Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

New wages to a new recruit

• 04-11-2016 12:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭

Hi all

Looking for some help here from the experienced posters.

Can somebody confirm if the rent allowance is taxable ? I have a presumption that it is but just want to ask

• Registered Users Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Shanee.

Rent allowance is tax free from what I have heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Shanee. wrote: »
    Rent allowance is tax free from what I have heard

It's taxable. Media spin has people believing otherwise unfortunately. And it's not set in stone yet that it's back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Thanks for the replies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

Wages will be roughly 35k a year excluding allowances. All allowances for full-time members are taxable. Nothing in a members wages is tax free(at the moment)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Wages will be roughly 35k a year excluding allowances. All allowances for full-time members are taxable. Nothing in a members wages is tax free(at the moment)

For new recruits ? Exclusive of allowances. That's some jump from 24k I hazard a guess it's a mistake.

TallGlass wrote: »
    For new recruits ? Exclusive of allowances. That's some jump from 24k I hazard a guess it's a mistake.

303 euro after tax weakly for probationary garda as it currently stand, the hike is because they are try to get it the student garda pau levels as to what they where 2007 which roughly that. 35k is the 16.5% in restoration Payton's which is roughly not dead on though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

No way will new recruits get an 11 grand rise. Money is just not there. They'll get 3- 4 maybe..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,533 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

carzony wrote: »
    No way will new recruits get an 11 grand rise. Money is just not there. They'll get 3- 4 maybe..

If the deal is accepted as it stands then they will gain at least €6,469.

- €4,500 rent allowance
    - €510 annual leave payment
    - €1,459 'parade' allowance

You can read the current proposal here.

The Lansdowne Road Agreement is up for renegotiation next year. There's a pretty high chance it will result in standardised payscales for new entrants right across the public sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭xlogo

So what will be the total gross after the deal,?

- €4,500 rent allowance

The Lansdowne Road Agreement is up for renegotiation next year. There's a pretty high chance it will result in standardised payscales for new entrants right across the public sector.

Couldn't grasp the figures for myself but spot on I heard they are pushing boot allowance and an increase in the Sunday.

- €4,500 rent allowance

So not including the rent allowance because that goes to the landlord. They'll get an extra 2 grand in their pockets? Not very substantial considering all the fuss. So the increased pay not inculding rent would be 25,000? Still not great is it..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,533 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

So not including the rent allowance because that goes to the landlord. They'll get an extra 2 grand in their pockets? Not very substantial considering all the fuss. So the increased pay not inculding rent would be 25,000? Still not great is it..

What do you mean it goes to the landlord? It goes directly into a members bank account, how they spend it is down to them. In fact it looks like it might end up as part of core pay which will in turn increase over time payments (if overtime is worked).

The rent allowance is in place to ease accommodation costs - but it doesn't go directly to a landlord.

What do you mean it goes to the landlord? It goes directly into a members bank account, how they spend it is down to them. In fact it looks like it might end up as part of core pay which will in turn increase over time payments (if overtime is worked).

The rent allowance is in place to ease accommodation costs - but it doesn't go directly to a landlord.

I meant these days it'll be well needed for rent given the price hikes. Surely not every Guard gets it? What if you still live at home with mammy :P:D

• Registered Users Posts: 47 JN94

I meant these days it'll be well needed for rent given the price hikes. Surely not every Guard gets it? What if you still live at home with mammy :P:D
    All guards get the rent allowance regardless of where they are living. So if your living with mammy your laughing all the way to the bank. Plus if they except this pay deal the salary with be extremely competitive with any starting salary in the private sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,766 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

For the purposes of reducing repeated posts:
    • the Garda rent allowance is simply extra pay, given to every Guard, irrespective of where or how they live
    • it is taxable income

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

I'm sure this has been answered before.
    Just looking for some clarification.

Is the additional allowance for possessing a 3rd level degree paid to you after your initial 32 or 104 weeks?

Much appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭van_beano

MrBlack93 wrote: »
    I'm sure this has been answered before.
    Just looking for some clarification.

Is the additional allowance for possessing a 3rd level degree paid to you after your initial 32 or 104 weeks?

Much appreciated

After 2 years probation you are given 3 jumps on the payscale. Technically you go up to 5 years pay after 2 years probation. Additionally there's an added increment if certain Leaving Cert grades were reached.

van_beano wrote:
    After 2 years probation you are given 3 jumps on the payscale. Technically you go up to 5 years pay after 2 years probation. Additionally there's an added increment if certain Leaving Cert grades were reached.

So what is 5 years pay?

xlogo wrote: »
    So what is 5 years pay?

€35,840 before allowances are added

http://gra.cc/documents/PayScales.pdf

You keep moving up a point on the scale each year following. So you'll always be at 3 points above someone (who started same time as you) that has no 3rd level degree until the payscale max's out

van_beano wrote:
    €35,840 before allowances are added

Cheers and how much are allowances - or does that differ for circumstances?

xlogo wrote: »
    Cheers and how much are allowances - or does that differ for circumstances?

Allowances are generally static enough but it is all linked to what point on the payscale you are at as it's calculated at a percentage of that figure with the exception being Rent, Boot and Uniform allowances which are the same for everybody no matter what point on the payscale you are at. There are other allowance that are applicable as you move on through your career and move into different areas, for example if you become a Detective then you lose your Uniform allowance but gain a Detective and Plain clothes allowance. All allowance are subject to tax. However, for new recruits the three above allowances are the normal ones.

Also a static allowance is the Saturday allowance which works out at about €5 in the hand after tax per each Sat worked, you may be rostered to work approx. 30 of those in a year. Obviously Annual Leave can be used on these days but you don't get the allowance then.

Allowances linked to your payscale are:
    - 26 Sundays in a year which is calculated at double pay for 8 hours
    - Night Duty varies between what hours you work during the night 6pm-8pm and 8pm-8am could be somewhere between €2.50 to €3.50 per hour in the hand after tax
    - Public Holidays work out the same as Sunday Pay at double time

You get 34 Annual Leave days per annum - April to April

Someone on the €34000 point on the payscale could easily have a gross income of between €48k to €50k even without having overtime.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Gerrard2121

van_beano wrote: »

This is probably a silly question but how long is the probation period and does it commence after your finished in Templemore or from the time you start out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭DooraGirl

This is probably a silly question but how long is the probation period and does it commence after your finished in Templemore or from the time you start out?

After 2 years (136 weeks) which is from day one in the door at Templemore, you can apply for your increments :)

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Gerrard2121

DooraGirl wrote: »
    After 2 years (136 weeks) which is from day one in the door at Templemore, you can apply for your increments :)

Okay great thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 docst

DooraGirl wrote: »

Two years after you attest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭DooraGirl

docst wrote: »
    Two years after you attest

136 weeks (104 weeks (2 years) + 32 weeks in Templemore)

Sorry if I wasn't clear :)