Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster V Munster - Match Thread- 7.05pm - BBCNI/NI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Mahatma Geansai

Munster deserved the win, but they were simultaneously the best and worse side on the pitch.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I am so sick and tired of Ulster serving up absolute crap for us to watch. Fcuk off Doak, fcuk off Clarke, don't let the door hit you on the way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Clegg wrote: »
    Honestly this was a bad game between two bad sides.

So little in the way of quality.

Two bad sides in the top quarter of their league and competing at the highest level in Europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭letowski

Well done Munster.. just about deserved it!

Jack O'Donoghue MOTM, maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Honestly this was a bad game between two bad sides.

So little in the way of quality.

This was actually a good game, in my wasted prop mind at least. Munster weren't brilliant but they were canny and they sat back and let Ulster pretty much beat themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Utah_Saint

That was two very poor teams...ulster just worse. Fcuk me I feel sorry for piatau

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Daylight robbery........

O'Donoghue played a stormer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Akrasia wrote: »
    Two bad sides in the top quarter of their league and competing at the highest level in Europe

Do you think either team were good tonight? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Didn't see it after the second Ulster try. Brutal result and now there is very real pressure on Les Kiss and his job. Ulster are going to have harder games than that.

Great win for Munster. They'd have taken a losing BP there earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Scrappy for sure but you don't need to be form in this part of the season. Just keep the league points ticking over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

letowski wrote: »

Gave it to scannell. Try scorer and winning drop goal.

Great stuff from the forwards tonight. Went through heaps of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,079 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Super win, at 60 I didn't think we had it in us but fellas like Rory Scannell, Killer (what an engine, he didn't let up for the 80 mins), JOD, Taute, POM, Donnacha Ryan got through shovels of dirty work, even Williams kept things ticking over in spite of his errors. Sweetnam too was immense, he's turning out to be quite the player. Conway had a good game bar their tries.

When was the last time we won up there?

Axel would be proud of a dirty win like that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,710 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Pretty much.

Overall quality of the league is poor bar four or five sides and Ulster have been shocking in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭coco0981

Utah_Saint wrote: »
    That was two very poor teams...ulster just worse. Fcuk me I feel sorry for piatau

Didn't think piatau was great himself tonigh. Was handed a try on a plate, besides that did nothing

Daylight robbery........

O'Donoghue played a stormer.

You don't think Ulster were the better side over the 80 do you? Munster made loads of errors but at least they had the ball to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

What was wrong with Jackson's drop kick attempt

This was actually a good game, in my wasted prop mind at least. Munster weren't brilliant but they were canny and they sat back and let Ulster pretty much beat themselves.

I dunno. First 20 minutes were great but then both teams reverted to type. Disappointing that neither out half brought their kicking boots. Good night for Carbery in that regards.

Absolutely no leadership in that Ulster pack, total powderpuff. Backline didn't produce anything despite the quality there and that smacks of communication issues and no clarity of game plan.

Munster just kept up the pressure and their forwards won the game but neither side showed anything dynamic or impressive. I had high hopes for Ulster this season but things are looking very poor. Munster despite the win didn't look anywhere near as impressive as last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

letowski wrote: »

JOD was definitely MOTM for me, seriously imressive game in defence and attack.

Munster really made hard work of that, poor protection of the ball in the mauls but any sort of a win up there will be taken.
    Very impressed with Wooton's defence too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭letowski

leakyboots wrote: »
    Super win, at 60 I didn't think we had it in us but fellas like Rory Scannell, Killer (what an engine, he didn't let up for the 80 mins), JOD, Taute, POM, Donnacha Ryan got through shovels of dirty work, even Williams kept things ticking over in spite of his errors. Sweetnam too was immense, he's turning out to be quite the player. Conway had a good game bar their tries.

When was the last time we won up there?

Axel would be proud of a dirty win like that :)

I think he could he be developed as a full back after this season, he is a very comfortable footballer and slotted in seamlessly when Conway left.

Not how I read the game.

Took a 76th minute drop goal to win the game for Munster after they were camped in Ulster's half for large amounts in the first half only to knock it on again and again. They could've been miles ahead.

The game was short on quality.

Do you think either team were good tonight? Seriously?

When two closely matched teams play each other it can make them both look bad. Both teams have a lot of things to work on, but neither is a bad team by any objective measure.

It's easy to look good when there's no pressure and a big gap in class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Newtown90

What was wrong with Jackson's drop kick attempt

Didn't go between the two sticks..

• Site Banned Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Adbrowne

When two closely matched teams play each other it can make them both look bad. Both teams have a lot of things to work on, but neither is a bad team by any objective measure.

It's easy to look good when there's no pressure and a big gap in class.

yeah but how many errors, poor passes, dropped balls was there.

You don't think Ulster were the better side over the 80 do you? Munster made loads of errors but at least they had the ball to do it.
    At 60 minutes a win looked impossible for Munster. Even after the second try it didn't feel like we could win. Felt like a game we deserved to lose with all the mistakes.

