Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

It's kinda funny that if someone regarded here as a Rooney fan suggested that he was more naturally talented than Ronaldo they'd be laughed out of the forum, but when it can be twisted to put digs on Rooney it'll gather likes quicker than a wedding photo on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Rooney arguably had more talented than Ronaldo, look at the difference between the two and see how telling that alone is.

Always thought ronaldo was the more talent of the two but a huge difference between the two is the drive and ego of roanldo to be the best player in the world.

i dont think anyone i remember having close to the drive ronaldo has and probably unfair to equate that to rooney.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭peterswellman

bangkok wrote: »
    Ravel Morrison was the best young player to ever come out of the Man Utd academy, look how that turned out.

Comparing Ronaldo and Rooney over 12 years ago is ridiculous

No he was the player with the most potential. I don't think anyone ever called him the best player to come out of the academy.

How so? Comparing players of similar talent and age is ridiculous now? Holding that point of view is what's ridiculous.

Here is a man paid vasts amount of money. Professionalism and maintaining a healthy lifestyle are part and parcel of the job. It's clear Wayne doesn't look after himself well enough and never has and now it's clearly catching up with him- thus with him being practically finished.

Jayop wrote: »
    It's kinda funny that if someone regarded here as a Rooney fan suggested that he was more naturally talented than Ronaldo they'd be laughed out of the forum, but when it can be twisted to put digs on Rooney it'll gather likes quicker than a wedding photo on Facebook.

I don't see why it should be laughed out. Look at Rooney at 16 and the potential he possessed, he was incredible.

They didn't say potential, they said he was more talented than Ronaldo who at 17 was probably the most talented young player I've ever seen. Yeah Rooney was amazing, had potential and was talented. He's followed on from that by playing at the highest level for 12 years having won everything in the club game and will end his career as united top all time scorer.

A wasted talent indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,796 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    This is bull****e tbh
    Why shouldn't Rooney be able to buff up like Ronaldo
    You can achieve anything if you put your mind to it
    It's fairly obvious Ronaldo spends alot more time in the gym than Rooney
    The thing is, Ronaldo's conditioning isn't even that exceptional anymore. Plenty of mediocre players in lower half PL teams were posting pictures of themselves looking as buff as Ronaldo.

They didn't say potential, they said he was more talented than Ronaldo who at 17 was probably the most talented young player I've ever seen. Yeah Rooney was amazing, had potential and was talented. He's followed on from that by playing at the highest level for 12 years having won everything in the club game and will end his career as united top all time scorer.

A wasted talent indeed.

You have a shocking memory if that's the case because Rooney was every bit as good.

A player who's career is finished at 28(he has been terrible for this long) is a wasted career. Giggs could play into his forties, Scholes came back from retirement...imagine the state Rooney would be in if we needed him to do the same.

You can do all the mental gymnastics you want to try and make excuses for him but Rooney has wasted a lot of his incredible talent. He's had an excellent career- if you don't want to open up your eyes and believe it could have been great that's more fool on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭Julez

If I was under preforming and under pressure at my 300k a week job, I wouldn't be out getting sh*tfaced. Especially is that job revolved around my physical fitness. Its stupid and bad timing by Rooney, that's why he apologised.

He can take the way his career is going and work hard or he can say "f*ck it, I've got a contract till the end of next year, I'll still get paid", it looks like he's going for the latter.

Yeah, he can drink if he wants, but he's United and England captain, that comes with a responsibility. He deserves the extra critique he'll get in his performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Ronaldo is probably the greatest athlete sport has ever seen and there will probably never be another person like him in sport ever again. You could compare any sport star in the world to him and there is no one to compare. Even messi lights up the odd cigarette

As usual you have completely missed the point.

sky88 wrote: »
    you never would as he doesnt drink but what has this got to do with Rooney

Its the real perspective bangkok needed and it has nothing to do with ability. It's about a player driven to succeed and so looking after his body as the valuable resource it is. If not Ronaldo then look at Ryan Giggs, another player who greatly extended his career at the top level by diligently looking after his health and conditioning.

