Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish suicide bomber in Iraq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

If it's the guy from the Late Late Show I actually feel a tiny bit sorry for the him, going on my memory of the show.

I think his story was (open to correction on specifics) that he went to Saudi Arabia and got caught selling drugs and got sent to jail for years. During that time he became a Salafist.
    Previously to that he was an Irish guy with a regular background who wanted to work abroad for a few years as a nurse.
    It obviously doesn't justify any of his subsequent actions and I'm not trying to take away how toxic certain branches of Islam can be. But the guy (as an armchair psychologist) had some sort of a complete psychotic breakdown and began being a disillusion crazy person (where just before that he was perfectly functional and 'normal')

Again, I'm not here to protect him in anyway, but he would make an interesting case study. How he broke down to such a level he lost his entire personality and took on a whole other one and brought this new identity to the absolute end. It's interesting to me, and sad of course.
    interesting. I feel sorry for him mum and dad, friends and family but it sounds like their son died years ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Is that really the best idea he could come up with? What a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭SkinnyBuddha

Cazale wrote: »
    Reports on Twitter that Dubliner Khalid Kelly has blown himself up in a suicide attack on Iraqi soldiers near Mosul.

He use to troll the islamic forum when it was around if I remember correctly.

Mad as bag of cats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

RIP

Condolences to his family and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Palmach

RIP

For real? The guy was pure and utter scum. If there is a chink of light his family friends might see him for what he was and take another path as opposed to being a bigoted misogynist head hacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

RIP

Your trolling is about a 2/10.

Palmach wrote: »
    For real? The guy was pure and utter scum. If there is a chink of light his family friends might see him for what he was and take another path as opposed to being a bigoted misogynist head hacker.
    Nobody here knew the guy and it's unfair to speculate as to his character.

We all make mistakes in life. May he rest in peace now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I often wonder if there's a school for training suicide bombers :pac:
    One without glass in the windows and holes in the wall perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,711 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

I prefer the rest in pieces but myself.

If this guy is who I think he is then 7 years ago he stated that his wish was for his then 10 year old son to become a martyr before maggaigeable age. That tells me all I need to know about his character

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

A curious day: maybe another little illusion, if it still exists, shattered i.e. Irish people would never do that. Naïveté isn't an option anymore and we need to expect more from those we elect to protect us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

He blew himself up to kill others.

Thats not a "mistake"

He blew himself up to kill others.

Thats not a "mistake"

If it is then it's one he won't make again thankfully.

Fleawuss wrote: »
    A curious day: maybe another little illusion, if it still exists, shattered i.e. Irish people would never do that. Naïveté isn't an option anymore and we need to expect more from those we elect to protect us.
    Irish people have done a lot worse than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

A mistake is hitting on your sister in law while pissed up

Going off and joining a radical Islamic death cult and blowing your self up in the attempt to kill as many people as possible isn't a mistake. He chose that life himself, it wasn't like he woke up one morning after a piss up and found out he had joined ISIS for the crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

Frightening to think of it this morning but seeing as how this man like to court a lot of media publicity in this country through his extremist views, its a wonder he didn't sign himself up, or forward a plan to his superiors for staging an attack back on Irish soil. That would have brought his twisted celebrity notoriety up a notch or two. Maybe he was completely useless.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Palmach

He is on record as saying women who disobey their husbands should be physically beaten, that drinkers should be executed as well as gays. He joined the barbaric Islamic State. No need for speculation he was an utter and total scumbag. I hope their is a nice piping hot spot in hell for this piece of filth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

If it's the guy from the Late Late Show I actually feel a tiny bit sorry for the him, going on my memory of the show.

I think his story was (open to correction on specifics) that he went to Saudi Arabia and got caught selling drugs and got sent to jail for years. During that time he became a Salafist.

I dont see how you feel sorry for him. If you google him, his full story is up on Wikipedia. He was making a lot of money as a nurse and decided to start distilling alcohol in Saudi and was sent to prison for 8 months. I find it extremely weird from the start, that he didnt live in a Western compound. Most Westerners try to stay as far away from the craziness that is Saudi Arabia, instead he choose to live in the middle of it

Anyone with any cop on knows you dont touch drugs/alcohol in Saudi Arabia, never mind sell them(well unless you live in a Western compound, they tend to turn a blind eye to alcohol). If you move to a **** show of a country where they behead, cane and cut off body parts as they feel for the sake of it. If you are a women and show too much skin, they will cane you openly in the street.

As a nurse, he would have seen and dealt first hand with what a surreal country is like if you kill someone in a car accident your family can choose between a cash payment from the killer or having him executed. I don't see how he taught he could get away with selling alcohol in that hole, unless he had a superiority complex from the beginning thinking as a westerner they would let him off lightly for selling alcohol

His wikipedia page if entirely true is really disturbing. He claims he went from opposing Islam to within 4 weeks embracing it. This quote is seriously ****ed up

“Before Islam, I didn’t know the meaning of love. I used to be like other British young men, drinking and going out, but when I read the Quran in 2000, whilst in jail, I felt a huge surge of compassion and sympathy. I feel now that what led me to Islam was God’s mercy and sympathy. It’s something bigger than myself and I can’t explain it with words.”

