Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where now for ASTI? ****ASTI Action- Part III - See 1st Post***

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭acequion

Lots of schools I know of breaking the directive. Mentioned in an earlier post as well. That's the reality. When you actually get beyond the bluff and bluster there's a lot of merit on the course.

What bluff and bluster? Calling the new junior cycle exactly what it is, a big dumbing down,something that is guaranteed to lower standards!

Now as an English teacher I fully agree that oral presentations are great. Public speaking is a necessary and valuable skill and yes indeed the kids enjoy it. However it needs to be placed within the context of of a workable, beneficial curriculum with external assessment.

Sorry but I'm just all of of patience with Yes people who basically want to do what they're told and then try to make out that the people who have to guts to fight for what is right are the villains.

Some of us are putting in long hours with the union trying to halt the decline in standards and people like you and your school and other schools are making a mockery of that. I really hope you get reported to the union!

• Registered Users Posts: 48,247 ✭✭✭✭km79

Lots of schools I know of breaking the directive. Mentioned in an earlier post as well. That's the reality. When you actually get beyond the bluff and bluster there's a lot of merit on the course.

Dont know of any school that has broken directive in my region
    That's my reality

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭PureClareGold

acequion wrote: »