To be at that level in your 30's you need to do everything right, it's not about a bit of hard training, it's a whole lifestyle built around getting your body to its peak condition. If you have the Winning mentality then you will do it, and that's why Giggs could play in CL finals in his late 30's and why Ronaldo is still nailing hat tricks. Clearly Rooney doesn't have that lifestyle, and I guess we have all seen the results of that on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

If we were top of the league I wouldn't care if Rooney played games shítfaced, the problem is we're 6 points off top fcuking 4 and one of the highest paid players in the world and club captain is out getting in a terrible state a week before we play Arsenal, an absolute must win game at this stage.

It shows you the culture that has grown at the club when things like this happen, there are no standards at United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,343 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

personally - I would be more concerned about Rooney and his mentality. He has commented previously about his difficulties with maintaining fitness and how a lack of fitness effects his game - to be get rat-arsed in this manner is of no professional benefit to him. I wonder if the current criticism of him at United, and at national level, being dropped from the side and his career being called into question is a big part of the reason he got so drunk. Beyond it being arguably unprofessional, is it a sign Rooney is struggling to cope with the change in his circumstances at United and with England.

Lad ye are going way over the top with the Rooney critisism Ive just seen his heatmap while in the pub and he was all over the place scored 12 pints aswell and assisted in 12 more it was a real Captains performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

The fact that he got bo**ixed drunk a week before a game is as much evidence as I need to think he no longer has the obsessive desire required to be a world class sportsman.

He's not a child looking for a permission slip to go on a school trip he's a grown man who makes his own decisions and he is deciding to put socialising ahead of football, "allowed" doesn't come into it.

He would rather leak to papers than actually get down to turning the screw on reversing his decline, it's a pity he's such an idiot because he has done an incredible amount to taint what should have been one of the finest legacies in Manchester United's history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Am I on my own in feeling a professional athlete shouldn't be getting scuttered drunk during the season? Don't get me wrong the papers in question are rags but they beat Scotland not Brazil, if he wanted back into the team enough he wouldn't be buckled a week before we play Arsenal in a six pointer.

Considering alcohol is proven to inhibit and delay recovery times, if he is infact injured and went on the lash, it shows a terrible attitude and one which was supposed to have been run out of modern football.

I don't have issue with him getting off his tits, but he can't act surprised at the backlash, and he shouldn't be surprised if Mourinho ****s him off in January.

Last time Rooney did **** like that Ferguson dropped him, and literally threw away a title to prove a point. Couldn't believe Rooney wasn't turfed out that summer.

What was more laughable was the excuses and defences for him this week. "Clearly he was mid blink in the photos". Some people need to get a grip of themselves haha. Was it just yesterday where "one" of Rooneys camp came out with a statement about how Wayne was disappointed at how some fans abused his goodwill and faith to paint a picture out of context, then a few hours later he is apologising. His own house isn't even in order.

Rooney could spend all year in the gym and he will never have a body like Ronaldo, different genes etc
    sky88 wrote: »
    i think rooney has never been an athlete like the pogba and ibra has. he always looked like he needed to work harder to keep in shape compared to everyone else.

i think thats one of the problems now is that before he could relie on his talent making up for it but now his talent is waning its becoming more and more noticebale which is why he has been terrible last season/this season.

It doesn't matter who we compare him against, they were just high profile examples.
    Rooney is simply not in good physical condition and I come to this conclusion by simple looking at his current build / shape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

I care. I pay a lot of money year including tickets to go over and watch him play. That money contributes to his wages and he is the captain of the club I support. It shows a downright lack of professionalism from start to finish. No big deal if he wasn't struggling so badly lately but it's clear his performance levels have waned.

Well Klopp is hardly going to call a rival player out for being a disgrace. His interview should be taken with a pinch of salt.

You must have been rightly pissed off with Roy Keane so, he used to be in the lash every 2nd week when he was captain of utd

Its the real perspective bangkok needed and it has nothing to do with ability. It's about a player driven to succeed and so looking after his body as the valuable resource it is. If not Ronaldo then look at Ryan Giggs, another player who greatly extended his career at the top level by diligently looking after his health and conditioning.

