Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trick or Treaters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

but tbh I don't see myself being open to giving out free sweets to anyone.
    Sure just charge them for the sweets in that case so. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭WhoWhatWhere

Sure just charge them for the sweets in that case so. :rolleyes:

Or I just won't take part in it? Stupid post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Or I just won't take part in it? Stupid post.
    Stupid sentiment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Toots wrote: »
    I've never had a trick or treater at my door. I live in an apartment and in the 10 years I've been here not a single one has ever showed up. I'd always have a few bits ready just in case though.

I like seeing the little kids going around dressed up,but not the drunk teens that ring the doorbell at 11pm slurring at you to give them sweets.

Tell me more :D...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

seamus wrote: »
    I don't think it was ever in fashion. I was born in the 80s and never once heard anyone say it.

Odd.

We definitely weren't "Trick or Treating" in the 80s in Ireland.

An apple or an orange and some monkey nuts.

Nobody got sweets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

We never said 'Trick or Treat' or 'help the Halloween party' or anything like that when I was a kid (early-mid 80's), we would just knock on a few doors (rural area) and when they answered we would make scary noises or something, in our plastic mask and bin-bag costume :D:D

But we did have to have a party piece or something to get our treat, none of this just holding out the bag sh1te, we had to sing a song or say a poem or do a feckin' jig or something. I do have fond memories of bobbing for pennies at home, or apple on a string, or trying to find the ring in the barm brack.

Good times, good times....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I was thinking about the bin bag costumes we used to wear and in my mind it's always because we were too poor (as a nation) to have better costumes. But thinking back, I had a Spiderman costume in the early 80s and my brother had a cowboy outfit around the same time. I can remember one or two fancy dress parties we went to in decent homemade costumes, or school plays where we wore costumes a damn sight better than a bin bag. It must have just never occurred to us to use any other sort of costume for Halloween. A bin bag with a cheap plastic monster/vampire/witch mask and possibly a witch's hat if you had a witch mask was just what you wore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

iguana wrote: »
    I was thinking about the bin bag costumes we used to wear and in my mind it's always because we were too poor (as a nation) to have better costumes. But thinking back, I had a Spiderman costume in the early 80s and my brother had a cowboy outfit around the same time. I can remember one or two fancy dress parties we went to in decent homemade costumes, or school plays where we wore costumes a damn sight better than a bin bag. It must have just never occurred to us to use any other sort of costume for Halloween. A bin bag with a cheap plastic monster/vampire/witch mask and possibly a witch's hat if you had a witch mask was just what you wore.

I won third prize in a costume contest when I was eight for going as a 'Litter Bug'. Basically, black bin bag with loads of actual rubbish stuck the outside and a grimed up face. A groundbreaking twist to the standard Halloween costume at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Only 10 days a left. Do you partake in the holiday tradition of giving sweets to the neighborhood children? Where I live we never get any to the door, but tbh I don't see myself being open to giving out free sweets to anyone. From what I've seen halloween seems to be dying out in popularity. Perhaps I'm wrong.

Halloween grows and declines in popularity depending on where you live. Halloween was big when I was younger in my area of Dublin, but now all of the children ar grown up for the most part. Its an ageing area. In parts of Dublin where young families are moving and having children obviously halloween will be bigger there. But when the elderly people in some areas die out and young families move in again then the cycle begins again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,120 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

entropi wrote: »
    We used to have that too, but trick or treating was pretty popular in my case. These days its dwindling. There's the crackdown on local bonfires and fireworks too, which puts a dampener on things since I was a kid, and takes away from the mythology behind it.

Yeah all the young fellas used to start "gathering" tyres and pallets months before Haloween....it was great training for the fire brigade it too.....
    Throwing bangers in steel bins was great craic too.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭liz lemoncello

uch wrote: »
    Nah don't answer the door to the little shíts

Didn't you trick or treat when you were a little ****?
    Hammer89 wrote: »

But the dads who dress up are worse because the level of awkwardness is ramped up 100%. They pretend they're only having a laugh but in reality they're trying to impress the attractive mothers of their kids' friend, make them think, 'Derek is such a hoot. If I ever cheat on Brian it'll be with Derek, because he's gas and clearly a hoot'.

