Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Church of Scientology opening on Merrion Square

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 LongCatSilver

independent.ie/irish-news/mardi-gras-with-a-sinister-edge-as-scientologists-open-new-dublin-hq-35133781.html

"It was like a mini Mardi Gras with a sinister edge. A line of people waved Irish flags and sang as a small band played As The Saints Go Marching In. A cheer went up as party streamers ignited and the doors swung open to "the public" - which excluded any passers by or members of the press, who were strictly barred from entering (journalists are thought of as 'merchants of chaos' by the church).

This was in keeping with the atmosphere of secrecy that pervaded the event. None of the gathered Scientologists would speak on the record about their new venture, which was attended by some bigwigs from the international church.

Disappointingly, Scientology's best known adherents, Tom Cruise and John Travolta, were absent. Zabrina Collins, a prominent Irish Scientologist, and the daughter of wrongfully convicted Donegal publican, Frank Shortt, glowered at waiting press. Meanwhile, Pete Griffiths, a former church member against whom she took out an injunction, waited on the other side of the square. He later claimed that he had been followed and intimidated by members of the church.

In America, the church (which is not registered here as a charity) has public streets shut down for grand openings, but since that isn't possible in central Dublin, they relied on heavy-handed security - one Scientologist told me I would "get myself in serious trouble" for standing on Merrion Square. As the mob spilled out onto the street and gardai arrived on the scene, a third Scientologist had a taxi hold up traffic on the square itself, causing a long, if brief, tailback. (I was later told she was merely "inquiring about a fare")."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Its scary to actually think how scientology alienate families and basically brainwash these poor people who really r only looking for somewhere to belong. N as for the money they look for... I dunno how this Miscavige gets away with it
    He was a sh*te comedian and I think he had family links to another sinister cult called Fianna Fail but fair play to him for reinventing himself from that and separating himself from such a sad early career double tragedy.

Now the head of one of the biggest cults in the world and has got real Hollywood stars for friends,long way from RTE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Grand opening at 4 Merrion Square at 12:00 this Saturday, October 15th: imgur.com/kXH1scT.jpg

tonyortega.org/2016/09/25/scientology-in-ireland-is-nearly-dead-heres-how-tom-cruise-and-the-gang-plan-to-bring-it-back/

dialogueireland.files.wordpress.com/2016/10/sw2.jpg

Brilliant News :)

It made me SOoooooo Happy I nearly jumped of my sofa

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Will there be a monorail?
    If there's no monorail , I'm not going.

They've missed the boat on that stuff. http://www.echo.ie/news/article/cable-car-from-hellfire-club-to-the-centre-of-tallaght-planned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

Excellent! That's handy to my work. I can drop in and get ripped off on the way home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Look, I wish the world was a different place. I'd like to go on vacation, and go and plomp, and play, and just do that. You know what I mean? I mean, that's what I want it to be, okay, there's times I'd like to do that but I can't, because I know. I know. So, you know what you know. I have to do something about it.

It's rough and tumble and it's wild and woolly and it's a blast, it's a blast! It really is fun because damn it there is nothing better than going out there and fighting the fight and suddenly you see things are better. I wanna know that I've done everything I could, everyday and I think about those people out there that are depending on us. I think about that and it does make me feel, man, we got more work, I need more help. Get those spectators either in the playing field or out of the arena. Really, that's how I feel about it.

I do what I can and I do it the way I do everything :pac: :pac:

There is nothing part of the way for me!! :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Who cares? Let the fools part with their money. I remember being in Melbourne once and there were a load of young hipster types protesting a Scientology church, complete with the V for Vendetta masks etc. For some reason it's something of a Cause Celebré.
    Go and protest outside a Mosque for their horrible treatment of women if you have any balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

They get money from alot of rich people ,as a church they are tax free .its
    a religion based on 50s scifi story s , so its very weird ,
    But then americans will believe almost anything.
    http://www.eonline.com/news/713638/leah-remini-vs-scientology-7-things-we-learned-from-her-troublemaker-book-press-tour

I think its weird that scientology is so concerned with recruiting hollywood celebritys into the church .LA is a strange city based on fame and hollywood ,
    so its already detached from reality ,so mix in a religion with that and its even stranger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

To be honest there is only one religion for me http://dudeism.com/
    What is Dudeism?

While Dudeism in its official form has been organized as a religion only recently, it has existed down through the ages in one form or another. Probably the earliest form of Dudeism was the original form of Chinese Taoism, before it went all weird with magic tricks and body fluids. The originator of Taoism, Lao Tzu, basically said “smoke ’em if you got ’em” and “mellow out, man” although he said this in ancient Chinese so something may have been lost in the translation.

Down through the ages, this “rebel shrug” has fortified many successful creeds – Buddhism, Christianity, Sufism, John Lennonism and Fo’-Shizzle-my-Nizzlism. The idea is this: Life is short and complicated and nobody knows what to do about it. So don’t do anything about it. Just take it easy, man. Stop worrying so much whether you’ll make it into the finals. Kick back with some friends and some oat soda and whether you roll strikes or gutters, do your best to be true to yourself and others – that is to say, abide.

Incidentally, the term “dude” is commonly agreed to refer to both genders. Most linguists contend that “Dudette” is not in keeping with the parlance of our times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I didn't think this ****e would take off in Ireland. I always thought we were not that gullible of people. I know we have the Catholic Church but they are fairly harmless these days and not into ruining families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,438 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

this cult should be banned from ireland. dangerous people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

riclad wrote: »
    They get money from alot of rich people ,as a church they are tax free .its
    a religion based on 50s scifi story s , so its very weird ,
    But then americans will believe almost anything.
    http://www.eonline.com/news/713638/leah-remini-vs-scientology-7-things-we-learned-from-her-troublemaker-book-press-tour

I think its weird that scientology is so concerned with recruiting hollywood celebritys into the church .LA is a strange city based on fame and hollywood ,
    so its already detached from reality ,so mix in a religion with that and its even stranger.

Hubbard was the greatest troll in the history of trolldom, he straight out said it would be a great money racket to create a religion. *sigh*

Ironically, if there were advanced extraterrestrial beings, I think they would avoid contact with us because of such stupid superstitions. We're a few intelligent levels from living in caves.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

RayCon wrote: »
    They've a bloody nice pad beside Herbert Park in Ballsbridge .... if I didn't know better I reckon there's some serious cash to be made in this whole religion thingy ....

Thats the Church of Christian Science, Not Scientology

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

niallo27 wrote: »
    the Catholic Church but they are fairly harmless these days and not into ruining families.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

From what i read scientology attracts desperate lonely people ,but i don,t think irish people are stupid or naive enough to go for a religion based on
    scifi storys and random theorys .
    Even the catholic church is struggling, it holds on thru its control of schools
    and tradition and older people still go to mass .
    We irish are sceptical and we dont go for cults or weird religious groups .Even america is becoming a less religious country .
    Scientology seems designed to collect money and buy large buildings and get more famous followers not so much helping poor people or setting up soup kitchens .