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Khalid_Kelly

He went from embracing a religion of compassion and sympathy to becoming a member of the Taliban within a few years. I dont think this issues started before going to Saudi. I just feel sorry that he has two sons who have had to live with their nut job father dragging them on missions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

If it is then it's one he won't make again thankfully.
    I hear he's in bits about it. Really torn up. All over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

That's all those yankees backed terrorists can do. Great victory for Iraq, Syria and Iran and the biggest loss for USA since Vietnam. Seems that USA and Israel will not start any war against Russia.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Rainman16

Good riddance to bad rubbish. Glad this scumbag is dead. Hell is too good a place for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Triggered!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I often wonder if there's a school for training suicide bombers :pac:
    One without glass in the windows and holes in the wall perhaps.

"Right lads, watch this closely, I'm only going to show you this once " :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

RIP

:D:D:pac::pac:

You loon..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Get well soon hun x.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

I thought I felt the world get a little lighter today. So we lost a moron?

No. Great. Loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

May he burn in hell. not that there is a hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭sjb25

Lol he was a suicide bomber that sums up his character enough he was a cnunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,234 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

scumbag
    Why? If he did it in Syria he'd be called a "rebel".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Riva10

Ah c'mon lads. Have a bit of pity. He was in bits at the end. :eek: :D

Irish people have done a lot worse than that.

What? Blew themselves up twice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭sjb25

Riva10 wrote: »
    Ah c'mon lads. Have a bit of pity. He was in bits at the end. :eek: :D

.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Seems that poor aul' Taliban Terry's death was as pointless as his life...

"His suicide bombing appears to have had little impact on the advance into Mosul. The Shia militia known as the Popular Mobilization Units captured the village on Friday afternoon, shortly after Kelly blew himself up."

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/11/05/irish-jihadist-khalid-kelly-blows-himself-up-in-islamic-state-su/

In 2002 Kelly was deported to Britain where he allegedly soon began attending sermons by the radical preacher Omar Bakri Muhammad.[from wiki

Why was he deported to Britain ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭Kadser

You should be required to seek permission from the Dept. Foreign Affairs
    They're supposed to be now investigating his death. Think they're a bit out of their depth this time.

Kadser wrote: »
    They're supposed to be now investigating his death. Think they're a bit out of their depth this time.

I dunno. The crater couldn't be THAT deep, could it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Just watched this 2010 US doc about his life as a radicalised muslim in London and then Pakistan after he fled England.

The guy was a certified nutjob, there's such an inevitability to how it would end after watching this. Angry, deluded, brainwashed, full of his own shyte.

I know a few journalists who met him when he was back in Ireland around 2011, talking crap about killing Obama, he was well-known for his shyting on and they thought he was all talk. He certainly had the gift of the gab anyway the fcuker.

I'd say there'll be some chat about him at Garda HQ and the Directorate of Military Intelligence today. Did they even know he was in Iraq?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Abu Osama Ireland????

You'd think a proper Irish jihadi would be called Abdul Abhaile?

......and if he's going to be a suicide bomber maybe he should be Abu Osama Smidiríní?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Will there be a Ballad about this,

Maybe " Kelly......The Boy That Went Bang "

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Was it him or not? His Wikipedia page still says he's alive.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Khalid_Kelly

dfeo wrote: »

Dept of foreign affairs have confirmed it.

dfeo wrote: »

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Khalid_Kelly

Well he's hardly going to be able to update it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

In 2002 Kelly was deported to Britain where he allegedly soon began attending sermons by the radical preacher Omar Bakri Muhammad.[from wiki

Why was he deported to Britain ?

Probably sent to the nearest EU country with a direct flight to / from Saudi Arabia.

In November 2016 he was reported to have blown himself up on the orders of the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS) during the Battle of Mosul (2016).[4]

Its updated now.

Does anyone think here that he was brave to die in what he believed in ? He was a soldier in ISIS, and died fighting for them ?

I am just asking about this instance.

Does anyone think here that he was brave to die in what he believed in ? He was a soldier in ISIS, and died fighting for them ?

Brainwashed rather than brave IMO

"No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making some other poor dumb bastard die for his country."

George Patton

Jawgap wrote: »
    "No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making some other poor dumb bastard die for his country."

George Patton

Yes I know that Jawgap, If I not mistaken your an ex military chap, Would you think he was a brave lad in doing what he did. Not the overall aims just this act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Brainwashed rather than brave IMO

Sounds like it alright. He was in a prison in a hellhole and his brain was given a way out. Once he went down that rabbit hole he kept falling.