Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Moldova vs Ireland, World Cup Qualifier, RTE 2 & Sky Sports 1, KO 7.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,050 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

This Moldovan team is rubbish, should be leading this easy, which is worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Complete disaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,373 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Don't care about control, just want a win.

Wales controlled the first half against Georgia. Were bossed in the second. Hung on for a bad result.

Like 8 of their players play in the Moldovan league. We should be dominating.

edit: Sweet jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,947 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

CLOWNS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

That is criminal bad defending. What position was Duffy taking up there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Great finish didn't think Randolph had to come out at all

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭LordAwesome

Bloody 'ell, lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,050 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

And there it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Eh why is Duffy stepping up there when he's over the half way line?!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Awful stuff, made pay for our sh!te passing and inability to control a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

jaysis.... good old Glen W let the ball bounce.... Duffy stepped up even though their player was in his own half.... ffs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

Well, I've realised my stream is about 3 minutes behind? I take it we've conceded against the might of Moldova??

Mclean as dunphy says is a birdbrain-head down doesnt look up

No fan of McClean...but would pin that on a defence going AWOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Oh for the days when we had decent central defenders!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

We weren't even dominating, we were the better team but they had plenty possession and territory. Most of the lads have 2nd jobs FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Sunday morning parks defending.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Lemmy Scott

some nice birds in the crowd there at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I was going faster than Duffy despite being sat on the couch.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Think he is on about McClean's idiotic decisions on the pitch all game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,360 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Pathetic.

Deserved. Merely for the fact we've no interest in playing football.

If you play hoof and run against shíte, you get what you deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

mada999 wrote: »
    jaysis.... good old Glen W let the ball bounce.... Duffy stepped up even though their player was in his own half.... ffs....

Yep, Whelan just as culpable there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

We didn't have a single player in our half bar Randolph. What the absolute ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Well, I, wow...

I just... wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,470 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

lawred2 wrote: »
    Not good at all. But an away lead all the same.

Ye bleedin dope ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

And Glen Whelan totally pulling out of a 50/50 leaving his man control the ball and play the through ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

O'Shea at halftime please

We'll still win, but who can deny that our team ha a pre-historic style and players that suit it? Main game plan is lumping it to our front 3, we can't keep the ball against part timers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Dunno why the commentators were so positive about that half. We gave the ball away too many times - Moldova have had 55% possession - and haven't looked composed whatsoever since scoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,590 ✭✭✭baldbear

some nice birds in the crowd there at the end

Jaysus. Wouldn't touch them with Glenn Whelan's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Just never really kicked on after the early goal and that one pack of concentration has now cost us.

That equaliser might be the kick up the arse we needed though. Need to come out at a quick tempo again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

What in the name of god does Whelan do to get a starting place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

FFS! Typical!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

fairly tough first half to watch there, change in possession and miscontrol every 2 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,295 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

J. Marston wrote: »
    I was going faster than Duffy despite being sat on the couch.

Duffy probably wouldn't have caught him even if the Moldovan was running backwards!

Total different team talk now, apart from the goal which was nice there has been very little quality from Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Not sure how we're not 5-0 up and strolling with Wes Hoolahan on the pitch by the way?

Yep, Whelan just as culpable there

He has been a major issue all game. He finds himself in acres of space and never gets his head up to move the ball forward. He just passes it backwards and sideways, just hoping to get rid of it and take no responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Mclean as dunphy says is a birdbrain-head down doesnt look up

I think he meant about his two awful decisions before the goal.

Terrible goal to concede, MON should go to town on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Whelan his usual decisive self there in the build up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Lemmy Scott

Randoplh invited him to place it where it ended up-shocking keeper imo not up to it atall atall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,373 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Another Moldovan goal would be good for the long term future of the NT. The attitude some fans have where they are fine with the team that represents us playing a terribly negative style of football as long as we qualify is baffling. You'll get nowhere in the finals with this style, so what is the point?

We need new coaches and a new identity. Seeing professional footballers play this way against a team of players who play in the 34th ranked league in Europe is depressing.

And why is Duffy wearing #7? He's a CB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,914 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

How do they always manage to look so panicked against any team? I think the FAI should start giving out bonuses for 6 passes in a row they would not lose much money!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,294 ✭✭✭tanko

That is criminal bad defending. What position was Duffy taking up there?

He thought it was half time and was heading for the dressing room.

Whelan his usual decisive self there in the build up.

I have no problem not challenging for the header (he should go for it), it's the fact that he allows the player to control it with his feet and pass it :eek::eek:

Can the pundits stop saying we dominated the game, we didn't. We were on top but they had their share of the play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭sonic85

This is desperate. Overall that was a terrible half even if we didn't concede it was still brutal

• Registered Users Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Walters, Whelan & McCarthy have been passengers in the first half with McClean only marginally better. The amount of simple 5 yard passes we misplace is unbelievable.

The front players are trying to press them when they have the ball but midfield players aren't so too easy for them to work around it.

Need a much better performance in the 2nd half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Randoplh invited him to place it where it ended up-shocking keeper imo not up to it atall atall

He kinda came out to narrow the angle then stopped half way out. Probably should have kept coming once he had decided to.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Duffy was like a 135 turning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    What in the name of god does Whelan do to get a starting place?

Well his a better version of James McCarthy