Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea v Manchester United 23/10/16 k/o 16.00 SS1

• 22-10-2016 8:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

chel-manu-preview.jpg?w=748&h=498&crop=1

Predicted Chelsea Starting Lineup (3-4-3): Courtois; Cahill, Terry, Luiz; Azpilicueta, Matic, Kante, Alonso; Willian, Costa, Hazard

Predicted Manchester United Starting Lineup (4-2-3-1): De Gea; Valencia, Bailly, Blind, Shaw; Fellaini, Pogba; Martial, Mata, Rashford; Ibrahimovic

Chelsea are undefeated in their last 10 matches against Manchester United in all competitions.

Manchester United are undefeated in their last 6 matches in all competitions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

I hope I die in my sleep.

should be a cracker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    should be a cracker!

I've completely given up on big game Jose.

I'm not knocking the approach. I just don't expect it to be entertaining for the neutral.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Both sides park the bus, leaving the ball untouched in the centre circle for 90 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Another example of Jose killing the beautiful game. Ferguson will be turning in his grave watching this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

tXhguB.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,050 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    should be a cracker!

Do you work for Sky's marketing Dept?

Based on what exactly?

They hyped up Red Monday for weeks, and I actually stopped watching it with 20mins to go, it was that dull.

I think this one might be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭wiz569

NIMAN wrote: »
    Do you work for Sky's marketing Dept?

Based on what exactly?

They hyped up Red Monday for weeks, and I actually stopped watching it with 20mins to go, it was that dull.

I think this one might be the same.

I presume he was being sarcastic?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Hopefully Celtic and Rangers will go the whole way to Penalties so I won't have to suffer watching all of this before we hopefully become Champions tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Blue Sunday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Blue Sunday.

Couldn't care less in either game but they will be on in the pub

Well both teams have thoroughly decent forwards so even when both play defensively their forwards will get a chance or three most games.

You'd have to fancy Chelsea really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

niallo27 wrote: »
    Another example of Jose killing the beautiful game. Ferguson will be turning in his grave watching this.

Did Fergie pass during the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Negative park the bus his whole career Mourinho will show up and do negative things and ruin football for all the little kids in the world

Unless of course United win then the usual suspects will have to refuse to acknowledge this game existed like the Fener game on Thursday

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Rayne, go visit a doctor, you seem to have developed a chip shaped object on your shoulder. Most of your posts these days are ramble bus ramble ramble bus ramble!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Rayne, go visit a doctor, you seem to have developed a chip shaped object on your shoulder. Most of your posts these days are ramble bus ramble ramble bus ramble!

Ya, it's a wonder alright. Couldn't be due to people posting rubbishy bullshyt trying to get a rise, could it?
    Why can't Utd go there and attempt to play football and beat them just like Liverpool did?, I can't get my head around this mentality yous are developing.

Captain-Picard-Facepalm.jpg

Ya, it's a wonder alright. Couldn't be due to people posting rubbishy bullshyt trying to get a rise, could it?

I was being genuine on the Utd thread, I don't understand why you can't 'do a Liverpool' and just go there and attack Chelsea.

As far as Rayne goes, he's initiating the bs with an abundance of bus related posts as far as I can see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

I don't understand why you can't 'do a Liverpool' and just go there and attack

And do a Liverpool???? Which Liverpool would this be? Would it be the current team that's managed by Jurgen Kloop (when ye win cuz when ye lose it's still Rodgers team) or would this be Rafas Liverpool who deployed the exact same do not conceded tactics as Mourinhio?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

MrMac84 wrote: »
    And do a Liverpool???? Which Liverpool would this be? Would it be the current team that's managed by Jurgen Kloop (when ye win cuz when ye lose it's still Rodgers team) or would this be Rafas Liverpool who deployed the exact same do not conceded tactics as Mourinhio?

Well as Rafa left the club six and a half years ago I imagine it'll be the current model he's referencing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Well as Rafa left the club six and a half years ago I imagine it'll be the current model he's referencing.

Did Liverpool attack v United?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,214 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

niallo27 wrote: »

Ah yes, Fergie of the swash buckling, never dull, "heavy metal" football ideology.....who is also alive, so him turning in a grave would be particularly worrying.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Polo_Mint wrote: »

Two chances, exciting stuff.

They absolutely won the passing anyway

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

They absolutely won the passing anyway

Looked like Liverpool were managed by vangaal. Loads of passes and possession but feck all chances.

Liverpool with a squad of players that wouldn't make the Utd starting XI, managed to go to Chelsea and play an open expansive, stylish brand of football and beat them on their own patch, deservedly so as well. So I can't understand why some Utd fans think they are entering the Lion's Den and the only possible way to approach the game is to go there and play the 6-3-1 again. Mourinho seems to be brainwashing some of the fans, the squad ye have the money that was spent deserves better than Pulisball.

Didn't a Liverpool player try escorting Young off the pitch in the dying minutes to save time only for Liverpool to play the ball the full length of the pitch back to their keeper?

Liverpool with a squad of players that wouldn't make the Utd starting XI, managed to go to Chelsea and play an open expansive, stylish brand of football and beat them on their own patch, deservedly so as well. So I can't understand why some Utd fans think they are entering the Lion's Den and the only possible way to approach the game is to go there and play the 6-3-1 again. Mourinho seems to be brainwashing some of the fans, the squad ye have the money that was spent deserves better than Pulisball.