In reality, Derek is a wanker because he forces you into the awkward position of speaking with someone you don't recognise. It's awkward for him as well because he can't just come out and say, 'It's me, Derek'. Even if they do, there's a chance I still won't know because I don't know the first or last names of anyone around here. They'd have to introduce themselves by their address or what car they drive.

Maybe I'm being a dick I dunno, but kids won't be getting sweets from me this year incase their dad is with them, which sounds a bit weird, but it's the awkwardness.

Some guy named "Derek" slept with your wife, didn't he?

Didn't you trick or treat when you were a little ****?

Some guy named "Derek" slept with your wife, didn't he?

Sounds it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I live in an apartment (ground floor with own front door) but don't get kids calling. I have no problem giving sweets to kids who make the effort to dress up and ask nicely.

As for those who say trick or treat didn't happen in their childhood - rubbish. I did trick or treat in the neighbourhood I grew up in 35 years ago.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I live in an apartment (ground floor with own front door) but don't get kids calling. I have no problem giving sweets to kids who make the effort to dress up and ask nicely.

As for those who say trick or treat didn't happen in their childhood - rubbish. I did trick or treat in the neighbourhood I grew up in 35 years ago.

That's well for ye but you can't possibly tell someone they're lying just because you did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

That's well for ye but you can't possibly tell someone they're lying just because you did it.
    There were always the same families who seemed to be "away" on Halloween night, every year.

I wonder if these were grinchy parents who just didn't want to get involved in the whole thing and instead shipped the kids down to granny and grandad for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

There's a house in our estate where they put up a sign "we do not recognise Hallowe'en please don't call", just don't put out any decorations and most people will avoid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭sjb25

There's a house in our estate where they put up a sign "we do not recognise Hallowe'en please don't call",

Prime candidate for the door bell to be rang all night and an egging in my day :) we were little ****s tho

Live in the country now so don't really get anybody calling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Yeah all the young fellas used to start "gathering" tyres and pallets months before Haloween....it was great training for the fire brigade it too.....
    Throwing bangers in steel bins was great craic too.

Well that's one thing I don't miss. Bangers going off from Mid Sep until early November.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

This Halloween, the missus and kids are away. I'm going to lock the doors, turn off the lights, lock the cats away and watch scary movies and eat unsafe amounts of sweets.

I will not answer to any trick or treater.

Last year there were so many kids, they ran into my reserve supplies of sweets.....you know, the extra few bags you buy without any intention of dishing them out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Turtle_

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    This Halloween, the missus and kids are away. I'm going to lock the doors, turn off the lights, lock the cats away and watch scary movies and eat unsafe amounts of sweets.

I will not answer to any trick or treater.

Last year there were so many kids, they ran into my reserve supplies of sweets.....you know, the extra few bags you buy without any intention of dishing them out.

I moved house a few weeks ago. No idea how many to expect! Problem is, I don't want loads of sweets left over lest I eat them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭testicles

testicles wrote: »

Ah I'm not an arsehole. I went around trick or treating when I was a kid, no reason why I wouldn't return the favour and dish out something decent. No apples or nuts, though, they were awfully disappointing. Grapes were okay though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭happyday

Turtle_ wrote: »
    Ah I'm not an arsehole. I went around trick or treating when I was a kid, no reason why I wouldn't return the favour and dish out something decent. No apples or nuts, though, they were awfully disappointing. Grapes were okay though.

Why not talk to your neighbours now and you'll know what to expect. I warned our new neighbours today to stock up. No matter how many sweets I buy its never enough. They come in groups of ten and you have to give them all something. They start knocking at about 5pm and the stragglers are still coming at 8pm. I love seeing the smallies I know but have no problem telling the teenagers with no costumes that they've had their day!

happyday wrote: »
    Why not talk to your neighbours now and you'll know what to expect. I warned our new neighbours today to stock up. No matter how many sweets I buy its never enough. They come in groups of ten and you have to give them all something. They start knocking at about 5pm and the stragglers are still coming at 8pm. I love seeing the smallies I know but have no problem telling the teenagers with no costumes that they've had their day!

Yeah, I was planning on doing that but any I know seem to have gone away! Nightmare. Might have to just bite the bullet and stock up, I've a feeling it's a busy area. I used to give out party bags with a selection of stuff, crisps, sweets,chocolate and a chupa chup but not if there's going to be loads of kids...

