Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TVs for the PS4 Pro - 4K HDR

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

Varik wrote: »
    LG 55" B7 is down to sub €1800, with some black friday deals.

This TV is worth about twice what the Sony is but not in Ireland, here you're saving about 300-400 to get the cheaper TV and this one is a OLED. 20ms, perfect actual black,

If you can about afford the Sony, then get that.

If you have any space on price then get the LG.

Was going to get the LG, but have read of lots of screen burn from the oled screen, and LG not covering in its warranty, will go for Samsung QLED, no chance of burn in and a 10 year screen warranty.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Don't get a 'QLED', they can't get near the colour black and are stupidly over-priced. Especially over an OLED. It takes significant effort to actually get the new OLEDs to burn an image to screen. The 10 year warranty is more Samsung marketing bolloxology because the tech used can't actually burn in - it's basically just a scare tactic to get customers to second guess getting an OLED. I'd be looking the above mentioned XE9005 (even with its 8bit + frc) before any of the 'QLED' screens, at least until they take a considerable dip in price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭jonerkinsella

Hi. Has anyone got the Sony kd55xe9005bu ?

If you have or you have any links to good reviews, let me know.

It's kinda hard to find many reviews online for it. It's not for me, but my brother might be interested in one as an option. He has his heart set on the MU7000 (I'm not looking for opinions on this model and I'm not interested in oled suggestions)

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Hi. Has anyone got the Sony kd55xe9005bu ?

If you have or you have any links to good reviews, let me know.

It's kinda hard to find many reviews online for it. It's not for me, but my brother might be interested in one as an option. He has his heart set on the MU7000 (I'm not looking for opinions on this model and I'm not interested in oled suggestions)

Thanks.

Very first TV they mention. There's an rtings review too. They also think very highly of the XE9005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,553 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Sony kd55xe9005bu down to sub €1,400 in DID Powercity and Harveynorman will likely go up for a while after black friday/monday sales but shouldn't stay up for long.

No one seems to have the free soundbar anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Looking to buy a ps4 pro but only have a 1080p tv. I would like a 4ktv but prefer 43" or below and a budget of €600 or so. Any recommendation guys?

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Keltic_ie

Hi all first time posting on boards and I am looking for some advice or input on a decent 4k HDR tv for my PS4Pro.

I have a budget of 600 - 700 Euro and Live in Galway so some retailers that are available that I will list Below not limited to these dealers.

Currys / Pc World
    DID Electrical
    Expert Electric
    Argos

As far as Brand goes

Samsung
    Sony
    Panasonic
    LG
    seem to be the top runners from what ive looked at.

I understand that I need low ms and hdr for my ps4 pro.

Any advice and comparing tvs would be greatly appreciated.

January sales may be on their way also so ill take that in mind so if you go a bit over budget thats cool to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

Keltic_ie wrote: »
    Hi all first time posting on boards and I am looking for some advice or input on a decent 4k HDR tv for my PS4Pro.

These are the best sites for finding info about TVs that I know of:
    https://www.avforums.com/
    and
    https://www.rtings.com/

Eurogamers Digital Foundry did a list of best tvs for 2017 (they mention some budget TVs that should be within your budget, especially with the sales):
    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-2017-the-best-2017-4k-tvs-for-hdr-gaming_13

Between those, you should get enough information to help you make your decision. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

Hi folks.
    I got myself a ps4 pro in the sales and I'm debating whether I should get a new 4k TV.
    Currently my ps4 pro is hooked up to a 42" hd ready plasma and I usually sit about 6 feet away from it. I'm considering buying a 50" 4k HDR tv but I don't know how much of a difference it will be. Will it blow the tits off me?
    I am a very casual gamer nowadays. Typically more interested in the story than a challenge.
    Is it really worth splurging on a new TV?
    It's just because there's some decent deals on now I'm the sales. Any opinions?
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,333 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I had the 4K before upgrading to the Pro, and while my TV doesn't support HDR, it's definitely an improvement. Best example I can give is even the loading/menu screen for the Witcher 3. I can see more detail in general. I personally believe it would be worth it, but I don't think it will blow the tits off you, it will look better though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

I'm in the same boat. I had a 4K HDR TV for a while before upgrading to the pro. Definitely makes a bit of a difference in some games and I've noticed that the XMB pops a bit better too. Your mileage may vary though. Horizon and FFXV look fantastic in 4K HDR but as potential-monke said, I don't think it would exactly blow the tits off you just yet IMO. I don't know how old your TV set is, but you can enable HDR with the bog standard PS4 too, if your TV supports it.

