Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FAI Cup Final. Cork City v Dundalk (RTE2 @1540)

• 06-11-2016 4:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭

Cork City: McNulty; Beattie, Bennett, Browne, O’Connor; Buckley, Bolger; Sheppard, Morrissey, Dooley; Maguire.

Subs: Connor, Healy, Holohan, McSweeney, Ogbene, O’Sullivan, Turner.

Dundalk: Rogers; Gannon, Gartland, Boyle, Massey; McEleney, O’Donnell, Shields, Horgan; Finn; McMillan.

Subs: Sava, Mountney, Barrett, Kilduff, Shiels, C O’Connor, Keane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Smokey

A few robust challenges from Cork early ón

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

If anyone could pm me a stream link it'd be appreciated. RTEs ****e player wont work for me.

Bolger playing the wrong sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭clickhere

Can't see Bolger lasting the 90 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Cork certainly love an old tackle

• Registered Users Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Cork coming into the game a bit more

Great save by McNulty

First decent chance.

Decent save from McNulty.

Cork a lot more positive in this half

Better game now. A goal for either side would really open it up

Much better from us now.

Dawk picking up loads of yellows now. Must be the fatigue setting in.

City like a different side. Wonder was first half showing part of a tactic to sap Dundalk's energy, or did they get a rocket at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

enjoyable match to watch....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Cork have been excellent in this half. Pressed really highly, dominated possession and created chances.

Stupid carry on from Kilduff.

Dundalk won't want extra time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Touchline interviews with the managers mid-match just do not work. Do not work at all.

Super save

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

Great form from Dundalk keeper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

BOHtox wrote: »
    Touchline interviews with the managers mid-match just do not work. Do not work at all.

Awful stuff!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Horgan is different class when he turns it on.

Dundalk piling in the pressure.

3 minutes injury time.

0-0 for those not bothered watching.

Great second half. Miles better than the first. Have to fancy ourselves in extra time. Dundalk lads must be knackered now.

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭simonw

Good game in the second half. Beattie playing v well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Very good 2nd half. Extra time fair result both teams having chances to win. Dundalk responded well after a bad 25 mins. Finn has an incredible engine.

Going to be some sluggish legs, when they come out now. Dundalk looked to be flying but I reckon they were running on 50% adrenalin the last 10 minutes. Coming out after the break will see cramps setting in. Counter attack goal to win this.

Great second half. Miles better than the first. Have to fancy ourselves in extra time. Dundalk lads must be knackered now.

Cork weren't too flighty themselves either! Chasing attacks from a team like Dundalk surely takes so much out of you.

Second half of Extra time just started.

Dundalk pressing hard now....

Cork have it ----GOAL...

Ah, you would be sick!!

GET INNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Feel for Dundalk that they lost the game to a deflected effort. After all the effort the have put into the season, that was a cruel ending to the cup final for them.

Congrats to Cork city

Fair play to Cork. Enjoyable game. Deserved something out of the season

Thought Dundalk were going to equalise right from the kick off.

Congrats to Cork.

Excellent game of football *after the first half.

Benno in tears. As is my 2 year old after hearing me scream!

Patww79 wrote: »

Bit OTT.

Undeserved me arse. That was a tight game.

good game to watch...good ad for LOI..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Nice for Cork to have something physical to show for a tremendous year. Fitting that Maguire got the goal too who has been outstanding.

Benno in tears. As is my 2 year old after hearing me scream!

Had to pry my 4 month old off the ceiling after that goal.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Undeserved me arse. That was a tight game.

Indeed, Dundalk are so much easier on the eye and are a better team but Cork played to their strengths and at times, particularly in second half they were the better team. Held the best Irish club, possibly ever scoreless and created many a chance themselves.

Yes, Dundalk were the better team

To say that it was a "totally" undeserved win is silly talk.

Had to pry my 4 month old off the ceiling after that goal.:D

Fully deserved by City. Maybe not in terms of the match itself, but as the only club that have desperately tried to keep pace with Dundalk over the last 3 years, we deserved some trophy to show for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Finals are much about luck. Dundalk clearly the better team.

You must have missed most of the second half then? As I said, Dundalk, the better team today but Cork's victory, in itself was deserved. You can have both sides of the coin, in this instance.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

What's the craic with the dundalk players taking off the medals?