Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forage harvester conversion

• 14-10-2016 9:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13

Converting a harvester to tow behind a quad to cut rushes.Have it stripped down to bare minimum and ready for an engine.
    It didn't come with a gearbox.
    Not sure what way to go now.
    Would a motorbike engine run it or do I need to look at another way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Converting a harvester to tow behind a quad to cut rushes.Have it stripped down to bare minimum and ready for an engine.
    It didn't come with a gearbox.
    Not sure what way to go now.
    Would a motorbike engine run it or do I need to look at another way?

An engine looped with some belts on a pulley in a 3- triangle format with a manual "over centre" lever to pull to engage on one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

I would think a petrol engine of that size would stall in heavy rush.....un less ground speed of quad was kept slow....

..could an old rotovator with very sharp blades or the like be used?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,644 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Would not have thought it would have tuentorque to run the harvester to effectively top without stalling.

Surely something like a 17hp B&S might be more suited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,228 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I suppose its a single chop harvester?
    What width?
    Even the 46 or 48 inch width harvester needed at least 1 horse power per inch for silage grass. Topping light stuff like buttercups and tufts of grass you'd get away with less.
    Could you look for an engine out of a scrap Starlet or polo or some such? Older the better, with no ECU and running on carbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭ford 5600

As Nek says , you would need at least 1 HP per inch cutting width , and in dense rushes 2 HP would be needed to have any sort of progress.
    Is there no one near you for hire with a tractor and mulcher ? The only way to do that job. Not dear for what they are doing. I have had one doing both furze and rushes , and the tractor died off more at the rushes. 125 HP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Jaysus lads i think all ye have have him left with now are two wheels and a drawbar!

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Astroman1968

Thanks lads.
    Some good info there.53 " single chop.was going to use flails instead of blades that were on originally and spin shaft opposite way and blow stuff out the back.
    Looks like small car engine and gearbox to run this.
    Do work on country with licker and had enquirers about cutting rushes as well.
    Quad is Yamaha 700 so no bother pulling it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,228 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If you turn it in reverse, will it cut at all? They use a pulling action, and shear the material against the front of the housing.
    What do you mean when you say "use flails instead of blades"? Were all single chops not equipped with a wide flat blade?
    If you take the spout off at the first joint, it will blow upwards and backwards. Not an unusual set-up to see fellows topping with. Some makers even made a deflector for this very purpose.

Was looking at a flail mower made by Wessex.They had an L shaped blade that cut and grass was put out back of mower.
    Take your point about it not cutting in reverse.
    Have top off at first joint and could put funnel there all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Old diesel engine with gearbox and output shaft from a boat could work well, can be ran on green too. But weight could be a problem it'll take a fair quad to pull a setup like that through soft ground.
    Diesel cement mixer engine could be an idea too but might not have the power to drive it in heavy stuff

Fair enough.hoping to put engine in centre and not have all weight on drawbar.
    Sounds if that could be good option.

Have a Perkins 504-2 engine.
    Anyone know were to source parts?
    Piece of manifold missing.
    Going down route of engine/gearbox system similar to boat.Can drive shaft on big pulley wheel on mower from this.know it will be heavy,but have option of using a MF 135 to pull set up.

Made a flail mower in the end up lads.

There she is in all her glory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭mayota

What engine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭emaherx

Well, you took your time! 😁

Looks the part, happy with the cut?

• Registered Users Posts: 17 smiththeglen

Looks good. Any video of it in action?

Kubota z400 2 cylinder diesel.

Can't get video up here for some reason.

Check weed licking Inishowen facebook page.

Plenty up there.