Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

President 'The Donald' Trump and Surprising Consequences - Mod warning in OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭B_Wayne

Snowdon was a whistle blower and was known. The identity of a whistle blower has to be known if the allegations are to be believed. So do you mean anyone can say anything without their identity being known and we're to take it as being true?

If credible content/documentation backs it up, yes. Also the majority of the time, anonymous sources provide their identity and the press do not reveal it. Or they provide information that backs up their credibility. By your logic, deep throat wasn't credible until his identity was revealed decades later. Keeping sources can also be kept anonymous simply for their safety. If their identity had to be revealed in each instance, you'd have far fewer whistle-blowers.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭Christy42

B_Wayne wrote: »
    If credible content/documentation backs it up, yes. Also the majority of the time, anonymous sources provide their identity and the press do not reveal it. Or they provide information that backs up their credibility. By your logic, deep throat wasn't credible until his identity was revealed decades later. Keeping sources can also be kept anonymous simply for their safety. If their identity had to be revealed in each instance, you'd have far fewer whistle-blowers.

I like that by conditioned's logic all of the wikileaks reveals have been entirely baseless as they don't provide their sources.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭B_Wayne

Christy42 wrote: »
    I like that by conditioned's logic all of the wikileaks reveals have been entirely baseless as they don't provide their sources.

Even Snowden was reported as anonymous initially. So I guess, they really shouldn't have reported on his leaks at all. Basically our knowledge would be limited to whitehouse press briefings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭BabyCheeses

Trump supporters thought the Clintons killed those who leaked. Now they want anyone to have leaked to be known so they can commit suicide by 2 shots to the back of the head.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I see trump is not going to be attending the White House correspondents association dinner this year.

The lads might enjoy the evening now that trump won't be there. It's normally a light hearted event and trumps fragile ego couldn't handle that now.
    Think a lot of new organisations said they were not going to be sending anyone a couple of weeks ago, so he's really just saving himself turning up to an empty room and Breitbart having to come up with a report about how awesome he was. They probably will still do the same article of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I see trump is not going to be attending the White House correspondents association dinner this year.

The lads might enjoy the evening now that trump won't be there. It's normally a light hearted event and trumps fragile ego couldn't handle that now.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-39090334

Well it could be because of the witches spell it would have been a witch hunt anyhow of the media kind .

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭weisses

rgossip30 wrote: »
    http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-39090334

Well it could be because of the witches spell it would have been a witch hunt anyhow of the media kind .

How would that take place during that night ?

It is THE occasion to get back at anyone ... But you probably have to be funny, hence he cancelled

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Time for some more alternative facts people; even the Department of Homeland Security does not believe the Trump muslim ban is effective:
    Donald Trump reportedly rejected an intelligence report on his “Muslim ban” because it did not corroborate his claim that it improved national security.

Compiled by the Department of Homeland Security, the report said that banning all citizens of seven predominantly Muslim countries was ineffective way of stopping terrorists coming to the US because “country of citizenship is unlikely to be a reliable indicator of potential terrorist activity.”

The DHS report was prepared in response to a White House request for intelligence on the terror threat posed by people coming from the seven countries affected by the ban – Syria, Sudan, Somalia, Iraq, Yemen, Libya and Iran.

It found that in the past six years, foreign-born US residents who were “inspired” to participate in terror acts had come from 26 different countries.

Only Iraq and Somalia are among the top ten origin countries for foreign-born individuals engaged in terrorism in US.

There have been no successful terror attacks perpetrated by citizens of any country on the list on US soil since 9/11.

The report also found over half of the 82 people, “primarily” based in the US who had been killed while engaging in acts of terrorism of have been convicted on terror charges were born in America.
    Honestly at this stage if I was an American I'd start to get afraid since Trump clearly don't care about the safety of American citizens and purely wants to grand stand for political points rather than enforce effective policies. Full article is here.

weisses wrote: »
    How would that take place during that night ?

It is THE occasion to get back at anyone ... But you probably have to be funny, hence he cancelled

White House correspondents association dinner night .:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,941 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

White House correspondents association dinner night .:cool:

...which he wussed out of because those pesky journalists would've violated his safe space. Spare us your :cool:. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭BabyCheeses

...which he wussed out of because those pesky journalists would've violated his safe space. Spare us your :cool:. :rolleyes:

It is probably for the best. He would do some unfunny rant which makes him look bad while his supporters repeat the sticking it to the media line they always use because if they had to think about what he said they are at risk of realising he comes across as a bit simple.

