Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster (Pro12 runners up) vs Connacht (Pro12 Champions), RDS 29/10 17.15 SKY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

FACECUTTR wrote: »
    Leinster fans will be screaming in terror as the great unwashed invade the pale just like the 8th of December.

We'll know that Connacht have really arrived as a rugby power on the day when the game is moved from the RDS to the Aviva to meet the demand for tickets. Until then, it's all mouth and no trousers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I think it is Connacht who will be clinging to the past, the spirit of Murrayfield, etc, for a lot longer than Leinster will need to look to glories past, to sate their thirst for trophies.

For this weekend's game, I think that day, May 28th, 2016, that day which will live in infamy, I fear Connacht will find, that all they have done is to awaken a sleeping giant and fill him with a terrible resolve. Blowing it way out of proportion, my ass.

65708497.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭FACECUTTR

After Connacht win the real double this season the Aviva is a must next season......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I think we can all agree that the real losers here are the two teams playing the B fixture in Belfast tomorrow night who nobody is talking about.

Congrats to Connacht. They're become part of the most eagerly anticipated fixture by virtue of being the best province's closest challengers. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

Is this the most passive aggressive thread in rugby.....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Buer wrote: »
    I think we can all agree that the real losers here are the two teams playing the B fixture in Belfast tomorrow night who nobody is talking about.

Congrats to Connacht. They're become part of the most eagerly anticipated fixture by virtue of being the best province's closest challengers. Well done.

Venjur hasn't got around to stirring the pot yet

• Site Banned Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Adbrowne

I think it is Connacht who will be clinging to the past, the spirit of Murrayfield, etc, for a lot longer than Leinster will need to look to glories past, to sate their thirst for trophies.

For this weekend's game, I think that day, May 28th, 2016, that day which will live in infamy, I fear Connacht will find, that all they have done is to awaken a sleeping giant and fill him with a terrible resolve. Blowing it way out of proportion, my ass.

Connacht only won the pro12 because of the stupid money making playoff system. Leinster finished top of the table so are the real champions.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

That day Connacht forces attacked Westmeath.

That day Connacht forces attacked Offaly.

That day Connacht forces attacked Kildare.

That day Connacht forces attacked Louth.

And that day the Connachtese attacked Dublin.

Connacht has, therefore, undertaken a surprise offensive extending throughout the Leinster area. The facts of that day speak for themselves. The people of Leinster have already formed their opinions and well understand the implications to the very life and safety of our province.

As commander in chief of the Leinster fans on Boards.ie I have directed that all measures be taken for our defense. But always will our whole province remember the character of the onslaught against us. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
    For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
    Shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile,
    This day shall gentle his condition;
    And gentlemen in Leinster now a-bed
    Shall think themselves accurs'd they were not here,
    And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks
    That fought with us,
    a few days aft' Saint Crispin's day.

Adbrowne wrote: »
    Connacht only won the pro12 because of the stupid money making playoff system. Leinster finished top of the table so are the real champions.

Must try harder. :rolleyes:

Zzippy wrote: »
    Must try harder. :rolleyes:

Connacht Rugby 1885 - 2015.

We shall defend our province, whatever the cost may be, we shall fight at Murrayfield, we shall fight at the Sportsground, we shall fight in the RDS and in the Aviva, we shall never surrender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

That day Connacht forces attacked Westmeath.

That day Connacht forces attacked Offaly.

That day Connacht forces attacked Kildare.

That day Connacht forces attacked Louth.

And that day the Connachtese attacked Dublin.

That day Galway was liberated by the Indians

Tickle me has gone full Baldrick. Must be on the Buckie...

7625daf8e56c533db097e6ad9452ac6e.jpg

Tickle me has gone full Baldrick. Must be on the Buckie...

I'm remembering that fateful day in May. We knew the world would not be the same. A few people laughed, a few people cried, most people were silent.

I remembered the line from the Hindu scripture, the Bhagavad-Gita. Vishnu is trying to persuade the Prince that he should do his duty and to impress him takes on his multi-armed form and says, "Now, I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds."

I suppose we all thought that one way or another.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Can't half tell you mod Literature...

I'm remembering that fateful day in May. We knew the world would not be the same. A few people laughed, a few people cried, most people were silent.

I remembered the line from the Hindu scripture, the Bhagavad-Gita. Vishnu is trying to persuade the Prince that he should do his duty and to impress him takes on his multi-armed form and says, "Now, I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds."

I suppose we all thought that one way or another.

Up and atom

Sure you took the words right out of my mouth.

awec wrote: »

You're enjoying the creative writing today with the thread titles! ;)

awec wrote: »

It's not literature, it's history!

This guy gets is...
    wp_rathead wrote: »
    Up and atom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭typhoony

will be more interesting to watch the Cardiff v Scarlets game tomorrow evening and record the other match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Is this threat really still going? Would have bet the house the Connacht supporters would have left early. Seems to be a tactic they're using this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Is this the most passive aggressive thread in rugby.....?

