Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭valoren

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Mc Donalds ad with two teenagers strapped into baby car seats ? What on earth is that all about ?

Getting your moneys worth. Children need to be in car seats until their 7. No need for them after that. So two teens in the same seats is the father getting double the use out of them having shelled out the cash years earlier I presume.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,475 ✭✭✭corkie

Who is the woman in the TUI advert?
    Well, wait no more, because we have the inside scoop. Her name is Bethany Louise Slater, and she’s a model, actress, and dancer.

capture29.png?w=748&h=351&crop=1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

corkie wrote: »
    Who is the woman in the TUI advert?

I don't care who she is. She needs to fcuk right off though.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,367 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

are they saying you will get crabs on a TUI holiday? :confused:

Screen-Shot-2017-11-09-at-23.11.12-650x354.png

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭Auld Jim Halpin

silverharp wrote: »

I hate them feckin' crabs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

I hate them feckin' crabs!

They are the only actors in that advert that manage to keep in sink with the music, those are professional crabs.

Ads I hate. Every Ikea ad ever. Especially the fight to sleep ad on at the moment.

Would it kill them to just advertise their products. Also, no matter how much Ikea stuff I bought (I don't own any currently) my shoebox apartment will never look like one of the spacious scandanavian apartments in the ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

silverharp wrote: »

Screen-Shot-2017-11-09-at-23.11.12-650x354.png

They only show up on your TUI holiday if you take the same hallucinogens that caused the brain damage to the singing lady - left her possessed by the ghost of Chaka Khan so they did :(

Also, was I just seeing things or is there a shorter "entering an ad break" version now where her husband finally has enough of her wailing ruining his holiday, and tries to drown himself in the pool? Only caught the end of it last but it gave me a good laugh not knowing the context :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

I was only thinking to myself as I switched on the radio in the car today that at least I won't get the same crappy ads on as on the TV and wtf do you think the first thing I heard ain't nobody fcuking TuI. Needless to say I didn't listen to the radio for the rest of the trip.:mad:

Is there any point to the advertising they must have reached their target audience a hundred times over by now?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

my3cents wrote: »
    I was only thinking to myself as I switched on the radio in the car today that at least I won't get the same crappy ads on as on the TV and wtf do you think the first thing I heard ain't nobody fcuking TuI. Needless to say I didn't listen to the radio for the rest of the trip.:mad:

Is there any point to the advertising they must have reached their target audience a hundred times over by now?

It is working. Everybody paying for holidays to get away from the fecking adverts.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

This sack of sh*te every evening

• Registered Users Posts: 3,231 ✭✭✭jellybear

Just saw an add for a Michael Collins commemorative medal. I honestly cannot place the accent of the lady doing the voice over at all- it's so bizarre!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

There are some terrible ads doing the rounds where they use a well known song but with new lyrics sung over it. Two of the worst are an insurance ad with driving in my car by Madness and an ad for double glazing with Hero by Bonnie Tyler. It really gets on my wick when they murder tunes like this :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,949 ✭✭✭✭anewme

There are some terrible ads doing the rounds where they use a well known song but with new lyrics sung over it. Two of the worst are an insurance ad with driving in my car by Madness and an ad for double glazing with Hero by Bonnie Tyler. It really gets on my wick when they murder tunes like this :mad:

There’s a hateful ad on tv for diet bars with Bonnie Tylers Total Eclipse of the Heart.

It’s so bad..

“Turn around Barbara”

“For ever I’ve been longing for snack in my life “

Has no one else seen this.?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭Dickie10

mairead farrell on super valu ads. shes so annoying

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭Auld Jim Halpin

Pampers ad with the babies flip and roll nonsense, stupid baby, stupid voice over lady, please stop it

VHI animated ad with kid in glasses and the dog - how much do these ads cost and would it not be better to use that money for improving the service for your customers or reducing their annual premium

Already mentioned but Vodafone ad with the "stepdad" and really annoying music, it would appear Vodafone still using the same team as the rest of their terrible ads, that ad is just creepy

And have to second Dickie 10 above, Mairead Farrell supervalu ads, what were they thinking, go to the supermarket and get some whingey moaney aul one telling you what to buy, no thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

There is an advert that i caught twice today, and whoever thought it up should be shot.

It is for a Women's clothing/shoes website, and the advert is basically an woman opening her shoes closet and screaming, then going to another shoe closet and screaming louder and longer, and then her husband/boyfriend screaming behind her and she quietens him by using an airhorn. :mad:

F*cking terrible tripe.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,328 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Dickie10 wrote: »
    mairead farrell on super valu ads. shes so annoying

And did they get someone else to read the items costs, or do something to her voice? She sounds odd, and doesn't have her irritating accent.

I avoid Farrell on tv, so those ads are a pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

corkie wrote: »

Well, it can be argued, based on the ad she in none of those listed things!
    That screenshot alone perfectly encapsulates the ad. Gritted teeth.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,786 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Slater doesn’t actually sing the song herself, but mimes the track which was sung by Leeds-based singer Alice Higgins.

In fairness, although she's the face of the campaign she's not responsible for (dis)arranging the music or deciding the vocal style. Which is what I find most grating and has me reaching for the mute or fast forward buttons.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Will it's for women ever make an ad that's not ****. The current edition looks like it was made by secondary school students

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

The ad for Lloyds pharmacy is grimly embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Doctor Nick

Already mentioned but Vodafone ad with the "stepdad" and really annoying music, it would appear Vodafone still using the same team as the rest of their terrible ads, that ad is just creepy

Literally as I read this that ad comes on the telly. Mute button. Vodafone really do the worse ads. I cannot remember then ever having a good one and each new ad seems worse than the last.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,771 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Those fooking IKEA ads....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,328 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Literally as I read this that ad comes on the telly. Mute button. Vodafone really do the worse ads. I cannot remember then ever having a good one and each new ad seems worse than the last.

They had a few good ads, and then the politcally correct mafia appeared and started killing adverts.
    Remember when meteor and vodafones adverts had a minority screaming loudly because ageism/sexism/anti bunny etc? Meteor often lost money because their adverts were pulled by a minority of people complaining. So money wasted.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

I've just seen the ad for Ireland's Got "Talent", with Lucy Kennedy in a convertible, loud screaming noise :confused: and the rest of the nonsense.
    What the......
    :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Lloyds Pharmacy - the most uncomfotable and awkward "Hello" you will ever see in your life.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,154 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Being with Electric Ireland is SMORT

.........Being with them and never switching is SMORTER.

.........Electric Ireland: SMORTER living.

The letter "A" is slowly but surely being eliminated from Irish advertising.

• Registered Users Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

deco nate wrote:
    Are you going to leave us as well. I thanked your post. Just in case..

The letter "A" is slowly but surely being eliminated from Irish advertising.

Being with Electric Ireland is SMORT

Yesss!!! That means accent gives me the raaage!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,154 ✭✭✭mistersifter

laylag wrote: »
    Yesss!!! That means accent gives me the raaage!

and the radio version of the ad is worse! That accent seems to have become standard in Irish advertising. It's like they're afraid that if they pronounce the letter "a" that they might sound common or something. Rage is right!