Turtle_ wrote: »
    Yeah, I was planning on doing that but any I know seem to have gone away! Nightmare. Might have to just bite the bullet and stock up, I've a feeling it's a busy area. I used to give out party bags with a selection of stuff, crisps, sweets,chocolate and a chupa chup but not if there's going to be loads of kids...

Party bags are a nice idea but only if you don't end up giving out 100+ of them. 😱

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

happyday wrote: »
    Party bags are a nice idea but only if you don't end up giving out 100+ of them. 😱

We did this last year. Had 80 made and ran out in about an hour and a half, went through about 110 in the end

I'm going to try and count the kids this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

so what happens if you don't have a treat??

whats the trick??

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,775 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

There's a house in our estate where they put up a sign "we do not recognise Hallowe'en please don't call", just don't put out any decorations and most people will avoid
    must be Jews

Or Muslims

Or Christians

or any religion that rejects pagan superstition and idolatry

or Pagans

because they'd be out celebrating Samhain properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Is it that hard to answer the door a few times for one night? You can buy a tub of sweets for practically nothing that'll last the night

wakka12 wrote: »
    Is it that hard to answer the door a few times for one night? You can buy a tub of sweets for practically nothing that'll last the night

Exactly, a few euro passes on the fun. Managed to get a guesstimate off a neighbour who was all like "ah you're very good to even think about them" but sure I did enough trick or treating as a kid, surely the right thing to do is hand out q few cheapo bags of meanies and penny sweets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I don't know how to talk to kids either, especially with the added pressure of their parents standing in the garden keeping watch. I'd prefer to protect my dignity and not be known as the weird neighbour who can't relate, so I'll escape up to the parent's house for a few hours.

Pac1Man wrote: »
    I don't know how to talk to kids either, especially with the added pressure of their parents standing in the garden keeping watch. I'd prefer to protect my dignity and not be known as the weird neighbour who can't relate, so I'll escape up to the parent's house for a few hours.

Yeah I can't either, so I just hand out the sweets and skip the small talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭liz lemoncello

Pac1Man wrote: »

"Ooo, who are you? Spiderman?"

"Wow, what a scary costume!"

"I love your fangs!"

It's easy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

As I was cycling home today I got a flashback of that smell of the inside of those cheap plastic monster masks from the 80s that you'd put on your face with a thin elastic going around the back... does anyone know what I'm talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,030 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Wellywoo

Those 80's masks with the tiny eyes and tiny mouth piece that you'd always be sticking your tongue out.....the perfect accessory to a bin bag :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Oh God ! The sun is almost down..won't be long now before the little feckers come knocking.
    It usually starts here around 6 ish. Hopefully herself will stay home this year and answer the door so I can hide upstairs away from the madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

A few tips for anyone who struggles to speak to kids.

Only 2 kids here so far... Might be a quiet year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Very quiet tonight. No bonfires either. Plenty of fireworks though. Hoping a load of stoners will come around and take the sweets off me or il eat them myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

quiet year

edit: 15 more since then don't count your chickens before they hatch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Living in rural Ireland, I get no trick or treaters.
    Maybe 16 or 17 years ago, two locals came trick or treating, wasn't expecting them but gave them some of my chocolate stash.
    That was the only time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

^^^^^^^^^^

same here, live in a bungalow....nothing happening just another night really

kinda envy people who live in housing estates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

philstar wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^

same here, live in a bungalow....nothing happening just another night really

kinda envy people who live in housing estates

It has it's ups and downs I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭JoeLapira

First Halloween in our new house, which is in a housing estate and we were expecting loads of callers. We had the front of house well decorated and had enough sweets to feed a primary school. Low and behold we had 3 knocks on the door and only 11 kids between the 3. What a let down, but it does mean loads of sweets for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Haithabu

Very quiet tonight. No bonfires either.
    I can't confirm that. I was out walking in Phoenix park just before it got dark and saw at least 4 or 5 smoke columns direction Ballyfermot and maybe 2 to the north direction Cabra. Plus firecrackers everwhere.

Makes every Syrian refugee here feel like home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

And there was me thinking we were done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

Just home from trick or treat with 7 kids, 3 big shopping bags full of sweets , bars, jellies, crisps and chocolate bars. Great haul, it'll last them about a week.
    I've already gone through the bags and taken the good stuff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Had about 25 kids in total at the door. About 14 in one knock tho. They kept coming :pac:

Lots of fireworks and bonfires out here (blanchardstown)