Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's going on at Quinn's Cross Roundabout?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

EmptyTree wrote: »
    Yes of course there would be a significant amount of traffic if the tunnel didn't exsist, but the tunnel does exsist and I've never suggested otherwise.

Okay wow, so either the existence of the tunnel changes the location of quin roundabout or all traffic goes 100% one way or the other.

You weren't involved in the compensation negotiations for shortfall in traffic were you? From the public money side I mean - your expectations of numbers of people happy to spend €4 on the round trip seems a bit naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I'm happy to spend it if it means I avoid being stuck in traffic.

I see they've been doing more work there!
    f5c2db7399fe63a49ad892bb61f8c17c.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Tim76

How is this still going on? They seem to be making absolutely no progress.

What the hell are they doing during the day? Making mannequin challenge videos??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭davo2001

Tim76 wrote: »
    How is this still going on? They seem to be making absolutely no progress.

What the hell are they doing during the day? Making mannequin challenge videos??

Fu(k all going on tbh, there were 6 workers there on Friday but literally just standing around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭dashoonage

UK contractor lads. Gotta get the day works in pre brexit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Nothing seems to be getting done here at all lately, the exits and entry on to Fr Russell Road are still like something out of Afghanistan. All this work has actually done is make the roundabout much worse than it was originally, a complete balls up. LCC need to give these cowboys doing it the boot and get a reliable contractor in to complete.

Two small children and a dog were recently lost into the road crossings on the N69 they have sunk so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

dashoonage wrote: »
    Two small children and a dog were recently lost into the road crossings on the N69 they have sunk so much.

That might also be where the contractors have disapeared to, might be time for a search party! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,276 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It might not be the contractors fault, they normally complete a job they are payed to do as there is usually financial penalties if they don't complete it on time. This situation is more to do with either a lack of funding to complete the work imo or as mentioned earlier in this thread, the geniuses that designed the realignment have now realized they made a balls of it and are scampering to change the design again. Contractors are not going to sit around waiting for civil servants to eventually get their **** together, they have probably gone on to complete another job somewhere else.

hqdefault.jpg

Why was this project outsourced to a UK company? Obviously they tendered the lowest price (I assume) but should it not be given to an Irish company?

Would it not be better overall for the economy to have kept it "In house" so to speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,276 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

These contracts are put out to tender afaik.

Sure if it was outsourced to a Irish company at a much higher price then people would be bitching about how it was a waste of taxpayer's money when some other crowd could do it much cheaper. Anyway the majority of our road network are built by non Irish companies.

Boys were flat out on Saturday....N69 traffic lights...one lad and a minidigger moving a bit of soil around.

Tis grand like...the Saturday before xmas is a perfect time to do a bit of work on one of the main roads into the city.

It seems they may have decided to retain the water feature on the north side of the quinns cross roundabout too.

Thats actually classified as a wildlife reserve.

• Registered Users Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Tim76

Happy Christmas to the lads who've worked so hard on the roundabout all year.

There has been a few ups & downs, slips and slides and many a shock absorber tested but ye've won our hearts with yer hard work and determination.

Let’s hope that we’re not wishing ye a Merry Christmas next year but at the rate ye’re going there’s a good chance of it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,463 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Quinn's Cross car park today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

I've enjoyed the last few months driving past and watching guys standing around and using their mobile phones. I've also enjoyed my car getting destroyed and just the overall traffic mayhem this joke has caused to that side of Raheen. Keep up the good work guys!

Stab*City wrote: »
    I've enjoyed the last few months driving past and watching guys standing around and using their mobile phones. I've also enjoyed my car getting destroyed and just the overall traffic mayhem this joke has caused to that side of Raheen. Keep up the good work guys!

It'll be lonely this Christmas, lonely and cold,
    It'll be lonely this Christmas without you to hold up the road

• Registered Users Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Enough is enough, send in this guy :pac:

Driving up there this morning i copped something....they have put down road markings...surely that isnt the final surface...i mean...a ford focus in front of me disappeared down a drain ffs...

anyways...wishing all the staff at fox contractors a happy xmas and all the best for 2017...im sure they will still be around this time next year.

lads...the road between the N69 and the mungret road is open, i spotted it today driving past...there is a 4ft ramp going onto it though be careful...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LB6

Came out the N69 last night. The new street lights were on...arent they just lovely...they really bring out the traffic cones.

Some movement on the n69 side of things now. looks like the outbound lane is being moved inwards to allow for a right hand turn land as youre approaching from the foynes side.

Havent dared venture up the mungret road to see whats going on.

Well there is sweet fück all work going on at the round about anyways.

davo2001 wrote: »
    Well there is sweet fück all work going on at the round about anyways.

Thats finished sure...pending the addition of the plastic ducks to the water feature

I've seen the LED streetlights since they were mentioned here. I'm a big fan of the light they give compared to the horrible yellow murk of traditional streetlights. So that's positive for the development at least.

That "fr Russel road on to roundabout" surface is a joke though.