To be at that level in your 30's you need to do everything right, it's not about a bit of hard training, it's a whole lifestyle built around getting your body to its peak condition. If you have the Winning mentality then you will do it, and that's why Giggs could play in CL finals in his late 30's and why Ronaldo is still nailing hat tricks. Clearly Rooney doesn't have that lifestyle, and I guess we have all seen the results of that on the field.

Ronaldo doesn't drink as his father was an alcoholic and died when Ronaldo was 20.

What do you think of other players who drink orsmoke, players like zidane, Ronaldinho, messi, Roy Keane etc.

A few pints on a Saturday night a week before another game is nothing. Big deal being made over nothing

Ronaldo doesn't drink as his father was an alcoholic and died when Ronaldo was 20.

What do you think of other players who drink orsmoke, players like zidane, Ronaldinho, messi, Roy Keane etc.

A few pints on a Saturday night a week before another game is nothing. Big deal being made over nothing

You've still missed the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

God this is an annoying conversation - no one is going to change their opinion!

To talk about something nicer - here's Becks on the Beach!

https://twitter.com/ItsSoccerVines/status/740264780385128448

(there's no way this is real....surely)

You've still missed the point.

The point I'm seeing is people whinging and moaning about Rooney enjoying a few beers last Saturday night along with the rest of the England squad, but because it's Rooney it gives people the chance to bash him as usual.

God this is an annoying conversation - no one is going to change their opinion!

To talk about something nicer - here's Becks on the Beach!

https://twitter.com/ItsSoccerVines/status/740264780385128448

(there's no way this is real....surely)

Was filmed about 5 years ago and yes it's a fake

The point I'm seeing is people whinging and moaning about Rooney enjoying a few beers getting sh*tfaced last Saturday night along with the rest of the England squad, but because it's Rooney he's playing sh*t it gives people the chance to bash him as usual.

fyp

Julez wrote: »
    fyp

How do you know he was **** faced? Were you there?

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    It doesn't matter who we compare him against, they were just high profile examples.
    Rooney is simply not in good physical condition and I come to this conclusion by simple looking at his current build / shape.

Rooney is in great condition, wouldn't be near the United or England squad if he wasn't.

Anyone who has seen Rooney up close knows as well there is not a pick on him

How do you know he was **** faced? Were you there?

How do you know he wasn't, were you there?

Also, mourinho wasn't pissed off the Rooney was drinking, as most players would be drinking when allowed to by the club, he was annoyed as the FA allowed photos of him to be taken while they were there.

For anyone who doesn't think players drink during the season you are being very naive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

Also, mourinho wasn't pissed off the Rooney was drinking, as most players would be drinking when allowed to by the club, he was annoyed as the FA allowed photos of him to be taken while they were there.

For anyone who doesn't think players drink during the season you are being very naive

Unlike yourself, I don't claim to know much about the lives of footballers outside of what they do on the pitch or share on social media.

However, I do know a bit about a few other sports at very high levels, both amateur and professional. I don't know of any sport where drinking heavily (i.e., more than 4 pints) is tolerable during the competitive season. To compare to Roy Keane is also absurd, given the advancements in sports science since then.

Maybe football is different and players drinking mid-season. I doubt it though, and if it is it's shocking. I do know of a S&C coach who came from another sport to be a part of a Premier League staff and described to me football players attitude towards fitness as generally being "absolutely, unequivocally sh*te". So maybe I'm wrong in assuming anything really...

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Rooney is only preparing for his retirement, he will probably be leaving United in the summer.

I would be far more concerned if it was Rashford, Lingard or Martial, given their age.

Rooney is the past, and he is on his last legs at United too.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The problem is the level of moderation the drinking is at.

Unlike yourself, I don't claim to know much about the lives of footballers outside of what they do on the pitch or share on social media.

However, I do know a bit about a few other sports at very high levels, both amateur and professional. I don't know of any sport where drinking heavily (i.e., more than 4 pints) is tolerable during the competitive season. To compare to Roy Keane is also absurd, given the advancements in sports science since then.

