Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do Irish people refer to the Islands of North West Europe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Great Britain is the large island.
    Little Britain is the small island, which is appropriate. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Gordon Brown. You're welcome. One to stroke off your bucket list.

There's an exception to every rule and maybe it was prudent to use such language in his line of work. I'd imagine it could easily become habitual if you picked it up from peers and didn't give much thought to it. I have never *personally* heard it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

You haven't heard a lot of things Widdershins. You sure you get out enough? ;)

I've heard many's a Scot & Welsh call themselves British.

Jesus. wrote: »
    How is it faster to say Britain and Ireland than the British Isles?

No I was talking about people referring to Ireland alone. Or, if they were to say Britain and the British Isles rather than Britain and Ireland.

You haven't heard a lot of things Widdershins. You sure you get out enough? ;)

I've heard many's a Scot & Welsh call themselves British.

Yes plenty. I haven't spoken to every scot or welsh person nor have you. I'll take your word for it. As I have said it's probably a habit. It might be a political statement too. Some might call it ignorant.

It might be a political statement too.

As it would a Scot when asked are you British and he says "no I'm Scottish".

Load of nonsense really.

As it would be a Scot when asked are you British and he says "no I'm Scottish".

Load of nonsense really.

Yep and why shouldn't he. It doesn't need to cause friction or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I think they call them islands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

How is it faster to say Britain and Ireland than the British Isles?

How about "down the north". I've heard many Country folk say that.
    Nobody here says that.

You go into the north and out to the south. Everybody knows that.

No I was talking about people referring to Ireland alone. Or, if they were to say Britain and the British Isles rather than Britain and Ireland.

Well that's something I have never heard simply because it doesn't make sense.

You sure you heard somebody say that?

Yep and why shouldn't he. It doesn't need to cause friction or anything.

Sure but you said a Scot calling himself British could be making a political point and I'm saying the opposite could also be true.

I agree. Neither is the end of the world but I feel the scot has the right of it if he asserts that he's scottish in response to being called british.

Well that's something I have never heard simply because it doesn't make sense.

You sure you heard somebody say that?

Yes, on Facebook. I think he was on a crusade to be annoying.

I agree. Neither is the end of the world but I feel the scot has the right of it if he asserts that he's scottish in response to being called british.

But he doesn't if he asserts that he's British in response to being called Scottish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Is it too early to mention Great Blasket and the Blasket Islands? Is there a case to be made for calling ourselves Blasketers, a Blasket-case if you will.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

But he doesn't if he asserts that he's British in response to being called Scottish?

I'd find it strange for him to assert a british identity above a scottish identity, I'd have thought it would be the other way around. Surely Scottish first and foremost is simply more accurate but british also applies. If scotland were to become independent then that would be different. If he wants to identify as a brit above a scot or instead of a scot that's his choice. I wonder if he would still go for ''brit'' if they did become independent? And why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

BabyE wrote: »
    as the 'British Isles'? Because if you do, then by defacto you are technically British, not a British national but you self-identify as belonging to the islands of Britain, therefore you are British.

What absolute bollocks - even by AH standards.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Riva10

The government’s position is the same as outlined in a Parliamentary Question from 2005, which was pointed out by TheJournal.ie commenter Alan Lawlor in the discussion last week. The answer was given by then-Foreign Affairs Minister Dermot Ahern to TD Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin.
    The TD had asked for the government or DFA position on “the use of the term British Isles when referring to Ireland and Britain”:
    The British Isles is not an officially recognised term in any legal or inter-governmental sense. It is without any official status. The Government, including the Department of Foreign Affairs, does not use this term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Great Britain actually, as in bigger. Which means Ireland should really be Little Britain. ;)
    diomed wrote: »
    Great Britain is the large island.
    Little Britain is the small island, which is appropriate. :)

Little Britain is actually Brittany.

Or that tv show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Omackeral wrote: »
    The British and Irish Isles maybe? If British Isles covers IOM and the CI's then that term should work.
    Or, we could go with the term British Isles used by the Greeks long before either country existed and stop being so self conscious.

Oh I don't actually mind about us being called the British Isles tbh. Just coming up with some possible alternatives.

I geographically identify as a northern hemispherean

TRIGGERED!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Oh I don't actually mind about us being called the British Isles tbh. Just coming up with some possible alternatives.

You realise everyone outside of Ireland, no one cares and a lot of them use the term "Brittish Isles" when speaking English?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

TRIGGERED!

I'm so far north I'm a special snowflake

as the 'British Isles'? Because if you do, then by defacto you are technically British, not a British national but you self-identify as belonging to the islands of Britain, therefore you are British.
    What absolute bollocks - even by AH standards.

Agreed. Are Canadians considered American because they're from North America? Or Chileans because they're from South America? It's just nomenclature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭IrishProd

RayM wrote: »
    Doesn't bother me at all when people over on the mainland call Ireland 'Eire'.

Éire

Steve wrote: »
    It's actually the Republic of Ireland..

Don't that fact hamper your rant though. ;)

I refer you both to:
    Bunreacht na hÉireann

THE STATE

ARTICLE 4
    The name of the State is Éire, or, in the English
    language, Ireland.

As you were.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

Agreed. Are Canadians considered American because they're from North America? Or Chileans because they're from South America? It's just nomenclature.

Yes, yes they are, a south american will always correct you if you call an 'estadounidense' an american seemingly oblivious to the fact that they too are Americans. I've never encountered that with a Canadian but I know south americans have a complex about not being referred to as Americans. Its sort of the opposite phenomenon to what we are talking about here, I suppose it be like an American(I use the term too) or a South American referring to us as 'British' and talking about 'Europeans' in a different sentence.

IrishProd wrote: »
    Éire

I refer you both to:

As you were.

So when speaking in English we refer to it by its English name. If not, why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

Western European archipelago seems better. Makes more sense, European is an organic natural fluid term, reflecting our shared heritage and culture, it is extremely annoying when in other parts of Europe and we just get lumped in with Brits.

what a load of sh!t - who gives a sh!t????

if people can "identify" as whatever the fvck they want these days, why would you care if people want to be something else than "irish"?
    i hate this kip and i'd give anything not to be lumped in with the irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Western European archipelago seems better. Makes more sense, European is an organic natural fluid term, reflecting our shared heritage and culture, it is extremely annoying when in other parts of Europe and we just get lumped in with Brits.

People in Britain refer to the stretch of water between us as the Irish Sea. Are they technically Irish?

How difficult is this for you most of you to grasp?

North American=Geographical Term
    American=Political Term as it describes a nationality
    South American=Geographical Term
    British=Political term as it describes a nationality

People in Britain refer to the stretch of water between us as the Irish Sea. Are they technically Irish?

Would that make them mermaids as well then seeing as you are equating landmass with the ocean?

So when speaking in English we refer to it by its English name. If not, why not?

Whatever you prefer, as long as you spell and say it correctly, otherwise you would just look and sound stupid.

what a load of sh!t - who gives a sh!t????

if people can "identify" as whatever the fvck they want these days, why would you care if people want to be something else than "irish"?
    i hate this kip and i'd give anything not to be lumped in with the irish

With that attitude I'm sure any country would see you as an asset and take you in with open arms.

How difficult is this for you most of you to grasp?

North American=Geographical Term
    American=Political Term as it describes a nationality
    South American=Geographical Term
    British=Political term as it describes a nationality

Nice smug attitude but the British in this sense refers to Britain, as in the island, which contains England, Scotland and Wales. It's a geographical term in this instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

vicwatson wrote: »
    It does wreck my head when GB companies send a package to me like ...

45 Old Road
    Longford
    EIRE

EIRE? Like what? Bet they don't say the same when writing to FRANCAIS or DEUTSCHLAND - it's always France or Germany at bottom line, lack of education methinks

http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/eng/Historical_Information/The_Constitution/Bunreacht_na_h%C3%89ireann_October_2015_Edition.pdf
    Article 4, Bunreacht na hÉireann

The name of the State is Éire, or, in the English language, Ireland.

And btw, the reason they don't say "Francais" is that it means French, not France (which is "La France")

Yes, yes they are, a south american will always correct you if you call an 'estadounidense' an american seemingly oblivious to the fact that they too are Americans. I've never encountered that with a Canadian but I know south americans have a complex about not being referred to as Americans. Its sort of the opposite phenomenon to what we are talking about here, I suppose it be like an American(I use the term too) or a South American referring to us as 'British' and talking about 'Europeans' in a different sentence.

I wasn't aware of this. So South Americans would consider themselves American in the sense we'd be considered European? I think I've heard that Latin American countries think of all of America ie North and South as just one continent. Is that right? It's a different kind of American, if that makes sense.

Canadians wouldn't ever use the term though.

Nice smug attitude but the British in this sense refers to Britain, as in the island, which contains England, Scotland and Wales. It's a geographical term in this instance.

Do I need to point out that it also refers to Ireland in this context, hence the issue, like it or not it has political and nationalistic connotations in that regard.

Which is why a signifcant amount of people, probably a majority in Ireland anyway, when referring to Ireland and Britain prefer to say........Ireland and Britain.

It really is not rocket science...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

Er, yes they are considered Americans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Would that make them mermaids as well then seeing as you are equating landmass with the ocean?

Ah Jaysus, I'm in stitches here :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

I wasn't aware of this. So South Americans would consider themselves American in the sense we'd be considered European? I think I've heard that Latin American countries think of all of America ie North and South as just one continent. Is that right? It's a different kind of American, if that makes sense.

Canadians wouldn't ever use the term though.

Canadians are American too. It's a continent. Of course most people when they say American think US citizen but that's not correct.

Er, yes they are considered Americans.

By who?
    Canadians are American too. It's a continent. Of course most people when they say American think US citizen but that's not correct.

Newsflash.

America =/= North Amercia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

I've always thought that the term British Isles was a purely geographic term used in atlases, not a political term.

I can't really think of any scenario when I'd ever need to use a specific term to describe the islands of Ireland and Britain as one unit, though. Does anyone ever really use the term, or is it just a wind up OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

By who?

Newsflash.

America =/= North Amercia

If you ask a Brazilian what continent they're from they'll say America, not South America and they get annoyed by people who say American = US.

I believe the other Latin countries are the same.

If you ask a Brazilian what continent they're from they'll say America, not South America and they get annoyed by people who say American = US.

I believe the other Latin countries are the same.

Are we basing facts on anecdotes now?

Do I need to point out that it also refers to Ireland in this context, hence the issue, like it or not it has political and nationalistic connotations in that regard.Which is why a signifcant amount of people, probably a majority in Ireland anyway, when referring to Ireland and Britain prefer to say........Ireland and Britain. It really is not rocket science...

Are you really an Irish Prod?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Are we basing facts on anecdotes now?

You don't believe me?

Are you really an Irish Prod?

I am an agnostic.

Are you really Jesus?

So what is the nationality of US citizens? United Statesian is it? All this "eh of course" type of language really isn't necessary btw. I've never once heard a Canadian being referred to as American. North American, yes. American, no. American in the English speaking world generally refers to the US. Continents are described as North or South or together, The Americas.

They're United States of American, rolls off the tongue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

maryishere wrote: »
    Same here, I do not care less what terms people use, Eire, Southern Ireland, British Isles etc. Generally people know what is meant. I am not insecure enough to get offended that easily.

It's a geographic term, that's all, like the Iberian Peninsula, or Scandinavia, or North/Central/South America. It's useful as a means of referring to "those big islands off the coast of northwest Europe", particularly with regard to natural phenomena such as climate, wildlife habitats and migrations, etc. Certainly nothing to get triggered over just because it's got the word "British" in it.