Is it shown live? Want to know when to keep an eye on twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Is it shown live? Want to know when to keep an eye on twitter.

Yes. C-Span runs it live. its in april.

There's quite a twitter movement to get alec baldwin to attend in trumps place.

I thought that was obvious . Drag it out and make something of nothing .The event would have been just a slagging match . Who are us ?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,538 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I thought that was obvious . Drag it out and make something of nothing .The event would have been just a slagging match . Who are us ?
    You don't know what the format of the dinner might've taken, as you might know it is a charitable event and Trump's presence would've guaranteed standing-room-only crowds. Further, he could've started a charm offensive here. "Trump" and "Charm" sounds contradictory but you never know.

At least he won't be giving a State of the Union address till 2018, now that's something I'd pay to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Igotadose wrote: »
    At least he won't be giving a State of the Union address till 2018, now that's something I'd pay to see.

You won't have to wait too long for more comedy because soon he's going to have to present his budget to congress.

Imagine. His understaffed bumbling administration barely has a grasp of the basics and they're going to have to come up with a federal budget.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,939 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Igotadose wrote: »
    You don't know what the format of the dinner might've taken, as you might know it is a charitable event and Trump's presence would've guaranteed standing-room-only crowds. Further, he could've started a charm offensive here. "Trump" and "Charm" sounds contradictory but you never know.

He's not giving a state of the union address this year but I'm sure Paul Ryan has invited him to speak to a joint session of congress this year.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,803 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

recedite wrote: »
    Sadly this thread has become just an echo chamber for anti-Trump hate and vitriol.
    It really must be a source of bitter disappointment to you that, just because Trump gets to invent his own version of reality on the fly, you don't get to do the same here.

Echo chamber? Yeah, right. What's particularly funny is that your post comes hot on the heels of another poster quite literally posting a Nazi slogan:
    Hail victory.

If you're not sure what that is in German, ask Google.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭swampgas

It seems that Spicer is having trouble preventing leaks from within:

http://www.politico.com/story/2017/02/sean-spicer-targets-own-staff-in-leak-crackdown-235413

Staffers are having their personal phones checked to see if they're leaking. They are also being warned not to talk about the phone checks. It doesn't seem to be working though.
    Spicer also warned the group of more problems if news of the phone checks and the meeting about leaks was leaked to the media. It's not the first time that warnings about leaks have promptly leaked. The State Department's legal office issued a four-page memo warning of the dangers of leaks -- that memo was immediately posted by the Washington Post.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,939 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

swampgas wrote: »
    It seems that Spicer is having trouble preventing leaks from within:

http://www.politico.com/story/2017/02/sean-spicer-targets-own-staff-in-leak-crackdown-235413

Staffers are having their personal phones checked to see if they're leaking. They are also being warned not to talk about the phone checks. It doesn't seem to be working though.

But trump said the pres had no sources didn't he ? So why is Sean spicer checking for leaks amongst his own staff ?

This is like "the leaks are real, the news is fake."

• Registered Users Posts: 22,423 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

It reminds me of when Russia was in the middle of their annexation of Crimea, and there were videos of russian tanks crossing the border, the Kremlin was still releasing press statements saying that there was no invasion and that russia had nothing to do with it.

http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2014/03/04/285653335/putin-says-those-arent-russian-forces-in-crimea

If you're a totalitarian in a propaganda war, you can state falsehoods blatantly and assert that they are true confident that you aren't going to be held accountable.

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭conditioned games

Akrasia wrote: »
    It reminds me of when Russia was in the middle of their annexation of Crimea, and there were videos of russian tanks crossing the border, the Kremlin was still releasing press statements saying that there was no invasion and that russia had nothing to do with it.

http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2014/03/04/285653335/putin-says-those-arent-russian-forces-in-crimea

If you're a totalitarian in a propaganda war, you can state falsehoods blatantly and assert that they are true confident that you aren't going to be held accountable.

If you want to talk about Ukraine and propaganda then why not talk about the US involvement that led to the destabilization of the country that the western controlled mainstream media fails to acknowledge.

http://www.google.ie/url?q=http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/03/05/chronology-of-the-ukrainian-coup/&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwid37Ly567SAhXrKcAKHe1tCxAQFggjMAg&sig2=3ym7jLGlDwjU-aO6lFi7HA&usg=AFQjCNHjBg_WLmEaVhlRJKIBbuuXI0w3ug

The USA financially supported the far right Svoboda party that led to the coup and illegal overthrow of a democratically elected government. Now we have the IMF and world bank stripping the assets of Ukraine all thanks to so called US democracy, but you won't hear that in the controlled western mainstream media.

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭conditioned games

recedite wrote: »
    Sadly this thread has become just an echo chamber for anti-Trump hate and vitriol. Reasoned posts that contradict the prevailing groupthink get deleted by the mods.
    Adieu, and enjoy your little bubble.

Sadly you are right. This place has become a dumping ground for anti Trump hate. Reasoned discussion that's contrary to the group think on here or what the controlled mainstream media tells us is shut down on here with warnings, deleted posts and outright bans. Unfortunately the way the world is going we are all meant to act and say what we're told and if you have an alternative opinion you are not allowed to express it.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,423 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If you want to talk about Ukraine and propaganda then why not talk about the US involvement that led to the destabilization of the country that the western controlled mainstream media fails to acknowledge.

http://www.google.ie/url?q=http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/03/05/chronology-of-the-ukrainian-coup/&sa=U&ved=0ahUKEwid37Ly567SAhXrKcAKHe1tCxAQFggjMAg&sig2=3ym7jLGlDwjU-aO6lFi7HA&usg=AFQjCNHjBg_WLmEaVhlRJKIBbuuXI0w3ug

The USA financially supported the far right Svoboda party that led to the coup and illegal overthrow of a democratically elected government. Now we have the IMF and world bank stripping the assets of Ukraine all thanks to so called US democracy, but you won't hear that in the controlled western mainstream media.

NATO might have been strengthening along Russian borders, but Russia annexing part of an independent state on the border of the EU is a massive escalation.

The EU and America want stability. Russia was under no threat from the west. Putin's actions are hostile and belligerent. The last thing the EU wants is a war on our border. Russia is taking advantage of our willingness to avoid such conflict.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

I've read that plenty of times. Do you deliberately search out media that doesn't tell the story you want? Or are you expecting that to be on the front page of the daily mail?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Unfortunately the way the world is going we are all meant to act and say what we're told and if you have an alternative opinion you are not allowed to express it.

You have had no problem expressing your opinion. Not being able to convince anyone - outside your own circle of fellow travelers - of its merits was your downfall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Sadly you are right. This place has become a dumping ground for anti Trump hate. Reasoned discussion that's contrary to the group think on here or what the controlled mainstream media tells us is shut down on here with warnings, deleted posts and outright bans. Unfortunately the way the world is going we are all meant to act and say what we're told and if you have an alternative opinion you are not allowed to express it.

You claimed this yesterday too and yet I've yet to see 'reasoned' discussion deleted.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,218 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

There are stricter rules in the politics forum. Funny you should mention dumping ground because the only posts I saw getting deleted were ones where someone reposted a video that had already been removed and added no input of their own to go along with it. That adds nothing to the discussion and that's the reason it was removed. If you have a problem then take it up with the category mods.

Anyway back to the topic. I think he should go to the correspondents dinner and perhaps try to mend bridges? I was a bit let down when I heard he wasn't going, would have been an explosive evening.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,511 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

InTheTrees wrote: »
    You won't have to wait too long for more comedy because soon he's going to have to present his budget to congress.

Imagine. His understaffed bumbling administration barely has a grasp of the basics and they're going to have to come up with a federal budget.
    By law, the President is supposed to submit a budget for each fiscal year to Congress by the first Monday in February. Which means that Trump is 3 weeks late today in submitting the budget for Fiscal Year 2018 (which runs from 1 October 2017 to 20 September 2018)..

But that's OK. In the year of an administration change, the budget is always submitted late. How could it be otherwise?

But not very late. Obama' first budget request was submitted on 26 February 2009, so Trump's would be expected any day now. Trump's is awaited with interest, since there are an awful lot of circles to be squared between (a) Trump's spending commitments, (b) Trump's tax cut commitments and (c) Trump's targetted budget deficit. Basically, Trump is going to have to roll back massively on some of his tax/spending commitments, or project massive growth in public debt - Congress won't like that - or present a budget which simply doesn't add up. All new presidents face this dilemma, naturally, but Trump's problem, given the extravagance of this promises, is simply an order of magnitude bigger than anything his predecessor faced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Akrasia wrote: »

In fairness ireland is no position to lecture anyone. ...I remember two FF minsters on steps of the dail denying flat out the IMF were on their way

They were practically in Dublin at the time....and people still vote for FF in their droves.....so flat out lying obviously deosnt do much long term political damage???

• Registered Users Posts: 23,716 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Just some quotes from recent press conference.

The guy is an idiot. End of. Dangerous.