All makes vary wildly though in saying that. Just because a set is 4K HDR doesn't mean it will look amazing. You'd need to consider OLED V LED etc etc.

Ooh, and I'd avoid edge-lit TV's, as anything that has black around it will look washed out, as the color is coming from the edge and lighting up the black.

Thanks for the replies folks. Considering I'm gaming for the immersive experience I think it might be worth it. Appreciate the feedback.

Well, if you want immersive, I'd go with a Logitech G29, the PSVR and a VR Driving game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Definitely worth it, I got a 10bit panel after Xmas and it's phenomenal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭CWF

Fieldog wrote: »
    Definitely worth it, I got a 10bit panel after Xmas and it's phenomenal

What did you get

CWF wrote: »
    What did you get

http://www.richersounds.ie/p-202594-ue55mu7000.aspx#tabSpecifications-tab

Got one of these, it's a beast...

Nice one. Got a 50 inch Panasonic during the week from richersounds.ie I'm really liking it. Just gotta get the pro now and I'll be all set

Hi folks.
    I got myself a ps4 pro in the sales and I'm debating whether I should get a new 4k TV.
    Currently my ps4 pro is hooked up to a 42" hd ready plasma and I usually sit about 6 feet away from it. I'm considering buying a 50" 4k HDR tv but I don't know how much of a difference it will be. Will it blow the tits off me?
    I am a very casual gamer nowadays. Typically more interested in the story than a challenge.
    Is it really worth splurging on a new TV?
    It's just because there's some decent deals on now I'm the sales. Any opinions?
    Thanks.

How much did you get the pro for and where?

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭eamo22

Have a look at the Sony xe90. Got it before Christmas in 55 inch and it was 1379 there 1279 at the moment. The 49 inch is around the hundred cheaper.

CWF wrote: »
    How much did you get the pro for and where?

€350 in GameStop with horizon zero dawn.

Sweet, that must have been a few weeks ago I'm looking for something like that bit I'm in no major rush

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

E880 for the 49" in Power City... Hmmm.

Bit of an interesting video and a good show why OLED are great.

OLED in it's current state of development is not suitable for gaming because of the real risk of screen burn.

Search the internet to view the reports with images all over the world with owners of OLED reporting the issue.
    Look at this video of ongoing tests from RTINGS,
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sa0fc34ph5U

I would certainly not purchase an OLED till the issue is resolved, but from what I have read, the technology is flawed from the ground up (check out this video),
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PH4qkU7rsAI

Don't believe the hype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

Hi all - Can people please link me to the best 4K hdr Tv's for the pro as of Jan 2018?

Think I'll buy from Richer Sounds with the 6 year warranty.

- All my searches seem to reference old model numbers etc

Input lag and proper hdr is what concerns me.

Size 49-55 inch.

Thinking of spending 700-800 max.... hopefully that's enough (?)

Mango Joe wrote: »
    Hi all - Can people please link me to the best 4K hdr Tv's for the pro as of Jan 2018?

Think I'll buy from Richer Sounds with the 6 year warranty.

- All my searches seem to reference old model numbers etc

Input lag and proper hdr is what concerns me.

Size 49-55 inch.

Thinking of spending 700-800 max.... hopefully that's enough (?)

The Samsung MU7000:

55" http://www.richersounds.ie/p-202594-ue55mu7000.aspx

49" http://www.richersounds.ie/p-202582-ue49mu7000.aspx

Cheapest 10 bit panel that I could find(power city E880) and I was looking for months. Ticked all the boxes for me.

F1ngers wrote: »
    The Samsung MU7000:

55" http://www.richersounds.ie/p-202594-ue55mu7000.aspx

49" http://www.richersounds.ie/p-202582-ue49mu7000.aspx

Cheapest 10 bit panel that I could find(power city E880) and I was looking for months. Ticked all the boxes for me.

Isn't the 49 inch 8 bit?

That was the main reason I went for the 55 model...

Isn't the 49 inch 8 bit?

That was the main reason I went for the 55 model...

10 bit, checked on Richer Sounds and display specifications.
    Both say 10 bit.

Had me a little scared, had to double check.

looking around the product numbers are different between regions and it's not as simple as the 2016 models.

The M7000 is noted as being the mu6400 in the uk, richardsound list the 6400 as 8bit while the US 7000 model is noted as 10Bit on rting with a few US sites list a 6400 as 8 bit.

While the MU8000 is listed as the MU7000 in the UK, each listed as 10bit.

looking around the product numbers are different between regions and it's not as simple as the 2016 models.

