Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

House share issue

Options
  • 13-10-2016 11:48am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭

Hi there, I'm looking for some advice.
    I moved into a house share there yesterday. Had viewed the house previously and thought all was well until I met the housemates.

During the viewing I was assured by the landlord that they were professionals and that it was a no smoking house and noise at a bare minimum. Perfect requirements for my needs as I'm a working professional myself.

Within minutes of meeting the housemates I knew something was wrong. Each of them was smoking within minutes of the landlady leaving and the noise level became extremely unacceptable. First questions I was asked by them revolved around do you mind being around ''weed smokers'' and how often would I be up for going out during the week. The hygiene/cleanliness of the house was also extremely poor in comparison to during my viewing.

An argument erupted between of the tenants and her boyfriend who appears to be more or less living there.
    It also transpired that only one was a professional and the others were in receipt of social welfare.
    Over the course of 2 hours I witnessed numerous examples of antisocial (scumbag) behavior, between bitching about the previous tenant and an attempt to steal food that I had just brought with me.

I packed my stuff and left the house within 2 hours of moving in. I've informed the landlord of my intent to move out as I had entered the house under false pretenses.