Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When should the shops start decorating for Christmas

• 28-10-2016 1:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭

I was walking down Grafton Street last night and Brown Thomas is all decked out for Christmas. It looks beautiful but a bit out of place as none of the other shops have been done up for Christmas yet. According to my mother BTs has been like that for about a week.

I know shops start putting out their Christmas stock in October (or even Sept) but surely going all out with decorations and fairy lights and Christmassy windows before Hallowe'en is a bit daft?

Or am I just being a grinch:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,333 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

February

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭frag420

after breakie but before mass....

1st of December.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

i thought we didnt like Nanntystatism???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

1st of December.

I agree with this.

However its not going to happen. Too much money in the christmas business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I would love if they waited until 1st December. The lead in is so long now it's hard to sustain any excitement about Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,020 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Shops in generally pay very high rents and rates and they need to make a profit amf seeing that Christmas is generally the busiest times in retail they need to cash in on it.
    People always whinge when they see a tin of sweets out in September but they never moan about the shops recruit for seasonal staff from at the same time.
    Brown Thomas and a lot of retailers generally pay large amounts of money to have their windows dressed and stock layed out during the year and it does have to be profitable and doing a Halloween window just wouldn't make sense financial sense.
    They also need to use the seasonal floor space to the best and once the summer stock ends they've have to fill it with something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Whenever they want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,414 ✭✭✭✭Penn

1st November at the earliest. At least get Halloween over and done with before setting up for the next yoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

Never, if I had my way. Hate the thing with a vengeance

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭WarpAsylum

Never, if I had my way. Hate the thing with a vengeance

If you had your way, I'd hate you with a vengeance

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Mid to late November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

As soon as Halloween is over, fair game after that I say.

WarpAsylum wrote:
    If you had your way, I'd hate you with a vengeance

I've no problem with others enjoying it but I dislike it. People seem to think I shouldn't be allowed have that opinion and force their jovial ****e in my direction. Leave me alone & get on with your nonsense :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Early November is fine.. I don't get excited for christmas until early december so don't really take much notice of the decorations in november tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

i'd prefer Dec 1st

but realistically after Halloween, lets enjoy Halloween and then concentrate on Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,700 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Dec 1st is about right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,251 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Can't wait to hear Slade,Wizard,Cliff Richard,Paul McCartney,David Essex etc.:p:p:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

December 1st. But seriously, hold off the Christmas music until the week before the big day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,706 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

It was Christmas Eve babe, in the drunk tank...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,208 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Well the council have already put the Christmas light things across from each building on Talbot Street. They're not switched on but are there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

Overnight 7/8 December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Apologies for the American answer, but not until after Thanksgiving. The first sight of Santa Claus should come at the end of the Macy's Thanksgiving Day parade and no sooner. At least, according to my mother. She'll still try and cover my eyes so I don't see Christmas decorations in the shops if it's before Thanksgiving and I'm 35 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Xmas eve be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,741 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Shops in generally pay very high rents and rates and they need to make a profit amf seeing that Christmas is generally the busiest times in retail they need to cash in on it.
    People always whinge when they see a tin of sweets out in September but they never moan about the shops recruit for seasonal staff from at the same time.
    Brown Thomas and a lot of retailers generally pay large amounts of money to have their windows dressed and stock layed out during the year and it does have to be profitable and doing a Halloween window just wouldn't make sense financial sense.
    They also need to use the seasonal floor space to the best and once the summer stock ends they've have to fill it with something!

Blah blah blah, they'll start the sales before Christmas. They should wait till 1st December

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,741 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Well the council have already put the Christmas light things across from each building on Talbot Street. They're not switched on but are there.

Are you sure that they took them down ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

The solution is to have a specially invented festival they can use in November to boost sales. Suggestions?

Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭WhoWhatWhere

ted1 wrote: »
    Blah blah blah, they'll start the sales before Christmas. They should wait till 1st December

And what if people want to shop before December?? I rather not do all my Christmas shopping in 3 weeks thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

14th December. It getting sillly now.

You have the Smyth's TV ad with a hint of Xmas since October.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

What spastic works in BT and decided to do this **** a few years back.

Same out in Kildare shopping...