Ulster could play for another 6 hours and they wouldn't score another point.

CAN WE PLEASE FIND SOME FORWARDS?????!

Really proves forwards win games

Not how I read the game.

Took a 76th minute drop goal to win the game for Munster after they were camped in Ulster's half for large amounts in the first half only to knock it on again and again. They could've been miles ahead.

The game was short on quality.

Munster were understandably off the boil and concentration and match preparation are crucial to avoid handling errors

Ulster definitely lacking something at the moment but they tend to get better as the season progresses and that's when it counts

awec wrote: »
    Ulster could play for another 6 hours and they wouldn't score another point.

CAN WE PLEASE FIND SOME FORWARDS?????!

And new coaching ticket. Kiss has done nothing. Doak and Clarke provide zero positive input

Looking back at the drop goal. Piatau made a pathetic footballer style dive in an attempt to get a "block" penalty. C'mon man, none of that.

Ulster need a proper pack something desperate but I don't think they were too ba d in the second half. It was the backs that were the problem. They're probably the best set in the country but they look out of ideas. Wonder that's going in at the training ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

An error strewn shambles but in terms of possession we deserved the win. Imagine what we could do if Ian Keatley could kick his goals and Duncan Williams could shake off his rheumatism.

Ulster need a proper pack something desperate but I don't think they were too ba d in the second half. It was the backs that were the problem. They're probably the best set in the country but they look out of ideas. Wonder that's going in at the training ground.

Doak

At 60 minutes a win looked impossible for Munster. Even after the second try it didn't feel like we could win. Felt like a game we deserved to lose with all the mistakes.

I know, I posted as much. But I think we were the better team in terms of possession (well, having the ball more, not what we did with it), we beat them at the breakdown comfortably enough. The handling was holding us back.

When we did string phases together we made hay - that's comforting, it'd be worse if we didn't have all the handling errors but couldn't make ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

I dunno. First 20 minutes were great but then both teams reverted to type. Disappointing that neither out half brought their kicking boots. Good night for Carbery in that regards.

Absolutely no leadership in that Ulster pack, total powderpuff. Backline didn't produce anything despite the quality there and that smacks of communication issues and no clarity of game plan.

Munster just kept up the pressure and their forwards won the game but neither side showed anything dynamic or impressive. I had high hopes for Ulster this season but things are looking very poor. Munster despite the win didn't look anywhere near as impressive as last week.

It was no classic, granted, but it was Munster doing what they used to do so well, namely grinding out results and never ever backing down. It's a long way from their being great again but one small step, one small step at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Munster despite the win didn't look anywhere near as impressive as last week.

Compare the lineup from last week's. Munster were never going to be as impressive. It was one of the inexperienced Munster benches I've ever seen.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,472 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Fair play to Ulster for getting this in place for tonight.

https://twitter.com/Munsterrugby/status/792098940770455552

Just thinking about Keatley's performance tonight makes me even angrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Cathalthesmart

The performance from Ulster was one of the worst performances from a team I've seen in a long long time, unfortunately we (Munster) where only a tiny tiny bit better, we need to improve fast!

Compare the lineup from last week's. Munster were never going to be as impressive. It was one of the inexperienced Munster benches I've ever seen.

That's a fair point and ye were away also.

I'm a little bit concerned about Ulster tbh, they really rolled over tonight. When the drop goal was scored they woke up, but realistically at home it should never come to that.

It really does seem to be a coaching and leadership issue and they are the ones that are bloody hard to fix.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

That's a fair point and ye were away also.

I'm a little bit concerned about Ulster tbh, they really rolled over tonight. When the drop goal was scored they woke up, but realistically at home it should never come to that.

It really does seem to be a coaching and leadership issue and they are the ones that are bloody hard to fix.
    And to think Ulster fans get laughed at for being negative?

Tonight was exhibit A in the case of why we have no faith in our team. A team of chancers, led by the three amigos who don't appear to have a notion.

And to think Ulster fans get laughed at for being negative?

Tonight was exhibit A in the case of why we have no faith in our team. A team of chancers, led by the three amigos who don't appear to have a notion.

Ah ye are fairly negative now to be fair.

Have you watched Ulster the past few weeks?

Ulster Are good At Almost Everything Except Putting Points On ThE Board. (sorry ABOUT The Caps, My Phones lost Its Mind)

Some thoughts... Twas one of those games where you've to see the bigger picture... you can overreact and say that's as poor as we've ever played, or we didn't deserve it... but I don't see it like that at all - we matched them in the scrum, mauled them loads, had the vast majority of the ball (67% in the first half, 76% in the second!) and beat them up front.

Yeah the handling was atrocious at times, but when we did put multiple phases together we made serious ground. It would be worse if we had all that possession and the handling was perfect and we were making no headway.

