Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What's the weather like in your area 2

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭einn32

Mooooo wrote: »
    What a dirty fecker of a morning

Cold and wet. I cursed at it but didn't make any difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Good time for urea I suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭einn32

Timmaay wrote: »
    Good time for urea I suppose

Contractor here yesterday spreading slid down a hill and wedged against a tree. I thought I was dry. Land is saturated already. Hopefully it eases off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Another wet miserable bitch of a day, cold and wet. No cows out yet. Got a few lighter weanlings out in bunches and replacements to the outfarm but that's it.
    The forecast reckons this bad weather is to break on Friday so we'll see what happens then I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

einn32 wrote: »
    Contractor here yesterday spreading slid down a hill and wedged against a tree. I thought I was dry. Land is saturated already. Hopefully it eases off.

Just about got one bag out before the heavens opened. Hopefully clear up again the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,616 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Another wet miserable bitch of a day, cold and wet. No cows out yet. Got a few lighter weanlings out in bunches and replacements to the outfarm but that's it.
    The forecast reckons this bad weather is to break on Friday so we'll see what happens then I suppose.

I’m on the road all day with day job and there’s very little stock out at all, particularly few cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I see farmers on twitter from Kilkenny and Carlow claiming over 140mm rain in april, Our total for April was 61...some difference in a small country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dzer2

wrangler wrote: »
    I see farmers on twitter from Kilkenny and Carlow claiming over 140mm rain in april, Our total for April was 61...some difference in a small country

From north Kilkenny here I would believe these lads

Land was never as wet in over 40 yrs of my memory. This is the first yr since I took over in 88 that the fert is only going out in May for silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

"A wet and windy May will fill the barn with corn and hay" me hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

grassroot1 wrote: »
    "A wet and windy May will fill the barn with corn and hay" me hole

Needs to get into the ground first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭HughCassidy

dzer2 wrote: »
    From north Kilkenny here I would believe these lads

Land was never as wet in over 40 yrs of my memory. This is the first yr since I took over in 88 that the fert is only going out in May for silage.

All you have to do is drive around Carlow , Kilkenny you see water in fields where they never was before , a lot of stubble ground is going to be left idle as cant be touched. Sowed eighty acres of spring barley the only reason it happened because the land was ploughed last October for winter crops couldn't be planted the land was light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Saw a field ploughed locally last weekend in the rain and pools of water being soaked with a vacume tank .A hymac made a sink hole for the pools to be soaked !!!! beat that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭memorystick

A wet and windy May fills the bales with water and clay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,793 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Isnt there another one. Do not cast a clout until May is out ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭HughCassidy

cute geoge wrote: »
    Saw a field ploughed locally last weekend in the rain and pools of water being soaked with a vacume tank .A hymac made a sink hole for the pools to be soaked !!!! beat that

He could sow rice in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,737 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Could have done with a bit of weatherization here tonight.
    It's teeming down all evening with still no let up.
    Floods off the fields again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

whelan2 wrote:

I think that's may blossom... not the month of May. Whitethorn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭orchard farm

whelan2 wrote: »

Until April is out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

When the cuckoo calls from a leafless thorn sell your cow and buy corn.

March’ll search ye, April try ye; May’ll tell, whether live or die ye. (my fav)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

No rain promised round here for this week. I thinl it will be a good momth

• Registered Users Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭Dozer1

rotten showers again this morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,479 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

No rain promised round here for this week. I thinl it will be a good momth

Here's hoping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Good morning, ****e nite. Should have brought in the cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Mooooo wrote: »
    Good morning, ****e nite. Should have brought in the cows

Hard listening to them pulling their feet out of the muck .....in May

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Until April is out

Always heard it as May around here, although June might be more accurate.

'A wise man carries his coat on a fine day' was one a friend of my mother used to say

Ye my granny used to,say May. Lovely afternoon here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Ye my granny used to,say May. Lovely afternoon here

Going back in history my forefathers seem to die in may. The theory is they get through lambing and then go for the long sleep

Raining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

Raining since Tuesday morning, apart from a few very short 'not so wet' spells yesterday.

Never saw the cattle so clean, well the bit of them that's above ground anyway

Young lad got sunburnt today at an athletics meeting