Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Waiting Room -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

Wax100 wrote: »
    Yes sorry! Half asleep here haha.

To get the per week amount
    €23,750 divided by 52 = €457
    This wouldn't include your allowances
    So if you worked a Sunday or a late shift the previous week that amount would surpass €570 and then after you'll be deducted tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Wax100

What types of allowances are provided? And that's what probationers come home with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Coffeeguzzler

I've read through this thread and have seen that the next official start date is the 13th of Feb...Where did you get this info? Is that 100%?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 noelctb

I was talking to the appointment office 2 week's ago and they said that the 1st induction week would b the end of January

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Gnr_Iver

Any updates lads ?? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭JustCaff

Gnr_Iver wrote: »
    Any updates lads ?? :)

Haven't heard a thing at all, hopefully midway through the month we'll hear a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Vamp369

All quiet, nothing.

Yea same as myself , no sign of movement at all :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Dingle20144

Things are very quite on boards lately..... 🀔

A friend of mine applied for the most recent campaign in sept. At the garda presentation after stage 2 in Dublin, the group were told to be ready for the call in January as they think a lot will be going in then.
    Sounds a bit odd as there's at least another 300 here waiting from our 2015 campaign waiting for the call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭blueforce89

Depending how people perform in each Stage (and how long vetting takes) people from the September campaign could be going down in January. The Garda college isn't interested when you applied, just that you've cleared all stages. Where did you hear 300 were waiting??

JustCaff wrote: »
    A friend of mine applied for the most recent campaign in sept. At the garda presentation after stage 2 in Dublin, the group were told to be ready for the call in January as they think a lot will be going in then.
    Sounds a bit odd as there's at least another 300 here waiting from our 2015 campaign waiting for the call.

Thats fairly strange already. There is definitely a lot of us still waiting from the 2015 campaign, myself included. It would be an absolute joke if people from the Sept campaign got in before us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭VW73

Anything is possible, with ppl deferring stages, failing and having to repeat, laser eye treatment, vetting delaying ppl. You actually can't roughly judge when you might get that email. Be all worth it in the end.

The positive thing from my orientation is that we were told that 800 would go down next year. Four intakes of 200 so I could easily see the majority of anyone who's passsed every stage going down at some point next year. Keep the heads up for now and work on the fitness!

Good to hear. Hopefully get the email to start at some point.

Re the 800, they may even try to get more in. Will take a long time to get the numbers up.

Anyone get an update on the status of their vetting ? No luck for myself so far :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 kfitzerp

Anyone get an update on the status of their vetting ? No luck for myself so far :(
    I checked this morning as it was a month since I last checked. Same story. I will leave it for another month I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

Quick question, just looking for anyone who has any experience with the following.

Anyone who has extended family in Northern Ireland have a holdup with vetting?

I myself having never lived abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 CW95

Well lads anyone be able to hazard a guess at when the next intake of 2017 would be after the February intake? I know nothing is set in stone yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭BobbyDaisy

When you contact appointments do you's usually ring or email? I'll sent them an email yesterday but never got a reply

I'm also from 2015 campaign! Met my Sargent a month ago and been waiting the last month to meet the super? Was anybody in this situation? She said it would only take a week.

BobbyDaisy wrote: »
    When you contact appointments do you's usually ring or email? I'll sent them an email yesterday but never got a reply

I always email, usually reply within a day or two

I'm also from 2015 campaign! Met my Sargent a month ago and been waiting the last month to meet the super? Was anybody in this situation? She said it would only take a week.

You deffo need to contact HR about this just in case they've forgotten about it. You shouldn't be waiting that long just to meet the super. I met my local Sgt on a Friday then met the super on the Monday. Feels like a very long time ago now :)

The Sgt was super nice and even gave me her number to contact her if I needed anything. But I also know a Sgt and he said it would seem cheeky to contact her about it! What will I say to HR? Thanks for the reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭LandT

The Sgt was super nice and even gave me her number to contact her if I needed anything. But I also know a Sgt and he said it would seem cheeky to contact her about it! What will I say to HR? Thanks for the reply.

It wouldn't be cheeky if she gave you her number. Just ask when you should be expecting to hear from the super as it's been over a month now, they usually contact your local station then and jog there memory. For me though it was the Sargent that set up my meeting with the super so maybe she would be worth a quick phone call.

LandT wrote: »
    It wouldn't be cheeky if she gave you her number. Just ask when you should be expecting to hear from the super as it's been over a month now, they usually contact your local station then and jog there memory. For me though it was the Sargent that set up my meeting with the super so maybe she would be worth a quick phone call.

Yeah she said she will be getting in touch with him. I might wait until Friday and if I hear nothing I'll give her a ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭LandT

Yeah she said she will be getting in touch with him. I might wait until Friday and if I hear nothing I'll give her a ring.
    Awh I'd definitely contact Today and something might be done before Friday then for you :-)

I know what you mean but it just doesn't feel right contacting her directly! Ha ha

I'll be heading down to my station shortly to see if the Sgt knows anything about the vetting delay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Alfa1949

seems to be a slackening off in comms from HR, I'm still waiting on a repeat physical since September

Rang HR yesterday and finally my vetting is back so February is lookin good.

noelctb wrote: »

How long have you been waiting?

noelctb wrote: »

Good stuff, Hopefully you'll get an offer for Feb:D

Wish I had a bit of luck with my vetting. Wish I had never lived outside of Ireland now haha.

The dream still remains a dream, for now...

I had everything completed by July except my vetting was delaying an awful lot..hope ye get gud news soon..try ringing d office tend to give more information

I know what you mean but it just doesn't feel right contacting her directly! Ha ha

Hi, it's not cheeky it's shown initiative, She wouldn't have giving number number if didn't want you to use if necessary and look at it this way you will have another part of stage 4 completed!

Just off the phone to Public Jobs, they rang to tell me that my photo I.D had gone missing during the process and they need another one sent in to them. Surely that means my vetting hasn't started yet? Feb not looking too great any more :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭OhThatsGreasy

Just off the phone to Public Jobs, they rang to tell me that my photo I.D had gone missing during the process and they need another one sent in to them. Surely that means my vetting hasn't started yet? Feb not looking too great any more :/

They "misplaced" copies of sensitive documents for my application recently.

And did that delay your application in any way? Hope that my vetting has started already or else I'm sure to miss the intake in February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭OhThatsGreasy

And did that delay your application in any way? Hope that my vetting has started already or else I'm sure to miss the intake in February.

Don't think it did. I was able to provide them with the necessary paperwork again shortly after they had contacted me. I've met my local Sgt. and have gotten a date for my medical next month.

Rang up today vetting still not complete girl said she optimistic it would be back by the time the next round of offers are set to be out but couldn't give me a guarantee on it but also said that it's strange it is taking so long as I have no relatives abroad.

Rang up Appointments, got the great news my vetting is back all clear and depending on OOM should get word late Dec or early Jan about starting in February.

FYI I submitted my vetting forms in mid Apr 16.

Vamp369 wrote: »
    Rang up Appointments, got the great news my vetting is back all clear and depending on OOM should get word late Dec or early Jan about starting in February.

That's great congrats! I only submitted my forms in August so shouldn't be complaining there are people waiting a lot longer than I have

Vamp369 wrote: »

Great stuff :) All your worries can be put to bed now. Only a little bit of waiting left ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭AM11

called up for the first time since september and still nothing back :(

AM11 wrote: »
    called up for the first time since september and still nothing back :(

Same as lad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 OMG!!!

Same as lad!

Same as me too still nothing

It would be great to hear something before Christmas. But I can't see it happening to be honest.