It's actually the most aggressive passive thread....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭LostArt

Cv2S_hjVUAAJcYB.jpg

Just the ten changes then..

If we win, we're going to have to do it almost entirely up front. Bench will have a big say in proceedings.

Strong pack so can well see it. Hopefully it's a dry day and Connacht can get it out to the backs quickly... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭gavkm27

Connacht team to face Leinster

15 Tiernan O’Halloran (107)
    14 Niyi Adeolokun (39)
    13 Peter Robb (20)
    12 Craig Ronaldson (54)
    11 Cian Kelleher (6)
    10 Jack Carty (61)
    9 Kieran Marmion (108)

1 JP Cooney (34)
    2 Dave Heffernan (64)
    3 Conor Carey (4)
    4 Quinn Roux (36)
    5 Andrew Browne (147)
    6 Sean O’Brien (22)
    7 Jake Heenan (39)
    8 John Muldoon (captain) (282)

Replacements:

16 Shane Delahunt (20)
    17 Dominic Robertson-McCoy (1)
    18 Finlay Bealham (64)
    19 James Cannon (0)
    20 Eoin McKeon (92)
    21 Caolin Blade (27)
    22 Bundee Aki (47)
    23 Stacey Ili (3)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Our Sean O'Brien is better

That's a very meaty Connacht front 5. Need to move them around as much as possible.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭brockboy02

8 outside backs from leinster starting this weekend.

That's confidence right there we don't need to start Bundee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

That's a very meaty Connacht front 5. Need to move them around as much as possible.

I really don't think Leinster want to do that TBH.

He's scared of Noel Reid so Connacht are keeping him safe.

From a Leinster perspective:

1-10: Yaaay!
    15: Yaaaaay!

11-14: Eh......

apart from the fact he is carrying a knock and would be unlikely to play a full 80 if he started.

molloyjh wrote: »
    From a Leinster perspective:

1-10: Yaaay!
    15: Yaaaaay!

11-14: Eh......

11-14: interesting, can't wait to see how they get on.

Is this the first time both SOB's have faced off against each other? A titanic battle... forged in the mists of time. The legend, long a champion, now faces his greatest challenge, the young usurper. Who will win, for... THERE CAN BE ONLY ONE!

400261.jpg||400262.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,714 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

SoB and Conan in the same pack...

Didn't think we'd see Byrne and Daly starting on the wings at the same time.

Is this the first time both SOB's have faced off against each other? A titanic battle... forged in the mists of time. The legend, long a champion, now faces his greatest challenge, the young usurper. Who will win, for... THERE CAN BE ONLY ONE!

400261.jpg||400262.jpg

I think they were on the pitch together last season in the rds aswell

Clegg wrote: »
    Didn't think we'd see Byrne and Daly starting on the wings at the same time.

Only way ye can catch Kelleher and Niyi :P

its_phil wrote: »
    I really don't think Leinster want to do that TBH.

I'm not talking about spinning the ball wide or playing a loose game. I'm talking about moving the Connacht pack around i.e. high tempo play up front, quick recycles, pick and go or crashing the ball up 2 or 3 out in midfield and going again.

The front 5 are all big, heavy lads, particularly the props. They'll be feeling a quick pace early in the second half and Leinster have a strong bench to introduce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Clegg wrote: »
    SoB and Conan in the same pack...

Leavy in there too... :eek:

giphy.gif

I thinking Leinster may be taking a bullet for Team Ireland this weekend - our big guns are clearly now prioritised for the historic win over the All Blacks. Its as clear as black.

Stop having so many internationals in your squad then! :D

I wish we could but we have to pick up everyone elses slack sadly. Sure between international duty and the 2 development provinces there are more Leinster players available to other teams than available to Leinster. :P

Well, maybe. Connacht playing it cuter, only supplying three. Still, for the greater good and all that.

I'm not talking about spinning the ball wide or playing a loose game. I'm talking about moving the Connacht pack around i.e. high tempo play up front, quick recycles, pick and go or crashing the ball up 2 or 3 out in midfield and going again.

The front 5 are all big, heavy lads, particularly the props. They'll be feeling a quick pace early in the second half and Leinster have a strong bench to introduce.
    Toulouse tried to do that with a bigger pack lads
    Tracy, Dooley, Bent, McCarthy and JvdF is a good forward bench alright
    Delahunt, Bealham and McKeon are good forwards on bench for Connacht - unknown about McCoy and Cannon

Well, maybe. Connacht playing it cuter, only supplying three. Still, for the greater good and all that.

Yep, long-term strategy clearly working. While your lads were winning Heineken Cups we've been sitting back laughing at how often you lose your best players. You're some eejits alright!

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Slightly confused as to why Rob is benching, to be honest. Is he carrying a knock?

Very happy to see Byrne and Daly getting some action in the first team. The pack should keep us in it, but I'd be wary if the Connacht back 3 get motoring.

I see Bundee is already having his minutes managed. Welcome to the big leagues, boys :pac: