Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'trampoline wars' FG Off Topic Thread

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Necro wrote: »
    Moving this discussion here as it's not feedback related.

Yeah I think he would have become a lesser wraith, the actual Nazgul are defined as the Nine who received rings. Something like the Barrow Wights I guess.

Didn't see this when I posted, so moving my response here too:
    quickbeam wrote: »
    Yeah. Was me in the game too. Yeah a wraith possibility but not a Nazgul. Galadriel’s narration right at the start of the film explains what the Nazgul were.

BTW, Gabriel and Gertrude are easily interchangeable ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Congrats Sully! That's a great achievement.

What has you up at that hour?

Insomnia. Trying to get back into a routine but switching off in the evenings/getting a full night sleep is hard because I’m working late/setting alarm for early.
    I skim read this and thanked it earlier and I did a random double take just now thinking "did she say 7KG?!" that's amazing Sully fair play!

Yup. Rate will decrease now (no time for exercise in the evenings) but I’ll keep trying!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,319 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Yay, we made the monthly update on three fronts :D

Boards Update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

There was another unbroken COP link, sent it on to Petr there so that may be the end of our bot troubles, are there still mad signups?

Hard to know, they can't register anymore as registrations were closed off but they're prob still causing issues by hitting the front page of the site.

Oh and that's a thing to note for other mods as well if you get new players create an account and generic password for the site and PM them the details as they can't register themselves at present.

Well done Sully !

Pter, how did the mentoring go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

I mean from my POV it was grand, but that was mainly because Teddy seems to be a natural and didnt really need my help at all!

10/10 would mentor again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,758 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Hard to know, they can't register anymore as registrations were closed off but they're prob still causing issues by hitting the front page of the site.

Oh and that's a thing to note for other mods as well if you get new players create an account and generic password for the site and PM them the details as they can't register themselves at present.

It seems much better now than it did during the game.

Watched first dates last night for the first time ever as someone I know was on it.

There was a mental woman in it and if you can get the clip with the red wine, watch it!!!

Which one did you know SM?

Paul who had a date with Dominika

Here is the red wine clip; classic!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SWTRgzVBxA

Pter wrote: »
    Here is the red wine clip; classic!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SWTRgzVBxA

What was Louis Walsh doing on it?

Did they decide to meet for a second date after that?

Paul who had a date with Dominika

I was only reading the promo story on RTE about their date yesterday. Didnt catch the ep last night but they both seemed sound.

Did he give you the inside scoop on what happened SM?

Pter wrote: »
    I was only reading the promo story on RTE about their date yesterday. Didnt catch the ep last night but they both seemed sound.

Did he give you the inside scoop on what happened SM?

Nah, he’s kept his cards close to his chest. But and I quote “single as a Pringle” now.

Lol no happily ever after so!

If Facebook is anything to go by, he’ll be grand :D

7 coloured line first

I'm a 2. That's really weird all the different ways it can be done though.

Edit: Oh actually I'm an 8 like Strawbs, misread.

7 I think.

But now I am questioning myself a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,465 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

I'm not sure how scientific the research was but the tweeter said Americans tended towards 7 8 while people from the uk tended towards 5 6

Not sure if it says anything about people, maybe its how you hold the pencil

Although anyone who does the following just has way too much time on thier hands :D

https://twitter.com/Neoriceisgood/status/1087078091925667841

I'm a 2. That's really weird all the different ways it can be done though.

Edit: Oh actually I'm an 8 like Strawbs, misread.

Thought I was an 8 but I’m actually a 7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

I'm not sure how scientific the research was but the tweeter said Americans tended towards 7 8 while people from the uk tended towards 5 6

Not sure if it says anything about people, maybe its how you hold the pencil

Although anyone who does the following just has way too much time on thier hands :D

https://twitter.com/Neoriceisgood/status/1087078091925667841

The first half is ok, but i'd stroke down the ways on the 2nd half if i was drawing an x that way.

7 for straight x

but for a curly x it would be top to bottom Ɔ and top to bottom C just tounching first Ɔ, ƆC

sKeith wrote: »
    The first half is ok, but i'd stroke down the ways on the 2nd half if i was drawing an x that way.

7 for straight x

but for a curly x it would be top to bottom Ɔ and top to bottom C just tounching first Ɔ, ƆC

I tried it out there and If I was to draw the x in 4 parts it would be v then upside down v left to right on both never tried the curly x before

I've drawn/written far too many xs tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

I'm an 8

8, presuming the yellow comes first and they just forgot to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

You need to read what's after the question to get to the coloured first bit :pac:

Thats wierd I couldn't see the 1 at first on the 8 but it's there alright

I might just write weird though.

My capital E goes top horizontal first, left to right. Vertical and bottom horizontal next in one stroke. Middle horizontal last (see below).

But my capital F, which is basically the same letter goes Vertical first, top to bottom. Then two horizontals left to right one under each other. The sensible way. It's my E that's fecked.

470900.png

Thats wierd I couldn't see the 1 at first on the 8 but it's there alright

Oh, I see it now yeah.

I’m definitely a 7.

My E is also weird:

Top right to left.
    Top left to bottom left.
    Bottom left to right.
    Middle left to right.

Same for F.

I just wrote the alphabet to check any weird things I have with letters. Must do it on the board in school too to see if it’s different when writing upright.

sullivlo wrote: »
    I’m definitely a 7.

My E is also weird:

Top right to left.
    Top left to bottom left.
    Bottom left to right.
    Middle left to right.

Same for F.

I just wrote the alphabet to check any weird things I have with letters. Must do it on the board in school too to see if it’s different when writing upright.

That kinda makes sense though - one penstoke doing the "outside" of the E and then finishing it off with the middle.

My E

Is an L and then top middle

That makes sense too.

I think yours does too only thing that would not make sense is 3 horizontal strokes and one down or any combination of that

The fact that the top is left to right though is weird as you then have to go back on yourself to complete the rest of it. Noticed a while ago I did it weird. It's only new to me that my x's are also weird too.

The interesting thing about the x though (given equal lengths and angles) is there is no wrong way to do it from a time wise perspective (even if we are talking nano seconds)

The fact that the top is left to right though is weird as you then have to go back on yourself to complete the rest of it. Noticed a while ago I did it weird. It's only new to me that my x's are also weird too.

I think its fairly similar to mine and Sullys way just has step 1 and 2 reversed but [ and - is probably the most efficent one, once you are going right to left with the [

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,465 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

So we've done x and e, may as well finished it. I do my s top to bottom.

What about a? I write it as shown here

a

Ps: my S is top to bottom.

Here's how I do my a's:

Aa.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

What about the Letter R? How do you do them?
    Come on Necro - show me your Rs!

Banjo wrote: »
    What about the Letter R? How do you do them?
    Come on Necro - show me your Rs!

:pac: That will remain a secret...

tenor.gif

I write my K wonky.

Start with the vertical, then middle to top right, middle to bottom right.

I can see pens, paper and various copies of alphabets at the next beers. We haven’t even started to discuss the Greek alphabet.

That's how I write k too

As long as Binary or Morse Code don't come into the discussion I'm fine with that.

Just out of curiosity I wrote out my alphabet and I start at the top left whenever possible, or middle top for O A and Q, C and S are top right for obvious reasons.

All except G where i start in the middle of the letter