Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,761 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

About 70% of them. But especially the stupid Flash ad with the dog and the Flash Gordon song and the VI Poo ads. Bloody awful.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,328 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

JupiterKid wrote: »
    About 70% of them. But especially the stupid Flash ad with the dog and the Flash Gordon song and the VI Poo ads. Bloody awful.

Jeez, I forgot the VI Poo advert...it's not just badly made, it's possibly going to kill that actress career.

Who wants to be associated with that?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭job seeker

This ad pisses me off as well..

"Tell your cough, to cough off!" that has to be the ****tiest slogan in history.. :mad: don't even get me started on the poxy edit of your man's cough towards the end..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

job seeker wrote: »

"Tell your cough, to cough off!" that has to be the ****tiest slogan in history.. :mad: don't even get me started on the poxy edit of your man's cough towards the end..

Something else that really bugs me about this ad is that I think yer man doesn't look Mexican at all - he looks more Middle Eastern! Anyone else agree?

I suppose the ad agency doesn't think or care that we might notice the difference, eh?

fricatus wrote: »
    Something else that really bugs me about this ad is that I think yer man doesn't look Mexican at all - he looks more Middle Eastern! Anyone else agree?

I suppose the ad agency doesn't think or care that we might notice the difference, eh?

That's 100% true. But I've only copped it, once you pointed it out..

Everything about this ad annoys me.. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Those Park ads with the singing and giggling child. Jesus christ, make it stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

Jeez, I forgot the VI Poo advert...it's not just badly made, it's possibly going to kill that actress career.

Who wants to be associated with that?

Only seen it once (that was enough) but there is now a VI Poo advert where she suggests you give the "product" as a gift.

Just what does it say if you give someone a can of VI Poo as a present :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,943 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Marketing dickhead with a topknot: "What do you want?"
    Simon's marketing director: "We need an ad that subjects the audience to a taste of the misery endured by the homeless."
    Marketing dickhead: "We got this Tesco Value Glen Hansard, say no more fam."

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Perfume ad with a lady in a green dress running up a flight of stairs and going mental like the girl in the Exorcist. Are they putting VX in the perfume or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭flos1964

The Calvin Klein obsessed perfume one hero worshiping Kate Moss....whats that all about...never once heard the women even talk....what do they think we all are ...12 year olds...

my3cents wrote: »
    Only seen it once (that was enough) but there is now a VI Poo advert where she suggests you give the "product" as a gift.

Just what does it say if you give someone a can of VI Poo as a present :eek:

'Here ya go, ya durty sh**ah'.

I'm seriously getting sick of the Debenhams advert with Ewan McGregor. It's meant to be all romantic and 'relationship starting'.

All I'm thinking is that Ewan's own marriage fell apart and he was playing away on the wife.
    Hardly romantic.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,694 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Those Eir ads (the two Pats and Sean and Seamus). Christ. The "acting" is woeful. I've seen better at the infants' nativity play.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

'Here ya go, ya durty sh**ah'.

I'm seriously getting sick of the Debenhams advert with Ewan McGregor. It's meant to be all romantic and 'relationship starting'.

All I'm thinking is that Ewan's own marriage fell apart and he was playing away on the wife.
    Hardly romantic.

They were onto a good thing with that, they started a mini viral campaign on the Metro newspapers in the UK (freebies on the buses, underground and trams) about the fella looking for her.
    Of course they had to jump the shark and announce it was for Debenhams rather than let it build up a head of steam.

Those Xmas ads were first launched so long ago by M&S, John Lewis and Debenhams that it almost feels like it was last year! They lose all momentum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭George White

fricatus wrote: »

It reminds me of something Richard Herring pointed out, that according to racists, there are four races, white, black, "Chinese" (anyone vaguely East Asian-looking), and "those who'd be played by the actor Nadim Sawalha" (Indian, Latino, Italian/Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Spanish, etc). See Sawalha - a Jordanian's turns in various Bond films, Brit TV shows, mummy films, etc. as Indians (or rather half-Yorkshireman, half-Indian as in Open All Hours), Pakistanis, Arabs, Egyptians, Italians, Spaniards, Turkish etc.

Is that Eir ad actually acting? Aren't they just real people, or is it mock-verisimilitude?

Why the hell do they keep reviving that ad? It must be running longer than the Shake N Vac woman originally did at this stage.
    Someone thinks it's a "comedy classic".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Perfume ad with a lady in a green dress running up a flight of stairs and going mental like the girl in the Exorcist. Are they putting VX in the perfume or something?

