Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BAMMA 27 / Bellator 169 - 16th December, 3Arena

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Tom Dueqensoy is going to absolute starch Philpott I might go to this card just for that alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    Anyone know what way this is working?

Is it BAMMA until 9pm then BELLATOR Main Card

Or will they do one after the other for the main card ?

BAMMA are essentially the prelims.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Fatty Magoo

How full do you ye think the event will be? I just have visions of no one been there and Bellator and Bamma deciding not bothering coming back I hope its at least 70-75% full

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

Sounds positive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Gutted to be missing out on this.

A card that starts in the evening on a Friday in the middle of work Christmas party season is such a **** time to have this on. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,710 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I haven't seen any advertisements for this at all

I think there are plenty of casual McGregor fans who the timing for this would have suited great for a Christmas night out, who just don't know it's on.

Although maybe there's enough core fans to help it sell out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,266 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

but1er wrote: »
    Sounds positive

No mention of the King Mo fight? Nor the James Gallagher fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Sounds positive

Come on . . . .

That's the MOST BASIC/PANIC selling method

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,785 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

MrStuffins wrote: »
    No mention of the King Mo fight? Nor the James Gallagher fight?
    Both of those fights are on the Belator card.
    That was Bamma's FB post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Petermc83

Fair play to Bamma for throwing together a great card.. full of promising irish fighters and a top class main event...

The same cant be said for Bellator at the minute.... we are less than two weeks away & does anyone know their full card yet??

Petermc83 wrote: »
    The same cant be said for Bellator at the minute.... we are less than two weeks away & does anyone know their full card yet??
    Belator MAIN CARD
    Satoshi Ishii vs. Muhammed Lawal
    James Gallagher vs. Anthony Taylor
    Brian Moore vs. Daniel Weichel
    Helen Harper vs. Bruna Vargas
    Luiz Tosta vs. Shay Walsh

BAMMA 27 card
    Tom Duquesnoy vs. Alan Philpott – for BAMMA bantamweight title
    Andrew Clamp vs. Chris Fields
    Niklas Backstrom vs. Ronnie Mann
    Sean Tobin vs. Dylan Tuke
    Jai Herbert vs. Rhys McKee
    Kiefer Crosbie vs. Conor Riordan
    Walter Gahadza vs. Nathan Jones
    Ian Cleary vs. Andrew Lofthouse
    Terry Brazier vs. Niklas Stolze
    Sinead Kavanagh vs. Eeva Siiskonen
    Conor Dillon vs. Richie Smullen
    Blaine O’Driscoll vs. Neil Ward
    Richard Kiely vs. Keith McCabe
    Will Fleury vs. Kyle Mclurkin

Top man Mellor.. Thanks!!

19 fights in total.. itll be a good night of action. heres hoping they all stay healthy now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭MartyMcFly84

I am excited for this card because I know a lot of the the fighters on it.

But just did a quick calculation there. If the event runs smoothly with few breaks, leaving between 20-25mins a fight with entrances, announcements and breaks between rounds. For 19 fights that can be 6-8 hours of fights.

For me personally it is a long time to concentrate on anything. I remember some of the crowd getting very messy towards the end of the last BAMMA, people had been drinking for over 6 hours....

I was at the first BAMMA card in the 3 Arena and there was a contentious judges decision for one of the last fights.. The supporters of the Uk based fighter lost the plot and threw bottles into the cage.. Drunken louts and sore losers but it didnt ruin the night for me.

That was the Brendan Loughnana fight against Duquesnoy, The state of the Bellator part of the Card If I go ill be going to watch the Bamma one and leaving not one of them fights interest me on the main card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Wonder how its selling, sponsored posts on facebook say nearly sold out. I'm expecting my nose bleed seat will be a lot closer to cage than expected.

Prob head in around Terry Brazier fight if I can time it, Maybe 7.00?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Anyone know what the streaming/broadcasting is for this ? I assume bamma will be on their website and bellator will be shown in october 2017 at 3am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I am excited for this card because I know a lot of the the fighters on it.

But just did a quick calculation there. If the event runs smoothly with few breaks, leaving between 20-25mins a fight with entrances, announcements and breaks between rounds. For 19 fights that can be 6-8 hours of fights.

For me personally it is a long time to concentrate on anything. I remember some of the crowd getting very messy towards the end of the last BAMMA, people had been drinking for over 6 hours....

I have to agree with Marty. Its a stupidly long event. I think I left before the Main Event last time around because I'd been sitting in my seat since 4pm or something!

Coming straight from work this time as well because it's a Friday... will be interesting. Want to watch the BAMMA card, not really sold on the Bellator.

Gallagher is fighting a 2-9 bum not a chance would I sit around for this fight bamma card is a cracker wish Bellator wasnt any part of this card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭rogieop

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    Wonder how its selling, sponsored posts on facebook say nearly sold out. I'm expecting my nose bleed seat will be a lot closer to cage than expected.

Prob head in around Terry Brazier fight if I can time it, Maybe 7.00?

Was buying tickets last week and decided to have a look on done deal/ebay and not a single one about. Demand must be very low. Went straight on ticketmaster and bought cheapest i could get. Hopefully gonna jump up a few sections.

Taking my two nephews to their first event. they cant wait. Hope its a good night.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Gallagher is fighting a 2-9 bum not a chance would I sit around for this fight bamma card is a cracker wish Bellator wasnt any part of this card.