Maybe football is different and players drinking mid-season. I doubt it though, and if it is it's shocking. I do know of a S&C coach who came from another sport to be a part of a Premier League staff and described to me football players attitude towards fitness as generally being "absolutely, unequivocally sh*te". So maybe I'm wrong in assuming anything really...

Few other sports like rugby where the players go on the lash after every game.

Usain bolt eating and drinking crap all year and even before big races.

Golf, is that even a sport?

Everything in moderation is fine, even a top level s&c coach will tell you that and sometimes a good team bonding session is encouraged.

RobertKK wrote: »
    Rooney is only preparing for his retirement, he will probably be leaving United in the summer.

I would be far more concerned if it was Rashford, Lingard or Martial, given their age.

Rooney is the past, and he is on his last legs at United too.

Lingard was out partying in London with other English players until 4.30am, again no big deal

Few other sports like rugby where the players go on the lash after every game.

Usain bolt eating and drinking crap all year and even before big races.

Golf, is that even a sport?

Everything in moderation is fine, even a top level s&c coach will tell you that and sometimes a good team bonding session is encouraged.

1. In rugby, they most certainly do not "go on the lash" after every game. This I know for certain. There might be a few occassions a season, but most teams I was on agreed to none mid-season and it was viewed very dimly if that was breached. Any team who does have an after game toast will have something along the lines of a 3 unit maximum; i.e., a pint and a half.

2. Picking an outlier from any sport, like Bolt, is not an argument. It's an anecdote.

3. Golf is a sport, and most golfers these days look after themselves very well. John Daly's era is the same as Paul McGrath's, and both are historical.

Everything in moderation is fine, but as quoted above, it appears here the level of moderation is the issue.

1. In rugby, they most certainly do not "go on the lash" after every game. This I know for certain. There might be a few occassions a season, but most teams I was on agreed to none mid-season and it was viewed very dimly if that was breached. Any team who does have an after game toast will have something along the lines of a 3 unit maximum; i.e., a pint and a half.

2. Picking an outlier from any sport, like Bolt, is not an argument. It's an anecdote.

3. Golf is a sport, and most golfers these days look after themselves very well. John Daly's era is the same as Paul McGrath's, and both are historical.

Everything in moderation is fine, but as quoted above, it appears here the level of moderation is the issue.

I don't know of any rugby player that will go out and have a pint and a half. Irish players were on the beer in Chicago after they beat New Zealand even though they had a game a week later.

I know for a fact London wasps players enjoy a few pints after every game they play

Golfers drink regularly, yes they look after themselves like most people do in society nowadays but they def drink every couple of weeks. Shane Lowry enjoys his pints.

I don't know of any rugby player that will go out and have a pint and a half. Irish players were on the beer in Chicago after they beat New Zealand even though they had a game a week later.

I know for a fact London wasps players enjoy a few pints after every game they play

Golfers drink regularly, yes they look after themselves like most people do in society nowadays but they def drink every couple of weeks. Shane Lowry enjoys his pints.

I would imagine you'd either be stunned by how little the Irish team drank that night (I know Schmidt lifted his ban on alcohol, but he wouldn't forget any player who abused that), or else your idea of "on the beer" and mine are different. When I played, a celebration would have been two or three beers, or more often a beer and 2 whiskeys. I can imagine the Irish team having greater discipline than I had. Nowadays when I say "go on the beer", it's multiples of that!

The Wasps boys enjoy "a few pints". Now, before you ask, I wasn't there, but do you think a few pints is an accurate reflection of Rooney's consumption? Do you think that his consumption was in keeping with the standards required of a professional athlete in modern sport?

And again, Shane Lowry is an outlier, who recently admitted he felt his lax attitude to things like alcohol has cost him at least one major.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Shane Lowry enjoys his pints.

Not getting into the rest of the arguement.. but Shane is criticised considerably over his condition. It's been looked at that his conditioning is one of the reasons why he hasn't pushed on, he doesn't have the stamina to last over the week and he trails off towards the end. And this is largely blamed on his diet. Golf is by and large a Gym sport now.. and with Courses getting longer he is going to fall behind the rest of the players.