Her "dance" moves are more akin to someone having a seizure while climbing a flight of stairs :D

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

There's a Lidl ad on currently with this long grey headed oufella being collected by his family and brought to a house in the country.
    They do up the whole house in lights and he goes inside and looks at a photo of his younger self with his (obviously deceased) wife and he starts to feel sad.
    He then goes in meets the family and sits down to a huge christmas dinner with everyone and looks at the seat beside him, which is empty.
    He starts to feel sad again.
    Then his grandaughter sits in it and he's all happy.

This ad gets on my tits.

There's a Lidl ad on currently with this long grey headed oufella being collected by his family and brought to a house in the country.
    They do up the whole house in lights and he goes inside and looks at a photo of his younger self with his (obviously deceased) wife and he starts to feel sad.
    He then goes in meets the family and sits down to a huge christmas dinner with everyone and looks at the seat beside him, which is empty.
    He starts to feel sad again.
    Then his grandaughter sits in it and he's all happy.
    This ad gets on my tits.
    Plus the photoshopped "old" photos is as bad as the old photos of Rock Hudson's character in Dynasty. A giant 50s still of his head glued onto some modern b/w photo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

job seeker wrote: »

Lol reminds me of this series of ads from the 80's. You'd think technology would have caught up by now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,344 ✭✭✭mojesius

I don't think I've ever had as much hatred for an advert as I do for the TUI ad. It actually puts me off booking any package holiday ever again. I can't change the channel fast enough to avoid the intro, and when I do change channels, she's there on another one! How much did TUI spend to flood TV channels with this shyte?

The original song, previously one of my favourites, is truly butchered (and was recently already butchered by some young wan always on the radio). It's a ruined song for me now.

The entire theme of the ad campaign is mid 90s time warp stuff, yer one with the dancing troupe of club reps following her around while she sings terribly, grinning on her sunbed with Pina coladas, massages and flowing dresses.

Fcuk off TUI, whoever devised the ad concept should be locked in a room and tied to a chair and made to watch it over and over again until they crack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

mojesius wrote: »
    I don't think I've ever had as much hatred for an advert as I do for the TUI ad. It actually puts me off booking any package holiday ever again. I can't change the channel fast enough to avoid the intro, and when I do change channels, she's there on another one! How much did TUI spend to flood TV channels with this shyte?

The original song, previously one of my favourites, is truly butchered (and was recently already butchered by some young wan always on the radio). It's a ruined song for me now.

The entire theme of the ad campaign is mid 90s time warp stuff, yer one with the dancing troupe of club reps following her around while she sings terribly, grinning on her sunbed with Pina coladas, massages and flowing dresses.

Fcuk off TUI, whoever devised the ad concept should be locked in a room and tied to a chair and made to watch it over and over again until they crack.

The full 90-second ad currently has 604 likes and 351 dislikes on YouTube. Make of that what you will.

And some of the comments are amusing, too. (I don't usually look at YT comments as more often than not they're just plain wrong, to put it mildly - but that's not the case here.)

"We want Thompson [sic]"
    "La La Land"
    "Aint no bod eee. Chaka Khan must be so proud!"
    "Watches TV: This ad comes on. Listens to the radio: This ad comes on. Watches a Youtube video: This ad comes on. WE CAN'T ESCAPE THIS CRAP"

:D:D;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Courtesy of Spike Jonze

New report in America Re Kids in Netflix homes being saved Deprived of 230 hours of adverts a year.

http://exstreamist.com/report-kids-in-netflix-only-homes-are-being-saved-from-230-hours-of-commercials-a-year/

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Suckit wrote: »
    Courtesy of Spike Jonze

New report in America Re Kids in Netflix homes being saved Deprived of 230 hours of adverts a year.

http://exstreamist.com/report-kids-in-netflix-only-homes-are-being-saved-from-230-hours-of-commercials-a-year/

At the beginning where shes listening to the speech she looks like she's dying to go to the jacks. You can almost hear her thinking "hurry up FFS I'm bursting for a slash"

Courtesy of Spike Jonze

Detecting unusually high levels of WTF Captain.

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭Auld Jim Halpin

Courtesy of Spike Jonze

She looks like fun! - is there a reason she is mad? Annoying music but she gives it her all in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Those cuddly carrot ads ffs. Do they not realise they're all going to be eaten by Rudolf!

ollaetta wrote: »
    Those cuddly carrot ads ffs. Do they not realise they're all going to be eaten by Rudolf!

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2017/11/11/breaking-kevin-the-carrot-arrested-over-baby-carrot-images/

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Sorry for the repost(ish). I thought the same, and realised it already existed. It is done well though :).

Walken could teach that whippersnapper a thing or two :cool: