Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winter Cycling Gear?

• 06-11-2016 11:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭

What extra gear is recommended for cycling in Winter in Dublin? The list online is ridiculous, surely you wouldn't need it all. I already have the long leg trouser things and gloves.

Also, it's getting down to -2 tonight apparently, I don't want to risk it if it's icy. How do you know when it's safe to cycle or not? I have a hybrid, 16km commute south Co. Dublin to city centre.

Thanks, first winter cycling, any advice greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭Qreq

I feel your pain. I've commuted by bike in the rain and slowly built up a lengthy list of extra gear to stow at work in order to arrive as comfortable as I could and not smelling. You could do as I did and get one thing at a time until you feel you have enough to arrive in a good state. I could have saved myself some very uncomfortable trips by getting everything at once. I would definitely recommend some kind of waterproof overshoe; you don't want to arrive at work with squelchy socks/shoes. Although ponchos can look ridiculous, I found them better than a waterproof jacket, because those can build up condensation/sweat on the inside even on dry days. Depending on how sensitive your eyes are to cold/wind, you may benefit from cycling glasses with vents in them to keep direct wind from making your eyes weep and to reduce condensation from the heat of your eyes on cold mornings. Waterproof gloves are a must, maybe even a spare pair for the trip home if they aren't as waterproof as they claim. Scarf or one of those multi-purpose headbands - use either of them to cover your nose and mouth for comfort in the cold weather (or a balaclava); your breath will warm your face. If you wear a backpack (under your poncho if you get one), you'll be kept warm by it, but you could become sweaty depending on the length of your commute. For this reason, you might want a waterproof cover for your backpack when stowed on a carrier, or get those bags that hang either side of your rear carrier. I realise you didn't want a long list, but these were all useful to me. If you can manage with fewer things, fair play.

And if your helmet has vents, you can get a waterproof cover for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Ok off the top of my head (literally, because I've a shaved head and I freeze).

A good helmet liner which also covers your ears.

Arm warmers, one of the few of your extremities which don't move and which will feel the cold.

Layers, dress in layers with at least one turtle neck top to keep your neck warm and the wind off your chest.

Depending what kind of shoes you're wearing, and your budget.. Proper cycling shoes, buy some overshoes from Halfords to keep you warm and dry this winter.

Gloves, I use Aldi/Lidl and find them great (and cheap).

If I had to pick a No# 1 among those it would be a tie between a good helmet liner and arm warmers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

Rezident wrote: »
    What extra gear is recommended for cycling in Winter in Dublin? The list online is ridiculous, surely you wouldn't need it all. I already have the long leg trouser things and gloves.

Also, it's getting down to -2 tonight apparently, I don't want to risk it if it's icy. How do you know when it's safe to cycle or not? I have a hybrid, 16km commute south Co. Dublin to city centre.

Depends on where in south county Dublin you are coming from but I come in along the coast and ice is a rarity.

If you are coming from higher up then you are more likely to get ice/frost.

Temperatures are misleading for example this morning is very cold but extremely dry.

if you suspect ice/frost then all you can do is cycle as straight a line as possible. No sudden swerving.
    Avoid anything that may be extra slippy such as metal manhole covers, paint on road markings.
    Try not to pull your front brake suddenly.

Also often housing estates can be very icy/frosty but main roads fine so don't give up as soon as you open the front door. Walk to a main road.

Having said all that if you hit black ice you will probably be on the ground before you realise it but if worried then avoid the bike at very low temperatures.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Also, it's getting down to -2 tonight apparently, I don't want to risk it if it's icy. How do you know when it's safe to cycle or not?

I put a container of water in the back yard, if I can see its frozen over I use my bike with ice tyres!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭saccades

I used to cycle into the wicklow mtns from the seaside (new job now).

lidl/aldi base layer
    lidle/aldi winter gloves
    Cycling top (extra layer that I can carry phone/work id in)
    roubidoux (sp) winter bib tights x2
    neoprene shoe covers
    Gilet until ~4C then a commuter jacket from decathlon
    helmet hat/buff (buff is really handy for head and or neck (and helmet)

I was geared up for 12-0C and to move quite fast (with lockers/shower at work) in comfort.

So adjusting your for your list, some cheap base layers, a helmet hat/buff, commuter jacket and some thick winter socks for your cycle boots.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Get a "belgian style" cap with a peak and preferably waterproof.

Peak keeps low winter sun out of your eyes as well as keeping rain off your glasses or out of your eyes. Just make sure you get one fits under helmet.

Makes a big difference

• Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Rezident

ok cool thanks, some great ideas there, defo getting a peaked cap to keep the rain out, great idea.

I guess I need cycling shoes then. I've been using runners but they're pretty cold and not waterproof. Looking on Wiggle but there's about 200 different shoes, no idea where to start - what do I need for a hybrid? Like I don't want those shoes that stick to the pedals.

Or could I just wear a neoprene shoe cover over the runners?

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭f1000

Pretty sure I got this tip here.

If you are not using overshoes and have air vents on the underside of your cycling shoes. Take out the insole and apply electrical tape to the areas on the insole where it makes contact with the underside vents. Really does make a difference on the bitter cold dry days

• Registered Users Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

what do I need for a hybrid? Like I don't want those shoes that stick to the pedals.

I know you say you don't want clipless pedals ( the ones that stick to your feet/your feet stick to the pedals)but they are a big step up in efficiency. at a 16km commute each way, they're probaly worth it.
    You can get cheap shoes in Aldi for ~25 and spd pedals from Chain reaction cycles for 20 to try it out.

The main problem with runners in the winter is the mesh lets cold air in around your toes to freeze them, so shoes, or something less breathable helps
    Neoprene covers will only have a small opening where the cleat of a clipples pedal shoe sticks out to click into the prdal. If you use it on flat pedals, it'll wear the neoprene away and it might disintegrate

• Registered Users Posts: 11,769 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

I guess I need cycling shoes then. I've been using runners but they're pretty cold and not waterproof. Looking on Wiggle but there's about 200 different shoes, no idea where to start - what do I need for a hybrid? Like I don't want those shoes that stick to the pedals.

I wear Brasher boots, as they're comfortable and pretty waterproof, especially combined with a mudflap on the front mudguard. I use Wellgo BMX-style pedals, and these give you pretty good grip without using retention mechanisms if your shoes have rubber soles. I have rain trousers, a rain hat and a Montane featherlite rain smock

For commuting, which is really the only cycling I do, I find normal clothes work fine. I use extra layers if it's cold and bring changes of top when it's raining.

I guess if you're doing 100km cycles (or, say, 30km+) then more specialised clothing would be much preferable, but for doing up to 20km, I find normal clothes fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 966 ✭✭✭equivariant

Re clipless pedals. Highly recommend that you use these. Even from a pure safety POV they are imo much safer than not being clipped in if you are travelling above 20kph on a road because of the stability.

I've never used clipless pedals, mostly because I don't fancy changing my shoes every time I go for a cycle, which is several times a day, mostly short trips.

Hence, those Wellgo pedals. Perfectly safe, decent grip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

tomasrojo wrote: »
    I've never used clipless pedals, mostly because I don't fancy changing my shoes every time I go for a cycle, which is several times a day, mostly short trips.

away from a sportscentric view of cycling you are very much in the majority

• Registered Users Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I do a similar commute and this is, based on experience, what you need for comfort while not carting around a heap of crap:

-Some form of neck/head warmer - http://www.buffwear.co.uk/local/storage/image/uploads/neckwarmer_thermal.1408531282.jpg

-A base layer, a long sleeve shirt and a cycling jacket (doesn't need to be waterproof).

-Warm leggings and socks (wool is best for socks but not necessary).

-Gloves.

