Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice Sought

Options
  • 25-10-2016 10:33am
    Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭

Hi all,

Just looking for some advice here. Sorry for the essay.

I work in finance, specifically the funds industry. I work in quite a niche department, i.e. not Accounting/Transfer Agency/Financial Reporting or any of the bigger teams. I have been in this department since I graduated and have a lot of experience, and people with good experience in this department are hard to find.

Ill try simplify what I do without giving too much away, as again because its such a niche department that I could be easily identified.

I worked for Company A in Department A for 3 years. Department A has a lot of analytical responsibilities as well as delivering results of those analytics to clients. I was quite good at this. As I progressed, I got very involved with the technical side of things, i.e. maintaining the systems we would use and improving them. An opportunity arose for me to join Department B in the same company on loan for a period. Department B used the same systems, and needed assistance from experienced users of those systems to manage a heavy workflow. The aim was that I would return with an increased knowledge of the systems (as Department B did a lot more background work on these systems that I wouldnt have had exposure to in Department A). That all went well, and I returned to Department A after my 6 month loan.