Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Garda Strike

1131415161719»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

mynamejeff wrote: »
    this average wage thing is hurting your argument .

http://www.thejournal.ie/garda-commissioner-job-ad-1655565-Sep2014/

the commissioner is getting 180000 at least then theres Assistant and deputy commissioners chiefs and supers inspectors and sgts
    You haven't a clue. Parroting the commissioners wage doesn't tell me anything either. Obviously there are far more than just one or two on ludicrous wages for the average to end up near 70k. And don't go telling me those lads are dealing with suicides and murders, they only leave the station to go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Great to see that the usual lads are still hurting after the garda got their offer.It's an auld "i'm afraid to fight for a wage rise in my job so I don't want to see anyone else getting one" kind of thing. Total begrudgery and fear.

If we get pay rises our company agrees to it and pays for it.

If the public sector get a pay rise the private sector pays for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

mynamejeff wrote: »
    sorry i though you meant the other one 16 year old peaceful protester who smashed up the patrol car . obviously you meant the 16 year old who was convicted after a lengthy and expensive trial right ?

You understand the blueshirts were a different organisation from AGS ? he colour of the garda shirts properly confused you alright.

Eoin o duffy was sacked as garda commsioner by a fianna fail government in 1933 before he set up the blueshirts

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blueshirts

Why so angry bambi , i didnt shoot your parents :confused:

I'm not angry I'm just tired of having to correct you.

The blueshirts are Fine Gael, of course. I'm kind of hoping that you're just being facetious rather than f***king dense. But given your form... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

If we get pay rises our company agrees to it and pays for it.

If the public sector get a pay rise the private sector pays for it.
    Jaysus and there was me thinking the Public Sector also paid tax. Fancy that.

Never said they didn't.

It's the private sector that pays the most tax, and generates money so the money grabbing public sector can have their pay rise.

If they reject the offer on the table they should hang their heads in shame considering they were prepared to put peoples lives at risk by not showing up for work yesterday.

It wasn't going to be the Government that was going to be affected, it was ordinary people who would have been left without Garda assistance and protection.

I've defended the Guards in the past but no more, the whole organisation is rotten to the core.

Never said they didn't.

It's the private sector that pays the most tax, and generates money so the money grabbing public sector can have their pay rise.

If they reject the offer on the table they should hang their heads in shame considering they were prepared to put peoples lives at risk by not showing up for work yesterday.

It wasn't going to be the Government that was going to be affected, it was ordinary people who would have been left without Garda assistance and protection.

I've defended the Guards in the past but no more, the whole organisation is rotten to the core.
    Where?. I've never seen any of your posts do anything but condemn all sections of the Public Sector. You've always backed the FG party and are clearly a shill.
    Fair play to the garda, teachers, nurses etc who stand up to them and say enough is enough. 5K rises for themselves only a week or two ago. Brass necks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Never said they didn't.

Ironic that you paint the public sector as leeches then in the very next line you say that by Gardaí not showing they are risking lives. Paints them as a little more than leeches really. Yes the private sector generates the money but it needs the public sector to function.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

the money grabbing public sector
    So you'd advocate more of a small-government approach such as those taken in utopian paradises Somalia, Western Sahara etc? No taxes there! You'd love it!

Where?. I've never seen any of your posts do anything but condemn all sections of the Public Sector. You've always backed the FG party and are clearly a shill.
    Fair play to the garda, teachers, nurses etc who stand up to them and say enough is enough. 5K rises for themselves only a week or two ago. Brass necks.

Unlike you I have a bit of a life so I would be talking to people about various things in everyday life not just on an internet forum.

Also no I'm nothing to do with FG, I think they're the best of a bad lot at the moment so you can take that back calling me a shill.

Either you or someone belonging to you must be in the public sector, you won't hear a bad word about them.

The only people who screwed the new entrants to the public sector were their own colleagues.

Unlike you I have a bit of a life so I would be talking to people about various things in everyday life not just on an internet forum.

Also no I'm nothing to do with FG, I think they're the best of a bad lot at the moment so you can take that back calling me a shill.

Either you or someone belonging to you must be in the public sector, you won't hear a bad word about them.

The only people who screwed the new entrants to the public sector were their own colleagues.
    More rubbish. You were against the Luas, bus drivers too. Anyone who tries to get a better deal off the mainly FG Govt you are against. So you couldn't find a post where you praised the garda or any other Public Sector outfit then?

Ironic that you paint the public sector as leeches then in the very next line you say that by Gardaí not showing they are risking lives. Paints them as a little more than leeches really. Yes the private sector generates the money but it needs the public sector to function.

The Gardai are there to protect the country and it's people, the fact that they were/are prepared to stay at home over money is something I never thought I'd see.

Maybe you should ask yourself why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Neither did FG as they kept pushing them to the edge. Shows a severe lack of foresight if you don't anticipate a response from someone you keep taking from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Your 1000+ posts a year since 2010 really speak to this.

More rubbish. You were against the Luas, bus drivers too. Anyone who tries to get a better deal off the mainly FG Govt you are against. So you couldn't find a post where you praised the garda or any other Public Sector outfit then?

I wasn't looking for a post to say I praised them here, I said in discussions in real life I have done so, and I couldn't care less if some stranger believes it or not.

People like you are too dumb to see there isn't enough money to give the pay rises the unions want.

I wasn't looking for a post to say I praised them here, I said in discussions in real life I have done so, and I couldn't care less if some stranger believes it or not.

People like you are too dumb to see there isn't enough money to give the pay rises the unions want.

I don't believe you have a real life. You're programmed by FG.

Wow.

That's me put in my place.

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Your 1000+ posts a year since 2010 really speak to this.

Says the fella with nearly 1700 posts in 15 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Closed till a mod can review