2-9?? I thought he was 1-1

Edit:
    Just checked sherdog there. Holy shit. 1-6 Ammy record.

Mellor wrote: »
    2-9?? I thought he was 1-1

Well pro yes, and I know amatuer records mean nowt in the grand scheme of things but if your co main on a big Bellator card having your 3rd fight its fair game to quote the full record and his last 11 fights hes has 2 wins thats horiffic.

Yeah, I went to sherdog to re-check his record and seen his ammy record. Was editing the post above before you posted. Sherdog has 2 wins out of 9 fights. Have you seen a more complete ammy record. going pro with the record is shocking

Mellor wrote: »
    Yeah, I went to sherdog to re-check his record and seen his ammy record. Was editing the post above before you posted. Sherdog has 2 wins out of 9 fights. Have you seen a more complete ammy record. going pro with the record is shocking

Yeah I get what there doing here building Gallagher they have been doing it with MVP for ages now, the general public will lap it up but in reality this is a complete miss match that shouldnt be sanctioned if it were up to me,

who is coaching these guys going pro with no prospects other than being a punch bag, theres a lad who fights in England look at this for a record, he must train himself

http://www.sherdog.com/fighter/Reece-Street-157229

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Yeah I get what there doing here building Gallagher they have been doing it with MVP for ages now, the general public will lap it up but in reality this is a complete miss match that shouldnt be sanctioned if it were up to me,

who is coaching these guys going pro with no prospects other than being a punch bag, theres a lad who fights in England look at this for a record, he must train himself

http://www.sherdog.com/fighter/Reece-Street-157229

http://m.sherdog.com/fighter/record/Will-Cairns-111543

Finished in round one 4 times in the space of a month.. wow, fair play to him for not packing it in :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭dashoonage

The spike guide for next weekend show Bellator Italy at 21:00 and Bellator Ireland at 23:00 on the Saturday night......everyone sssshhhhh for 24 hours :P what a joke by bellator in all fairness.

Found a more complete record for him.
    Mixed Martial Arts.com has it as 5-7 for ammy. That's marginally better. But still record-padder stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 irish150

is this being broadcast on any tv stations in uk or ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭BOHS

Anyone know what the chances are of the cheapest tickets going back on sale?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

Tempted to go to this and get a cheap seat and sneak down. Bellator card looks appetising. Lot of cans on the prelims though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Sold out on ticketmaster now.

Might see if I can hunt one down from one of the fighters before Friday.

They sold out the entire arena? cant be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,545 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

They sold out the entire arena? cant be right.

I'd guess they didn't release tickets for all of the upper sections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

Half 4 first fight what a joke everyone will be working till 5 half 5

How else do you ram that amount of fights into one day? The first few fights will be absolute nobodies flapping at each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

How else do you ram that amount of fights into one day? The first few fights will be absolute nobodies flapping at each other.

You do it on a Saturday when most people will be off

The point is it should have been on a Saturday.

Even without the fact that most Dubs will be working, there's a ton of others from around the country like myself who would have loved to go but wouldn't make it to Dublin til nearly 9.

I'm sure bamma and Bellator booked the most convenient, available date.

Would you prefer they waited until Saturday and held it in a gaa Hall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

4 SBG fighters in the first 4 fights. Keith McCabe, Blaine O'Driscoll and Keifer Crosbie won't be flapping at anyone. 3 very good fighters. I don't know much about the other lad Ian Cleary though.

Would you prefer they waited until Saturday and held it in a gaa Hall?

Ah cmon you get how having on a Friday is a balls for a lot of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Most Bellator events are on a Friday. I don't get the complaints tbh.

I agree.
    I land in Dublin on the Saturday. Absolute balls that they then picked the day before I get there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭califano

Friday suits me best as it spreads the sport out over the weekend. Whats with all the late indignation like we have only now found out its on a Friday!?.

Indignation was always there. Just didn't bother complaining til now. Haha

Would live to have gone. Really enjoyed the last Bamma.

DrPhilG wrote: »
    The point is it should have been on a Saturday.

Even without the fact that most Dubs will be working, there's a ton of others from around the country like myself who would have loved to go but wouldn't make it to Dublin til nearly 9.

The event was booked months ago. Should have pencilled in for a day off work if you wanted to go badly enough..

Anyone looking for cheap tickets the SBG lads still have a few €49 tickets for sale.

rogieop wrote: »
    The event was booked months ago. Should have pencilled in for a day off work if you wanted to go badly enough..

I don't have any leave left.

Not sure why everyone is freaking out to defend the honour of Bamma and Bellator.

It's a simple statement, I wish it had been on a Saturday as I would have gone.

DrPhilG wrote: »
    I don't have any leave left.

Not sure why everyone is freaking out to defend the honour of Bamma and Bellator.

It's a simple statement, I wish it had been on a Saturday as I would have gone.

Im not freaking out at all i just think its a bit of a moan over nothing really.

Anyway, anyone any decent shouts for parking in and around the area? Bringing my nephews with me which means no booze so may aswell drive as pay 45 quid return on the bus for 3 of us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Friday is a stupid day for it to be fair and kicking off at 4:30pm is not ideal either.

I know they were probably stuck in terms of getting a date, but at this time of year many people don't have annual leave left or are stuck with Christmas parties.

If this was on a Saturday they'd have got a much better attendance.

And yes, I am sulking because I can't go :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,416 ✭✭✭xtal191