My winter gear is basically summer gear except +leggings, gloves and the buff neck warmer. As much as I'd like to pretend I'm a real hardy bastard cycling in winter, it doesn't get that cold.

edit: one thing I would say that makes a huge difference is get some mudguards if you don't have them already. They keep your arse dry and also your legs/feet much drier. Not to mention your fellow commuters :)!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Cycling Shoes
    Sealskin Socks (Knee high)
    Thin waterpoof Overshoes
    Thick Neoprene Overshoes
    Bib Tights
    L/S baselayer
    Winter jacket
    Rain cape ( Keep in your pocket as only worn if its really, really, REALLY cold and wet)
    Winter Cap (with peak and covers your ears)
    Gloves x 2 (one pair of Wool gloves and large pair of neoprene Gloves)
    Wear the neoprene gloves over the wool gloves if its raining and below 3 or 4 degrees.
    If you intend stopping for a coffee half way though your spin, carry a spare baselayer so you can change it at the coffee stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Waterproof covers over trainers are fine.
    I have these bbb waterflex they kept my feet warm and dry in today's rain. In very heavy downpours the water will splash up into your trainers from the road, but in reality, there aren't that many downpours where this happens.

I know you say you don't want clipless pedals ( the ones that stick to your feet/your feet stick to the pedals)but they are a big step up in efficiency. at a 16km commute each way, they're probaly worth it.
    You can get cheap shoes in Aldi for ~25 and spd pedals from Chain reaction cycles for 20 to try it out.

The main problem with runners in the winter is the mesh lets cold air in around your toes to freeze them, so shoes, or something less breathable helps
    Neoprene covers will only have a small opening where the cleat of a clipples pedal shoe sticks out to click into the prdal. If you use it on flat pedals, it'll wear the neoprene away and it might disintegrate

Really? I’m just so happy to get into work in 30 mins vs 60 – 90 on public transport but I suppose there’s always room for improvement. I’ll check Aldi/LIDL, going to get a spare base layer there too.

Yes that’s exactly it with the runners, great airflow when running, flipping freezing when cycling and going to get SOAKED today, so cold and wet. Don’t mind investing a bit in winter cycling gear, anything to keep me from the clutches of Ireland’s third-world transport system (apologies, I have been in third world countries with better public transport).

jive wrote: »
    I do a similar commute and this is, based on experience, what you need for comfort while not carting around a heap of crap:

-Some form of neck/head warmer - http://www.buffwear.co.uk/local/storage/image/uploads/neckwarmer_thermal.1408531282.jpg

-A base layer, a long sleeve shirt and a cycling jacket (doesn't need to be waterproof).

-Warm leggings and socks (wool is best for socks but not necessary).

-Gloves.

My winter gear is basically summer gear except +leggings, gloves and the buff neck warmer. As much as I'd like to pretend I'm a real hardy bastard cycling in winter, it doesn't get that cold.

edit: one thing I would say that makes a huge difference is get some mudguards if you don't have them already. They keep your arse dry and also your legs/feet much drier. Not to mention your fellow commuters :)!

Grand, I have most of that now, just need to find my old black Buff – even though I only bought it to look like a ninja I knew it would come in handy, if I can find it.

Yeah some fecker robbed one of my mudguards when I had it locked at glenageary DART station one day – in the locked cage and everything so it must have been another cyclist. Bad enough trying to avoid dangerous buses and taxis and suicidal pedestrians without fellow cyclists screwing you over! That’s Dublin for you. Is there any way you can just get a front mudguard? I don’t want to buy yet another set of front + back since I already have two back mudguards and really don’t need a third yet I have none for the front?

WOW why does board make me to a CAPTCHA and then a random picture round quiz for every post today? Boards has gone mental in the last year or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Bottom to top;

Long sleeve base layer, anything really
    Long sleeve HellyHanson Merino/Polyester top
    Normal jersey, whatevers clean
    Hi-vis Gilet (no real insulation here, just for visilbity)

I find arm warmers are a faff. Plus I'm left with only one after I lost the other somewhere. Won't happen with a long sleeve base layer...

legs;
    Synthethic base layer bottoms
    bib tights (Wiggles own brand, can't remember which one)

Add a £1 fleece skull cap from Decathlon and light gloves and I'm good for the current weather.

