Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭optogirl

They're also getting rid of the 'blue' liquid. And replacing it with 'red liquid'...which is so very darn annoying.

At least it's honest....

What about the new ad - for Vodafone I think, with the wee boy calling his Ma's boyfriend 'Dad'. Heart warming tales from our corporate overlords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭bot43

It's now ten years since the "Here Today, Goo Tomorrow" campaign.

Which was great, of course - but I wonder what the reaction would be if it was made today...

Are these just not a complete rip off of the Bunny Suicides?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What's dabbing?

I only knew it to be related to smoking hash oil, so wondered WTF people were going on about saying people are doing it in ads!

seems it is a dance, and is banned in saudi arabia due to the (correct/incorrrect) connection to the cannabis term.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dab_(dance)#Illegality_in_Saudi_Arabia
    In Saudi Arabia, the move was made illegal by the National Committee for Drug Control as it was deemed that it "alludes to weed and other illegal substances." In August 2017, Saudi singer and actor Abdallah Al Shaharani was arrested for performing the move at a music festival in Ta'if,[24][25] while in January 2018 a Saudi footballer was criticized on social media for performing the move during a match.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,328 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

optogirl wrote: »
    At least it's honest.....

They don't use yellow liquid in nappy adverts, dunno why they need to make it 'that' realistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

They don't use yellow liquid in nappy adverts, dunno why they need to make it 'that' realistic.

Sorry I got a bit mixed up there and thought you were talking about the Cream Egg advert, either way I still would't touch a Cream Egg :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

"I've found that touch is my favourite of all the senses..."

Eh, shouldn't it be sight if you're driving a f*ckin' car?

yellow would not show up as well on a (typically) white nappy as a blue, green or red liquid would. I have done (uncoloured) water splash testing and use blue tissue to demonstrate it in videos & photos.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcthree/item/4f78f3cc-32e5-4dc9-aea6-ca1937f3e0ef
    A sanitary products company has broken a major taboo by releasing an advert about periods that actually shows something that looks like blood, instead of the usual weird blue liquid.

Bodyform’s new advert is only 20 seconds long, but it packs in shots of a man casually buying sanitary pads, a woman lying on a pad-shaped inflatable in a swimming pool and, shocker, another woman in the shower with blood trickling down her inner thigh.
    Most controversial of all, though, is the sanitary towel being tested with a blood-red liquid (it's actually corn syrup and food colouring).

Despite it being a natural bodily process that many women and girls around the world experience every month, the fact remains that in 2017 periods are still considered taboo.
    According to Nadia Mendoza, a mental health expert and co-founder of The Self-Esteem Team, “The use of blue liquid to represent period blood not only suggests that period blood is shameful, it also paints a wholly unrealistic picture for young girls who are yet to start their periods. Having your period for the first time is hard enough without the fear associated with the unexpected sight of blood.”

The degree to which menstruation is still considered a cringe topic is highlighted by a recent UK study of 2,000 women. Almost half of those surveyed (46%) said they had chosen to skip sport lessons while on their period. More than a third of women (39%) listed fear of leaking as their biggest reason, while the second largest reason (24%) was a worry that their sanitary pads would be visible to others or slip out during exercise.
    Menstrual Hygiene Day was launched in 2014 to help bust some of the global myths around menstruation. These include superstitions like periods attract sharks (they don’t), you can’t get pregnant on your period (you can), and taking a shower will bring on a heavy flow (it won’t).

It might also help to ban of the more patronising period euphemisms, such as 'Time of the month' (ugh) 'Auntie Flo' (double ugh) and 'Code Red' (rolls eyes in despair).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Patww79 wrote: »

Are we to assume the da's dead..or did the ma just get caught out....:confused:

Are we to assume the da's dead..
    the da was sticking around when the kid was much younger, but then he saw that screaming addresspal ad one too many times, thought "WTF am I getting myself into" and bolted, he's a barman in costa del sol now.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

That Fairy liquid in a sachet or somesuch washing yoke (I'm a man) ad warning kids not to eat them.
    Is this a buy or avoid ad?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

rubadub wrote: »
    the da was sticking around when the kid was much younger, but then he saw that screaming addresspal ad one too many times, thought "WTF am I getting myself into" and bolted, he's a barman in costa del sol now.