I thought Killer was MOTM, some workrate on him (19 carries, most metres made bar Conway!), he just never let up for the 80. He even got a couple of passes away which would be a criticism of him before. Rory Scannell for obvious reasons with the try and drop goal and defence in general (14/0 tackles, top tackler). Taute too had it all, tackles, offloads, try, awesome defence - really hope we manage to hang on to him... JOD is well worthy of a mention, he's at his best at 8 without a doubt, fine display, 15 carries and really effective. Donnacha Ryan 2nd highest tackle rate (13/0), Billy just behind him on 11/0 with 14 carries... oh and third highest pass rate behind Williams and Keatley, great link play! - these two got through trojan work. POM too, 10/0 tackles and saved his best carries for when they mattered most at the end. Good to get the full 80 under his belt.

Sort the inaccuracy while in possession (and the lineout, Niall in the red zone is a bit shaky) and you'll see a marked improvement.

As I said earlier, a dirty win, Axel would be proud of that one. Could be important come season's end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

I like Tommy Bowe but is he past it or just very rusty?

I watched all of this game, Exeter, second half of Bordeaux and highlights and Connacht. I'm fairly sure I saw the Glasgow game and I *think* one other.

Ye are missing:

1. A complete bollox somewhere in the pack
    2. More vocal leaders
    3. (You won't like this) a 5 - 10% more accurate kicker
    4. More continuity in what backs are playing where
    5. A forwards bench
    6. A coach or 2.

Imagine what Schmidt or Lam could achieve with this Ulster. I always felt Kiss was a strong technical coach but I've never ever thought of him as the guy running the show.

I don't know what it is but Ulster seem to have taken the piss with coaches for donkeys years now. You need to get someone from the top shelf and it's probably a more important signing than back or front row.

I would absolutely love to see this generation of players (Best, Bowe, Trimble etc) get the squad and coaching they deserve to achieve something that will etch itself into history. 2012 aside (sorry) it just hasn't been on the cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Anatidaephobia

Some thoughts... Twas one of those games where you've to see the bigger picture... you can overreact and say that's as poor as we've ever played, or we didn't deserve it... but I don't see it like that at all - we matched them in the scrum, mauled them loads, had the vast majority of the ball (67% in the first half, 76% in the second!) and beat them up front.

Yeah the handling was atrocious at times, but when we did put multiple phases together we made serious ground. It would be worse if we had all that possession and the handling was perfect and we were making no headway.

I thought Killer was MOTM, some workrate on him (19 carries, most metres made bar Conway!), he just never let up for the 80. He even got a couple of passes away which would be a criticism of him before. Rory Scannell for obvious reasons with the try and drop goal and defence in general (14/0 tackles, top tackler). Taute too had it all, tackles, offloads, try, awesome defence - really hope we manage to hang on to him... JOD is well worthy of a mention, he's at his best at 8 without a doubt, fine display, 15 carries and really effective. Donnacha Ryan 2nd highest tackle rate (13/0), Billy just behind him on 11/0 with 14 carries... oh and third highest pass rate behind Williams and Keatley, great link play! - these two got through trojan work. POM too, 10/0 tackles and saved his best carries for when they mattered most at the end. Good to get the full 80 under his belt.

Sort the inaccuracy while in possession (and the lineout, Niall in the red zone is a bit shaky) and you'll see a marked improvement.

As I said earlier, a dirty win, Axel would be proud of that one. Could be important come season's end.

I thought I was the only Munster fan feeling really positive after that! Guys like Killer and O'Donoghue were making ground every single time they carried. Yes our handling errors in their half were ridiculous, but if we hadn't dropped the ball on their 5m even a couple of times I think the scoreboard would have looked a lot more comfortable.

I watched all of this game, Exeter, second half of Bordeaux and highlights and Connacht. I'm fairly sure I saw the Glasgow game and I *think* one other.

Ye are missing:

1. A complete bollox somewhere in the pack
    2. More vocal leaders
    3. (You won't like this) a 5 - 10% more accurate kicker
    4. More continuity in what backs are playing where
    5. A forwards bench
    6. A coach or 2.

Imagine what Schmidt or Lam could achieve with this Ulster. I always felt Kiss was a strong technical coach but I've never ever thought of him as the guy running the show.

I don't know what it is but Ulster seem to have taken the piss with coaches for donkeys years now. You need to get someone from the top shelf and it's probably a more important signing than back or front row.

I would absolutely love to see this generation of players (Best, Bowe, Trimble etc) get the squad and coaching they deserve to achieve something that will etch itself into history. 2012 aside (sorry) it just hasn't been on the cards.
    I won't disagree with any of that.

Our biggest problems are the pack and the coaches. They are both priority 1 that need fixing.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Bit more on Ulster bringing beer over to the Munster dressing room after...

http://www.the42.ie/ulster-beer-munster-changing-room-belfast-3053290-Oct2016/?utm_source=shortlink

Nice words from Rassie
    “From last week with the funeral, Les Kiss was down, Rory Best was there, the supporters wanted to help up,” said Erasmus.
    “I have so much respect for Irish people from the last two weeks. I always had respect for them, but I just couldn’t believe the way they stand for each other here.