****ing driving home and seeing this in October is really annoying.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Moan, moan, moan, people complain every year but no one ever tries to do anything about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I think mid November is reasonable, I love Christmas so much but f*ck me I HATE seeing the stuff in shops in September. Wrecks my head, it seems to be getting earlier every year.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Mid- November is more than ample time. Before Halloween is crass commercialism IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,926 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

8th december

Any techies out there who could develop a 'blocked' or 'ignore' app for my radio & TV which would filter out Christmas shlte? I'd give my left nut (the good one) for it.

PM me if it's a thing

Any techies out there who could develop a 'blocked' or 'ignore' app for my radio & TV which would filter out Christmas shlte? I'd give my left nut (the good one) for it.

PM me if it's a thing

Your remote has that feature, it's called the off button. It's almost the Christmas season... what do you expect?

I have every right to watch TV in October, November & December. I would prefer not to be carpet bombed with the shlte (in my opinion) that leads up to 1 particular day out of the 365.

Christmas 'season' my great hairy hole

I have every right to watch TV in October, November & December. I would prefer not to be carpet bombed with the shlte (in my opinion) that leads up to 1 particular day out of the 365.

Christmas 'season' my great hairy hole

And advertisers have every right to sell their products, so if that's not to your liking, stop watching. If you don't like Christmas shows and movies, don't watch them. I assure you, watching television is not a right, it's a privilege.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Why don't we just stop getting outraged about this every year and not give a f**k? People spend a tonne of money on absolute rubbish every year, so of course it's a business opportunity and advertisements are going to be in our faces, but we're enabling this to happen by spending and spending and spending every year.
    I've no kids and the small family I have aren't into Christmas so I don't really contribute, but if you want it all to stop, stop buying so much rubbish ever year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

1st of December.
    This. Even sometime after Halloween would be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

After Halloween, preferably December,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

After Hallowed Evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Moan, moan, moan, people complain every year but no one ever tries to do anything about it

I did - I left the country (years ago) and refuse to go back in November!

It's not just the shops - "ordinary working people" are just as bad, booking their office Christmas parties for November because they can't get anywhere in December, or they're too busy. WTF is wrong with having a party in January when most people could do with being cheered up?

Fortunately, our continental neighbours mostly keep to the old ways: Advent markets during Advent, Christmas decorations for Christmas, and Party-Party-Party from New Year to Mardi Gras! :D:cool::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

7 o clock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

15th December

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I love Christmas. I enjoy reading (and occasionally contributing to) the Christmas Forum here all year. I'll happily watch a Christmas film at any time of the year. But I wish the shops would wait until around the third week in November. I don't think they successfully sustain the Christmas magic for the length they push it to and I find most people are just jaded by it all and switch off from it until the last minute instead. I find it hard to believe the very long lead in strategy actually boosts sales but it must if they persist with it every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

It is a bit of an eye-roller seeing shops trotting out Christmas stuff in September (I'm looking at you, Boots!!) but in fairness, if you had lots of people to buy presents for, and were planning on entertaining and cooking a fair bit over the festive season etc, then it might be handier to be able to spread the cost out over two or three paycheques. The alternative is scrambling around with everybody else on the first week of December trying to buy everything before it's ripped off the shelf by other desperate shoppers trying to organise everything in the last three weeks.

Having the boxes of sweets available, some toy deals, alcohol deals etc a bit earlier (Oct or early Nov) might offset some of that cost and time-hassle, but in an ideal world I'd like to see the 'Christmas Madness' ie full-on shop decorations, TV adverts, shelves upon shelves of Christmas ware, all that stuff held off until maybe the third week of November, as mentioned above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,241 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I'd say mid-to-late November is about right. Public lights and things tend to get turned on around 25th November or so.
    Red Alert wrote: »
    December 1st. But seriously, hold off the Christmas music until the week before the big day.

Most places phase in the percentage of Christmas music vs regular music. When I worked in retail it was 10% or 20% mid November, changing every week up to 100% in the last week before - or something along those lines.

And advertisers have every right to sell their products, so if that's not to your liking, stop watching. If you don't like Christmas shows and movies, don't watch them. I assure you, watching television is not a right, it's a privilege.

Hence the reason I lightheartedly asked about an app to filter it out. As for TV being a privilege, not a right, sweet jaysus, it's a just a piece of kit, no more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

Shops do seem to decorate for Christmas a lot more early now, way before even Halloween. Sometimes even before it comes you can feel burnt out from it all but as it gets nearer it feels quite nice to have a walk around and soak it in.