So why didn't you do that at home v United?

Do you find it soothing to repeat the same thing ad nauseum? At least put some effort in man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Do a Liverpool :pac:

So why didn't you do that at home v United?

Why is it considered acceptable to some Liverpool fans to create so few opportunities at home when they could march into the Lions Den and play an expansive, free flowing brand of football and stamp their authority on the opposition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Based off their games vs Arsenal and Liverpool, I think Chelsea can be got at. Their defence is not what it was, and I can see a mistake from Luiz or Cahill gifting Utd 3pts.

1-0 to Utd... And I'll say Rashford to do it.

I just hope we're not staring down the barrel of another 0-0. I've been stung by 3 of them this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Ah yes, Fergie of the swash buckling, never dull, "heavy metal" football ideology.....who is also alive, so him turning in a grave would be particularly worrying.

You'd wonder how many people actually watched our away games in the CL under Ferguson, particularly for the last 6-7 years of his tenure??? :p

• Liverpool all over a Chelsea v Man Utd thread
    Amazingly this isn't the first time

The actual game, I fancy us getting a result. Form has been steadily building since the start of the season. A minor blip a couple of weeks back but the progression with this team is evident. It's going to take time but the early signs look good.
    Chelsea in a similar position to us but honestly can see us nicking the win by the slightest of margins.
    2-1 Utd

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

As it says in the title, this is a Chelsea v United thread, not Liverpool v United thread so from now on let's stick to that please.

Tit-for-tat type posts so far and in the future will be reviewed and may be deleted and carded where necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

United have such a bad record at Stamford Bridge but I'm hoping Mourinho knowing all the Chelsea players inside out will work in our favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Jose knows how to win leagues.

Depending on his opinion of Chelsea, it may be more important not to lose to them than to pick up 3 points.

It won't be pretty if that's the case but it's hard to say his approach is flawed when it comes to winning titles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

There is no point in United playing for draws away to the big teams if we can't beat Stoke and Watford. Mourinho could afford this kind of negative nonsense when his teams were rolling over smaller teams. We are not on top of the table or anywhere close to it so being negative is useless and with draws we'll just fall further behind because there are so many teams ahead of us, and some of them are going to pick up three points.

The sort of performance against Liverpool was a joke and if it's the same today it will just show that Mourinho has given up any hope of winning the league in favour of trying to scramble into the top 4 through any means necessary.

Will Mourinhio attack from the off and surprise Chelsea? Get an early goal and park the bus if needs be. He has the players to go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,943 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

I can't take another 90 minutes of that Liverpool game. Jose please take a leaf out of Paul Ince's notebook.

lyDW2pm.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Umaro wrote: »
    Based off their games vs Arsenal and Liverpool, I think Chelsea can be got at. Their defence is not what it was, and I can see a mistake from Luiz or Cahill gifting Utd 3pts.

1-0 to Utd... And I'll say Rashford to do it.

I just hope we're not staring down the barrel of another 0-0. I've been stung by 3 of them this week.

They have switched to three at the back and it seems to have steadied them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭weisses

Sure today Man U would be capable of shooting at target more then once ..... Or is this me being unrealistic ?

If United get a draw today we'll be 5 points from the top having played the champions, city, Liverpool and Chelsea in the first 9 games. The two top teams have already dropped 7 points too so it's not like anyone is running away with it. We're clearly not into our stride yet but a point today wouldn't be a bad result in the grand scheme of things. If we can manage a win we'll only be 3 points back which puts us into a really good position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Barr

Chelsea players should be well up for this and breakdown the Utd bus.

2-0 Chelsea

Jayop wrote: »
    If United get a draw today we'll be 5 points from the top having played the champions, city, Liverpool and Chelsea in the first 9 games. The two top teams have already dropped 7 points too so it's not like anyone is running away with it. We're clearly not into our stride yet but a point today wouldn't be a bad result in the grand scheme of things. If we can manage a win we'll only be 3 points back which puts us into a really good position.

It'll be 7 if City win...

Ssshhhh don't be ruining a perfectly good post with actual facts.

I'm going with 2 1 to United. Lovely jovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Tough match to make a prediction.

Chelsea have had more time to prepare for the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,378 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Jayop wrote: »

United (listed above) and Liverpool (Arsenal, Spurs, Leicester, Chelsea and United) have had very tough opening games so both teams are doing well.

United have a new manager as well and he's trying to shore everything up at the back first and foremost. I don't like Mourinho myself but you can't deny he is an excellent manager. Given time and money he will win a league at United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Mourinho would be right where he wanted to be if the players had put one of the tons of chances we had against Stoke away, two draws against Pool and Chelsea would have been fine as we'd more than likely only be 2 or 3 points off the top in that scenario.

The idea that he's going to rip up his plan and go all out attack against Pool and Chelsea just because we had a blip against Stoke is madness. Mourinho is a long term thinker, he always has been. 1 or 2 points is usually crucial near the end of the season and if he can get them almost guaranteed against the bigger clubs he'll take them because he's almost perfected the tactic at this stage.

Writing off anybody with 25 games to go is crazy.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

A Chelsea win and City draw would mean there would be 1 point between the top 5. Stupidly tight whatever happens, but that would be very unusual even at this stage of the season I'd say.