That just made me laugh so much :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

The Park Christmas 2018 ad. I'm still broke from last Christmas, without stupid ads pressurizing me to start saving now for next year!!
    The child actress is also so badly dubbed its nearly funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    The Park Christmas 2018 ad. I'm still broke from last Christmas, without stupid ads pressurizing me to start saving now for next year!!
    The child actress is also so badly dubbed its nearly funny.

Hate this ad, the "adult" one has a really weird swivel to her head when she says "Park Christmas" at the end - drives me mental!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

The Match ad where the girl says she noticed on the guy's profile he likes a challenge so she 'challenged' him to come meet her before the end of the song.

The kind of ad that only someone with narcissistic personality disorder would find realistic.

The new 'its4women' insurance advert. 'And they know what women want'. Eh, no they don't, they're telling you what you think you want, thus selling you crap you will never need.

What is it about this company and terrible adverts? Every single one is terrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,943 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Valentina wrote: »
    The Match ad where the girl says she noticed on the guy's profile he likes a challenge so she 'challenged' him to come meet her before the end of the song.

The kind of ad that only someone with narcissistic personality disorder would find realistic.

So...the exact sort of tosser who writes that crap?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

The ad for "gluten free" shampoo. Is the shampoo so fruity and delicious that I might be tempted to drink it by the bottle?

My dad, being Scottish insists we watch stv instead if itv at home and this ad is on every single ad break and drives me nuts.

There's another version where he types in blow instead of ass. Hateful, irritating, creepy ad.

s1jobs gives you the horn!

I'm not joking. that is their tagline.

Edit: Fixed the youtube tags.

So...the exact sort of tosser who writes that crap?

Now now, be nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Those two deer in the headlights women with the keyboard and the bad singing have three ads now! Get them off my telly box I beg you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

That BBC tv license one with the couple arguing on a blind date. Its so arbitrary, it has feck all to do with paying the television license.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

jojofizzio wrote: »
    The new Coke Zero ad....why are they offering Coke Zero to nursing home residents??looks like the aspartame (or whatever sugar substitute it has)promotes psychotic behaviour in older people...

It's a callback to this classic ad.

However, the new one is spoiled because Coke Zero tastes like battery acid

• Registered Users Posts: 11,949 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Those two deer in the headlights women with the keyboard and the bad singing have three ads now! Get them off my telly box I beg you.

Those Chrimbo limbo absolute tools!

Saw the third one about sisters last night and I almost flung a plate at the Telly to stop it.

Absolutely horrible, stupid crap, actually can’t cope with these ads. Grrrrrrrrr,

• Registered Users Posts: 16,135 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Mc Donalds ad with two teenagers strapped into baby car seats ? What on earth is that all about ?

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭Auld Jim Halpin

Trivago ads!, she is a hottie but annoys the hell out of me, Five hundred Thousand?, Seven-Hundred Thousand? - aaaarrrrggggghhhhhhh

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭Auld Jim Halpin

Also Bord Gais ad with the kid that says "I can't feel my inside" because the house is so cold, it's just so stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Trivago ads!, she is a hottie but annoys the hell out of me, Five hundred Thousand?, Seven-Hundred Thousand? - aaaarrrrggggghhhhhhh

The real trouble with those bloody Trivago ads is that when you’re flicking through the channels with the missus there, you land on one of those ads and you want to stay watching yer wan, but then you get caught, like “keep going, it’s only ads”, and then she gives you a filthy because she realises why you stopped! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

They're also getting rid of the 'blue' liquid. And replacing it with 'red liquid'...which is so very darn annoying.

Repulsive, just like the VIPoo ad with the donuts going into the toilet.

We all know how human bodies function, but there is absolutely no need to remind people of it in detail when they're trying to watch TV and potentially having a bite to eat.

:mad:

fricatus wrote: »
    The real trouble with those bloody Trivago ads is that when you’re flicking through the channels with the missus there, you land on one of those ads and you want to stay watching yer wan, but then you get caught, like “keep going, it’s only ads”, and then she gives you a filthy because she realises why you stopped! :D

Let on you think it's Cobie Smulders, act confused, be all like 'why is your wan from Avengers putting on an accent' then slowly realise it's not her.