jaw was pretty much on the floor the first time I saw it, I just can't imagine the meeting where that idea where first signed off on. And the countless others where they'd have had the opportunity to reverse their original decision. Seriously... that's how you want to sell fast food to the public?

• Registered Users Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

"she's a supermarket woman, she's in a supermarket mood...."

Feck off

• Registered Users Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

Can't really imagine someone as high maintenance as Claudine Keane shopping at Spar.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

Any charity advertisement. I hate guilt trips from my family, I don't need more from corporations.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

optogirl wrote: »

But she and her friends think its sooooooooo funny

I mean her husband thinks shes getting the ride off the tennis coach, such a hoot

• Registered Users Posts: 11,756 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

"Do I look like I have time for a head ache?"

Some guy selling food out of a van at a venue.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Actually the one that really pi55ed me off was the AIB ad with that smug little knut on the BMX, always watched it to see of the ending changed and he got hit by a 4x4

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

The Centra ad with the lyrics " if you're feeling shy, go some place and hide". No, you introverts aren't needed here, only shiny happy people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Top story on BBC news right now. My jaw was pretty much on the floor the first time I saw it, I just can't imagine the meeting where that idea where first signed off on. And the countless others where they'd have had the opportunity to reverse their original decision. Seriously... that's how you want to sell fast food to the public?

Hadn't seen that ad, thankfully.
    I'm speechless at the fact that someone thought that was a good idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Every time I see that Confused.com ad with James Corden I hope that a lorry comes along and annihilates him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Every time I see that Confused.com ad with James Corden I hope that a lorry comes along and annihilates him.

I would have left out the text "that confused.com ad with" in that sentence. His career projection is inexplicable.

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭MySandwich

I'm sure it's been mentioned before, but those Apache pizza ads are god awful

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭Auld Jim Halpin

laylag wrote: »
    "she's a supermarket woman, she's in a supermarket mood...."

Feck off

I like this tune, it's chill.
    Lemonade Market - Supermarket Woman, from 2004 and re-jigged for the F&F advert.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KnN2U0ZnBn4

Also like Bonnie and Clyde, Serge Gainsbourg Brigitte Bardot
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6GPm5_X3Ykg

used in Nissan Micra ad, also remixed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

This smug tosser. Grrrr!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,942 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

That Vodafone ad with everyone fake laughing is something else, I absolutely despise Vodafones ad department, how are they so consistently awful? All ads are sh1t but how do VF make theirs so painful?

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Capt Peacock

"When Smart need a flight, Smart chooses Aer Fungus"...I'm paraphrasing but If I ever bump into this Smart arse i'm gonna give him a sandwich.......a knuckle sandwich!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Capt Peacock

"James Corden: And thats why they call me the parking master"

Who James, who are they that call you the parking master?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

The lottery scratch card ad, with the eejit lepping around in a green onesie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

ligerdub wrote: »
    I would have left out the text "that confused.com ad with" in that sentence. His career projection is inexplicable.

His career is based on being fat and laughing at nothing but laughter tends to produce laughter from other people in return so that explains his success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

That advert with the "rapping" toddler, christ. I'm sure it's cute or whatever if you have kids, but it's so irritating I have to instantly change channel when it comes on. Still have no idea what it's even advertising.

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭vampyre

I object to Lidl saying I should identify with at least one of their real people ads. Far from it, for the first time I feel ashamed to admit I shop there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭optogirl

'These wipes wont take crayon off walls....'

....then they're no fupping use to me. I need them to wipe shi**ty arses, crayon from walls & every other sticky puddle of gack my children leave about the place