Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,738 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Arrabawn up 1.25 to 35 base vat inc .giddy uo.#whitegold

A full cent ahead of glanbia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,667 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Well Mangan says if we make it bigger, we'll get 3 cent more.
    Have heard that in Cork for 40 years. West Cork still lead.
    Fair play to the smaller processors for giving farmers hope.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

No need for five year contracts to hold on to suppliers either. Just pay a good price and treat them well. They won't be going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭mf240

Well there certainly anxious to sell some dairy nuts in glanbia. 21 a ton rebate available now on all dairy feeds.

Any truth in the rumour that Glanbia hauliers are threatening to strike over contracts Giil want them to sign?

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

strathroy up a cent to 35.2 a litre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭jaymla627

whelan2 wrote: »
    Any truth in the rumour that Glanbia hauliers are threatening to strike over contracts Giil want them to sign?

Wouldn't be surprised the rates they are paying are pretty poor, if they are going to try and impose more cuts on rates they're would be war, it's handy enough to get away with paying farmers f all, expecting a lad to run a lorry for break-even our at a loss is a whole different kettle of fish...
    Also the hours that lads are having to put in due to delays off-loading during the peak months are getting out of hand, our tanker driver was regularly going from 3.30 to nine at night back in April/may

Glanbia milk statements up online, all 10 pages of it :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭orm0nd

arrabawn statements up as well, we have to make do with 2 pages

deprived we are :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

orm0nd wrote: »

arrabawn statements up as well, we have to make do with 2 pages

deprived we are :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

And the 8 extra pages only cost 1cent per litre. What value!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I see Stan McCarthy in the Journal saying 32c/l is a sustainable price for milk.

And then offers 31c/l for 5 years fixed price contract.

I'm not sure if the lad is pulling the pi$$ or what:rolleyes:

Have Kerry issues a 5 year 31c contract too? Watch Dairygold magically come up with the exact same contract as the other big two, over the next while.

If you sign up to the 5year fixed scheme and the allocation you get is piss poor. Can you get out of it?

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

degetme wrote: »
    Kerry suppiler here. Last month was first month since March 15 I've lost out on fixed price scheme. In fairness Kerry scheme at 34cl base plus solids was too good to turn down.

Ya we were the same, first time it was a loss, 0.4 cent on 20% of milk. But we are very happy we signed up to it as we gained more than we lost.
    I wonder are they going to renew it

Bill must have his article in this weeks journal submitted before Kerry announced their 1.5cpl price rise.....

Well, you apply for all your milk and X amount is accepted into the scheme by Glanbia. Without further signing of acceptance on your side, is this a legally binding contract? It's a legal question.

Certainly once your in, your tied in. Its a variation of the previous lock in 5 year contract. That is it's purpose, not for your benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Water John wrote: »
    Well, you apply for all your milk and X amount is accepted into the scheme by Glanbia. Without further signing of acceptance on your side, is this a legally binding contract? It's a legal question.

Certainly once your in, your tied in. Its a variation of the previous lock in 5 year contract. That is it's purpose, not for your benefit.

Only takes an offer and an acceptance to make a contract.

You offer them the milk by way of application, they accept a certain amount by allocating the scheme.

The parallel case is the supermarket which offers you all the cans of beans on display; you agree to buy the ones you put in your basket. Used to be a standard interview question for law courses (i.e. when are you bound to buy? ... you break it you own it etc.)

Thanks Kowtow. And to follow, if they accept 10% of your supply into the fixed scheme, all your supply is then tied as you cannot transfer to another processor.

Lets hear the IFA and ICMSA on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Thanks Kowtow. And to follow, if they accept 10% of your supply into the fixed scheme, all your supply is then tied as you cannot transfer to another processor.

Yes, well that's the kicker that makes it more complicated.

If it were me, I would write "subject to a minimum of x litres" on your application form for the fixed scheme and see whether they still process it. Would they reject it all together? would they tell you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Dairygold up to 34c

Does that include the .5 cent bonus, Mooo?

No. Text said 34.5 incl bonus but bonus is not part of base price

Was talking to some one else on this. We need guidance on signing up for this. I pay a nice whack to fmp . So if 10% is fixed what about the remaining 90% ? As it is glanbia are the lowest payers are we expected to sign up and take what we are given without any commitment on their part to be at least off the bottom of the milk price league. Seems all too one sided.

Well they tied ye in for the last 5 years and are about to repeat the exercise. It's quite clear. What people choose to do is their individual and collective reponsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭mf240

You won't here them. And it would be naive at this stage to think you would. Get a solicitor to look at it if your in doubt and then make your own decision. If you realistically intend moving then put a plan in place. Otherwise just suck it up.

Farmers are going to have to learn to stand on there own two feet.

mf240 wrote: »

You won't here them. And it would be naive at this stage to think you would. Get a solicitor to look at it if your in doubt and then make your own decision. If you realistically intend moving then put a plan in place. Otherwise just suck it up.

Farmers are going to have to learn to stand on there own two feet.

It is a sad reflection on our farm organizations all the same that they seem to be so cozy with the processors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭George Sunsnow

Was talking to some one else on this. We need guidance on signing up for this. I pay a nice whack to fmp . So if 10% is fixed what about the remaining 90% ? As it is glanbia are the lowest payers are we expected to sign up and take what we are given without any commitment on their part to be at least off the bottom of the milk price league. Seems all too one sided.

In the light of Glanbia's poor record on price,the IFA should be recommending to its members not to sign an msa unless there's a commitment to stay in the top 3 of the price audit
    The commitment would have to be enforceable by the farmer i.e. Void if that commitment is broken

Fair is fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Mooooo wrote: »
    Dairygold up to 34c

Did you sign up for the flat rate pricing?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Did you sign up for the flat rate pricing?

Which now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Mooooo wrote: »
    Which now?

At the start of the year, it's for 3 years.