The M7000 is noted as being the mu6400 in the uk, richardsound list the 6400 as 8bit while the US 7000 model is noted as 10Bit on rting with a few US sites list a 6400 as 8 bit.

While the MU8000 is listed as the MU7000 in the UK, each listed as 10bit.

Yeah what is it about Samsung and their stupid model numbers?

Crazy how they differ across the regions in the world...

• Registered Users Posts: 6 dublinred101

hows it going, was looking around for 4k tv's for my ps4 pro and this seems to be a decent one
    https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sony/x900e
    i can't seem to find that particular model over here though,
    could anybody help me out?
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,409 ✭✭✭xtal191

hows it going, was looking around for 4k tv's for my ps4 pro and this seems to be a decent one
    thanks

49"
    http://euro.richersounds.ie/p-202503-bravia-kd49xe9005.aspx?swapstore=1

55"
    http://euro.richersounds.ie/p-202475-bravia-kd55xe9005.aspx?swapstore=1

thanks
    Excellent choice have one myself. There xe90 in europe x900e in the states.

Quick... stolen from this thread,

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057836462

Sammy MU7, 55" for €900 and the QF for a grand and a bit with code " vodaff18 "

55" Sony XE9 for €1170.

ps, everything on the site is 10% off with the code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Any one know if the Samsung mu7000 is 10 bit or not, I found two conflicting answers.

Richersounds says it is 10 bit

http://euro.richersounds.ie/p-202582-ue49mu7000.aspx#tabSpecifications-tab

But this website which has the specs for hundreds of tv's says it's 8 bit with FRC

https://www.displayspecifications.com/en/model/c82db05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,732 ✭✭✭sniper_samurai

Any one know if the Samsung mu7000 is 10 bit or not, I found two conflicting answers.

Richersounds says it is 10 bit

http://euro.richersounds.ie/p-202582-ue49mu7000.aspx#tabSpecifications-tab

But this website which has the specs for hundreds of tv's says it's 8 bit with FRC

https://www.displayspecifications.com/en/model/c82db05

Pretty sure its 10bit. The website shows the specs for the US model which if I'm not mistaken is sold as the mu6000 here. The euro mu7000 is the same as the US mu8000 iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,509 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Four months after killing my gaming tv, I finally picked up a Sony Xe90. Kept waiting and waiting for the price to drop further, but I just couldn't wait any longer. I fully expect it to be half price this weekend now. It is an amazing looking tv.

Wont be let down by it. Have mine 2 months now and its a class set. Took a little tweaking to get the settings to suit me. Worth every penny I spent on it in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭EoinHef

Anybody come accross any good deals recently?

Had been looking at this:

https://powercity.ie/product/55SJ800

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

Realistically lads, what's the minimum you'd spend on a 4K HDR TV to pair with the Pro? I don't own the console yet, so including it, the TV, a few games, and other odds and ends, it's a significant outlay in one go. The telly is the only place where there's flexibility in how much I spend, but I don't want a shite experience by going too cheap either!

Depends on the size of TV you are purchasing. Panasonic have a pretty decent 40 inch set that is about the €400 mark in DID.

Forgot to mention dimensions! Yeah, I'd easily get away with 40" given the shape of the room. Do you remember what model that Panasonic is?

PANASONIC VIERA TX40EX600B

Seems to no longer be listed on their website, still available from Richer Sounds though.

PANASONIC VIERA TX40EX600B

Seems to no longer be listed on their website, still available from Richer Sounds though.

Thanks man; reviews look great at first glance. Time to do some research!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭BaronVon

Anyone any thoughts on these 2?

Samsung 55NU8000

or

https://www.did.ie/samsung-55-4k-ultra-hd-ready-led-smart-tv-black-silver-ue55nu8000txxu-ue55nu8000txxu-prd

The 8000 can be got for €1070 delivered from Amazon.....

infacteh wrote: »
    Anyone any thoughts on these 2?

Samsung 55NU8000

or

https://www.did.ie/samsung-55-4k-ultra-hd-ready-led-smart-tv-black-silver-ue55nu8000txxu-ue55nu8000txxu-prd

The 8000 can be got for €1070 delivered from Amazon.....

Same link twice!

The NU8000 is well thought of on rtings.com.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭BaronVon

Sorry, or the 8070?

The 8070 is a curry exclusive I think in the UK and just ends up wherever over here from middle men to other stores, just has a slight different colour to it and comes with the fancy "one remote" as well as a standard one.

Treat them the same and get whichever has the better offer if you choose to either of them. Don't think there's any real difference other than the remote and the different case colour on front.