I would imagine you'd either be stunned by how little the Irish team drank that night (I know Schmidt lifted his ban on alcohol, but he wouldn't forget any player who abused that), or else your idea of "on the beer" and mine are different. When I played, a celebration would have been two or three beers, or more often a beer and 2 whiskeys. I can imagine the Irish team having greater discipline than I had. Nowadays when I say "go on the beer", it's multiples of that!

The Wasps boys enjoy "a few pints". Now, before you ask, I wasn't there, but do you think a few pints is an accurate reflection of Rooney's consumption? Do you think that his consumption was in keeping with the standards required of a professional athlete in modern sport?

And again, Shane Lowry is an outlier, who recently admitted he felt his lax attitude to things like alcohol has cost him at least one major.

The minute the manager lifts an alcohol ban, players always go over the top as long as they don't get in trouble.

I would say for a player like Rooney, he probably was drinking bottles and not pints, 6-8 bottles and he would be drunk rather easily IMO.

To be honest I think this has been discussed to the death, Rooney has been training since Monday, alcohol long gone from the system, he rarely gets any muscle injuries so he looks after himself well enough

The minute the manager lifts an alcohol ban, players always go over the top as long as they don't get in trouble.

I would say for a player like Rooney, he probably was drinking bottles and not pints, 6-8 bottles and he would be drunk rather easily IMO.

To be honest I think this has been discussed to the death, Rooney has been training since Monday, alcohol long gone from the system, he rarely gets any muscle injuries so he looks after himself well enough

Happy to draw a line under it with you entrenched in your position that professional footballer having 6-8 bottles of beer mid-season on a somewhat frequent basis is acceptable and me entrenched in my position that the suggestion that that would be acceptable is absurd, knowing that it wouldn't be acceptable in other sports, even at amateur level.

No I never said frequent, I would imagine that is probably only the 2nd time this season players have enjoyed drinks, other players that were not involved with internationals earlier in the year like mata, Herrera or ibrahimovic maybe more.

Next session will be the Xmas party which is usually on soon enough. Players might get out as well in January after they have played the Xmas period and yhen the club usually organise a trip to the Cheltenham races in April or May

Just wondering, you're not Dave O'Brien of Desert Runners fame are you :D the marathon man?

No I never said frequent, I would imagine that is probably only the 2nd time this season players have enjoyed drinks, other players that were not involved with internationals earlier in the year like mata, Herrera or ibrahimovic maybe more.

Next session will be the Xmas party which is usually on soon enough. Players might get out as well in January after they have played the Xmas period and yhen the club usually organise a trip to the Cheltenham races in April or May

Ok, like I said, I don't know much about footballer's lives outside of the sport, while you seem to/claim to know much more than I. IF Rooney was as drunk as the photographs suggest, and such drinking was deemed acceptable, football is extraordinarily far behind other sports in terms of sports science.

astradave wrote: »
    Just wondering, you're not Dave O'Brien of Desert Runners fame are you :D the marathon man?

Haha! Sadly not! Ultra's are out of my grasp for the moment, never mind ultra's in those kinds of conditions!

Ah no.. really enjoyed that documentary and thought we were in the presence of a legend :D

This Rooney thing is even more boring than the normal Rooney crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭ericzeking

It's actually nearby Chester races they go to #just saying :D:D:D:D:D:D

Handier for going on the absolute tare around Manchester....

I know Junior B footballers who go off the beer for the whole summer, I always find that gas...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Jose must be, as there is talk of Rooney being dropped for Saturday.

Anyway, Rooney should know better. We have a massive game for our new manager which is make or break regarding our season and this idiot can't even go to bed on time. Alcohol affects recovery and it gets harder when your ageing, but Captain Fantastic just has to have a few beers (or 3 bottles of wine).

This is a guy whose body is deteriorating, and yet he is doing nothing to slow the approach. Ryan Giggs gave up bread and butter just to prolong his career.

Also, why are people apologising for him? I could understand if this was end of a season and he was celebrating a trophy, but we are in November floundering around mid table. This guy is paid huge amounts of money to look after himself and he isn't doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

This Rooney thing is even more boring than the normal Rooney crap.

It's a vicious circle..