Oh and a decathlon buff. I like my buff.

Mud guards are a must too. Apart from what's already been pointed out, it keeps your bike cleaner for longer too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Bottom to top;

Long sleeve base layer, anything really
    Long sleeve HellyHanson Merino/Polyester top
    Normal jersey, whatevers clean
    Hi-vis Gilet (no real insulation here, just for visilbity)

I find arm warmers are a faff. Plus I'm left with only one after I lost the other somewhere. Won't happen with a long sleeve base layer...

legs;
    Synthethic base layer bottoms
    bib tights (Wiggles own brand, can't remember which one)

Add a £1 fleece skull cap from Decathlon and light gloves and I'm good for the current weather.

Oh and a decathlon buff. I like my buff.

Do you order from decathlon online or pop up the north?

I'm based in the UK. There's one a half hour away on the bike. I find it a bit hit and miss. Some of the really cheap stuff can be crap. And s Uome of the dearer stuff is excellent for the price. Better to pop in the shop and judge for yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Mycroft H wrote: »
    I'm based in the UK. There's one a half hour away on the bike. I find it a bit hit and miss. Some of the really cheap stuff can be crap. And s Uome of the dearer stuff is excellent for the price. Better to pop in the shop and judge for yourself.

Thanks. I've been in them abroad over the years and anything I've bought has lasted literally years.
    Nearest one to me is Belfast from Dublin so hardly worth the trip for a few bits.

Still don't understand why they have never opened in the south?

Is there any way you can just get a front mudguard? I don’t want to buy yet another set of front + back since I already have two back mudguards and really don’t need a third yet I have none for the front?

Yeah you can buy just a front mudguard at most online sites (wiggle, Amazon, wherever suits)

Thanks some great info in there guys, cheers for that. OK ordered a few things on wiggle, should be good to go. Cheers!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭JMcL

tomasrojo wrote: »

Another alternative would be these BBB dual sided pedals or similar. I have a pair on the new commuter so can clip in for the commute or longer spins, but have the flat side for short spins in normal shoes

Ah yeah, if you really like being clipped in, I can see those would be handy. I really just don't see the need for me. I do understand and feel the need for more grip than simple platforms, but the grip with rubber soles and those Wellgos is really perfectly adequate* in all conditions I've encountered on commutes and I've been using them for years and years.

*For me anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

OP what did you wear on your cycle this morning? I was still cold with a base layer and two jackets!! Legs were okay but my feet were numb in last mile or so. Anyone come through the Phoenix Park this morning? The wind chill was ferocious even if the sun and frost made it a beautiful ride in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

OP what did you wear on your cycle this morning? I was still cold with a base layer and two jackets!! Legs were okay but my feet were numb in last mile or so. Anyone come through the Phoenix Park this morning? The wind chill was ferocious even if the sun and frost made it a beautiful ride in.

Sometimes over layering can be counterproductive if the clothing is packed tightly it eliminates the insulating barrier of warm air.

Windstopper fabrics are quite common now, just a laminate layer, they're useful for chill winds but not very warm in and of themselves and can be murderously heat retentive in milder weather.

Shoe covers are great. I have a set of dhb neoprene toe covers that have served me well for the last two winters (in addition to full overshoes for long spins)

Something like the dhb wisp packable wind anorak over a warm jacket with a decent base layer should do it.

Get a pair of merino wool socks they make a great difference. I cycle in in runners which basically means my feet are located in a wind tunnel for my commutes; thick wool socks make a big difference. You can get a pack of 4 on Amazon for about €20.

Base layer + slightly looser fitting long sleeve tee + windstopper jacket = good warm times.